We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend and his father went to the Vondel hotel in Amsterdam in the middle and end of Januray. The first trip at the beginning was a little different. They accidentally didnt check us in properly and I guess checked other people in our room and while we were sleeping had come into our room. The staff immediately made it up to us with sending a bottle of wine to our room. The staff was so nice, all spoke english and helped us get use to the city. This location was great. We walked every where. No need for a taxi or the trolly. I loved everything. Beds were great, bathroom, and breakfast was good. Definitely would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stars1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    474
    230
    85
    66
See reviews for
136
582
60
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Vondel used to be one of my favorite hotels in Amsterdam, but with an internet that you pay for and it does not work for 3 days on the raw after a lot of hassle and connecting the guest to the internet provider (swisscom) instead of trying to sort it out, bad breakfast, bad breakfast service (ordered my eggs twice and they never arrived), paying lots extras to get a little bit better room and ending up with a very noisy one, for sure that was the last time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Vondel 3 times already and found the rooms to be nice for travellers who enjoy a more local flavour rather than large hotel chains. It is built in old houses linked together. The rooms are not huge, and the iron needs to be requested at the front desk, but otherwise, a good choice in Amsterdam. For those who like running, Vondel Park is just next door!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canneberge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a fabulous winter 3 nt break in Amsterdam where we stayed at The Vondel.
We arrived a day earlier than the rest and were allocated a standard double on the 5th floor. The receptionist was efficient and friendly with a good map with directions to where we wanted to go and the barman spent ages helping us decide what we should do with only a few days. Our friend had been very ill and our break was to celebrate his wife's 50th birthday, so we mentioned it to one of the girls at the desk and she said she would check with the manager.
Mr Michael Molema had a wonderful solution and we have just spent the last 2 nights in the Loft Apartment - WOW.
The bedroom on the first floor has a king bed and the small room up the stairs has a double, the top room is compact but the small shower room has a skylight right above the shower itself, you certainly fell you are right up in the eves. The first floor bedroom has a magnificent bathroom, huge double ended bath tub and a lovely walk in shower. The lounge area is very comfortable, long low sofa, small table and funky metal chairs and a standard lamp. The only thing missing is some mood lighting. The standard lamp didnt throw out enough light at night and the spotlights attached to all the beams were just too bright - especially after a evening out in Amsterdam !! But this is small fry and should not put anyone off - Mr Molema just buy a lamp for the tv stand !! The kitchen had a great coffee machine and all you might need other than a bin ! We did have a lot of empties.....
2 more friends arrived on our last night and they too were impressed, not only with their room which was 311, a lovely large king bedded room with huge light windows facing the street, but with the style, ambience and service we received.
The lounge staff and reception staff were all extremely polite and friendly the hotel seemed busy but they had time for us all.
For location you could not beat it - 10 mins one way was Van Gogh, the Diamond Center and Rikjsmuseum and Amsterdam's very own Bond Street and of course the lovely Vondelpark.
5 mins in the other direction was Leidseplein where you can jump on a tram or go to the Casino and hit all the bars at this end of town.
Nine Streets is highly recommended for a great stroll - fabulous quirky shops and of course Anne Frank Huis should be on your list of things to do. We also had a five o'clock stint at the House of Bols where a Californian girl made us welcome and encouraged us to come on in and enjoy - hour and a half later we certainly had enjoyed - great fun and fabulous design.
We didnt dine at the hotel but we found an excellent little bakery/cafe called BB for breakfast which is on the main street which crosses all the canals when you head north from the Liedseplein - I think the road is called Liedsestraat and the cafe is on the left hand side as you head north.
Dinner we had an excellent night at CAU which is just off Dam Square - a great Argentinian Steak House.
The Casino was very good with a good choice of tables and slots but ask at your hotel as they may have vouchers so then you dont have to pay the entrance fee of 5 Euros.
What did we love - the people first and the hotel second. Great city where you can walk everywhere - we felt safe late at night and we had lots and lots of fun. Dont take the city too seriously - its great as there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: The Loft Apt or Rm 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Myself and my husband recently experienced a three night stay at hotel vondel. On a late evening (10pm) check-in we came acrossed a locked door and no one on reception to let us in. After 10min and lots of knocking someone let us in. This isn't a huge deal and could be overlooked if our stay was a great one but sadly it wasn't to be. Firstly our room was large with lots of character which was great. But bathroom was a shoebox, bed was broken on one side (springs had collapsed), heater broke down, and bed linen was for a double bed when the bed was a queen. Maintence gave us a replacement heater which was great but we almost melted when the so called broken heater came on during the night. Staff were only so so with most appearing not to know what was going on. We also experienced mice in the restaurant with another family pointing this out to staff who didn't do anything. Overall this hotel was a below adverage stay with it being the worst of our European vacation

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nice location, nice decoration inside, nice for lesuire holiday

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelconstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here last week. The entrance, reception, bar are all really nice and the welcome from the staff was great. But my room, I think it was room 12? was unlike anything I have ever stayed in. It was the size of a rabbit hutch, with a shower jammed in the corner which had such a low ceiling at one side that you cracked your head off the ceiling repeatedly. And I had bunk beds! I hardly dared leave the room in case I came back to find someone gently snoring above me. Note to myself - do not return or check the room first.

Room Tip: Check you're not in a bunk bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoraceChestwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing