We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They trying their best. Not there yet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Ranked #300 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic. 5 min to cental station.3 min to Dam Square.
Because the hotel is situated in a historical block, it is oddly layed out. Small corridors and tight steps here and there. My double room should not be a room. The double bed was placed against the wall and at the othersidr was merely 75 cm left to walk. The only proper sized room was the bathroom. The were installing aircons ( still not operational) at the end of the summer? Breakfast was typical Dutch, simple. No fridge in room. Very noisy if on street side. No sure if i will stay again..

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
Thank magic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location ,,, clean ,,, staff friendly ,, free safe in room , tv , coffee and tea , we had a double room witch was big ,shower ,ensuite bathroom loved it we,ll be back !!!!! I'm going to recommend it to family and friends ,, I read a lot of bad reviews before we arrived but we found it nice ,, clean and friendly

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to be directed out room, a double room dome lots of little corridors, past the staff room to the basement! The room absolutely stank! It smelled damp and like someone has urinated all over!! We couldn't stay in that room so asked for another. All they had was a twin so we just took that. When we mentioned the smell they said the basement had recently flooded and that's why it stank!!
The hotel is quite grubby with stained carpets and dirty walls. The room itself (the twin) was but too bad. It was very basic but at least it was clean.
Due to the location it can get very noisy, especially with the window open but that's what we expected with it being so central.
It's only 5 min from central station and is about 2 streets away from the red light district so a busy location but ideal for anyone wanting to be central.
If it was cheaper I would say it's a great hotel for a cheap holiday but I think it's a bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura462230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

great location, BUT.....!!! overpriced and definitely not 3 star and the pictures on the web do not give an accurate overview of this hotel. Despite booking well ahead we were given a crappy excuse for a room with two single beds with overly soft mattresses pushed together. At least there is an air conditioner we thought, until we noticed that thought there was a unit on the wall it was not wired in - a work in progress possibly. TV was dark and could only see 2-3 of the channels barely adequately. However the worst aspect was the continual gurgling and foul smells emanating from the bathroom, which filled the room and was very unpleasant to come back to after a day out. Not to mention that we were given 2 cheap disposable plastic cups in the bathroom that we assumed would at least be replaced daily - WRONG! I am happy to rough it, but object to paying good money for a miss- represented and overpriced dirty smelly hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kimbocider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Safe and secure place to sleep and chill out! Comfortable sleep but a little too warm (although it was July). Unfortunately there is no air con but the room was equipped with two fans which saved us from a grisly heat related death :L Rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, with a free safe, and free wifi. There was a flat-screen TV on the wall with a remote, and there was a kettle and tea, coffee and sugar provided (but no milk, so pop down to the supermarket a couple doors down and get some water and milk). Unfortunately no fridge but we we survived. There was a spare pillow in the wardrobe and a needle and thread, along with a bible and some coathangers. The bathroom was lovely with a big walk in shower and came with towels, a hairdryer and miniatures of shampoo/shower gel and soap, and shower caps. Staff were pleasant and let us check in early, although the room wasn't ready so we couldn't get keys till later, but we were allowed to leave our luggage in a locked room until then.

Room Tip: In Summer opt for a room with a window facing East or North to avoid excessive heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Its at a walking distance from the Amsterdam central station, the red light district & the dam square. So thats the perfect location to explore Amsterdam. The staff is friendly. The rooms are small. At 125€ per night including breakfast its a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParinChheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is situated in a very busy, noisy, litter strewn part of Amsterdam immediately adjacent to the red light area. However, it is a brilliantly central location, just 5 minutes walk from the central railway station. The busy, hard working reception staff greeted us warmly and gave us directions to our room. As previous reviews have stated, we can confirm that the hotel is somewhat shabby, with stained carpets and some dubious smells from previous dripping ceilings. However, our room was large (a superior twin), with an excellent bathroom, and comfortable, clean bed. Due to the location of the hotel, do expect noise from the streets outside from young revellers until the small hours - and the builders start working on the building next door at 7am! The breakfasts were very good, with lots of choice, in a nice dining room with pleasant staff. We had a problem with the air conditioning unit, (left on overnight due to very humid weather) which dripped to leave a pool of water about 2cm deep on top of the wardrobe, and also soaked the carpet. We reported this to reception, who were very laid back, and said this was a known isue in our room and was 'normal'. Apparently someone had put the remote control for the air-con back in the room by mistake. As we saw some guys from an air conditioning firm on site we were hopeful of it being fixed. However, we returned to the hotel in the evening to find the water still on the wardrobe! We asked at reception for it to be mopped up, but were issued with towels and did it ourselves! We never did find out if it got fixed - we just used the large electric fan in the room instead. On reflection we should have been more aware of the type of hotel we were booking, (and were put on our guard a day or two before we left when we read recent reports on trip advisor!) but it was featured in a UK brochure we had previously booked from, so thought it would be OK. We don't feel we are particularly fussy, but found the standards here fell short of what we would have expected ffrom a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ResidentinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#296 of 374 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 374 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#262 of 374 in Amsterdam
775 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#235 of 374 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $99 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO Hotels City Centre and Amsterdam are a great choice for travellers who are interested in food, nightlife, strolling and visiting museums. To view the beautiful canals with a canal cruise, for which Amsterdam is so famous, you just walk out the street; around the Central Station you can find many canal cruise companies. The rooms at XO Hotels City Centre each have a slightly different shape and atmosphere because they are spread over 11 historic 18th-century buildings. Our rooms are equipped with free WIFI, telephone, TV and a private bathroom with bath or shower, toilet and guest supplies like shampoo and bath gel. Every morning you can enjoy our extensive breakfast buffet, which our breakfast team sets ready for you. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is at your service to help you with all your questions. Our professional team will assist you on your arrival and during your stay to enrich your time in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing