We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location but over priced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #274 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Its at a walking distance from the Amsterdam central station, the red light district & the dam square. So thats the perfect location to explore Amsterdam. The staff is friendly. The rooms are small. At 125€ per night including breakfast its a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParinChheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    398
    404
    194
    179
See reviews for
145
462
98
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is situated in a very busy, noisy, litter strewn part of Amsterdam immediately adjacent to the red light area. However, it is a brilliantly central location, just 5 minutes walk from the central railway station. The busy, hard working reception staff greeted us warmly and gave us directions to our room. As previous reviews have stated, we can confirm that the hotel is somewhat shabby, with stained carpets and some dubious smells from previous dripping ceilings. However, our room was large (a superior twin), with an excellent bathroom, and comfortable, clean bed. Due to the location of the hotel, do expect noise from the streets outside from young revellers until the small hours - and the builders start working on the building next door at 7am! The breakfasts were very good, with lots of choice, in a nice dining room with pleasant staff. We had a problem with the air conditioning unit, (left on overnight due to very humid weather) which dripped to leave a pool of water about 2cm deep on top of the wardrobe, and also soaked the carpet. We reported this to reception, who were very laid back, and said this was a known isue in our room and was 'normal'. Apparently someone had put the remote control for the air-con back in the room by mistake. As we saw some guys from an air conditioning firm on site we were hopeful of it being fixed. However, we returned to the hotel in the evening to find the water still on the wardrobe! We asked at reception for it to be mopped up, but were issued with towels and did it ourselves! We never did find out if it got fixed - we just used the large electric fan in the room instead. On reflection we should have been more aware of the type of hotel we were booking, (and were put on our guard a day or two before we left when we read recent reports on trip advisor!) but it was featured in a UK brochure we had previously booked from, so thought it would be OK. We don't feel we are particularly fussy, but found the standards here fell short of what we would have expected ffrom a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ResidentinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff
Excellent and cheap breakfast
Clean
Small room but very modern bathroom
Feels like they were in midst of an extended renovation whilst still operating.
Bigger lift than usual for a European old hotel. 6 person.
Free WiFi in rooms plus TV doubles as computer screen with remote wireless keyboard.
Room 115 faces street and apart from musical church bells, sound doesn't intrude closed window.

Cons
..  Very Small rooms, air con just being installed. Little space for two suitcases.

Room was warm during summer but fan supplied. Newly installed Air con should be operating soon .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank raffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Me and a few mates went to the Tulip Inn last week. It was an ideal location next to practically EVERYTHING!!! The staff are very helpful and approachable when we had any enquiries. There is some discount leaflets in the lobby too where you get money off the Heineken Factory experience (which is worth the money) and some money off a local bar crawl (would recommend, we done it twice) !!! Rooms were very clean and the value for money was great. The only downside was some bells from a nearby church went off all week every 15 minutes without fail, even throughout the night.
Was a brilliant trip and would definitely recommend !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you're looking for something like a third world seedy hotel experience in the Red Light district of Amsterdam, the Tulip Inn Centre is the place for you. As a bonus, you get a rude clerk and "interesting" fellow guests. Lobby ceiling leaking with towels and bucket on floor to catch water. Booked a room with air conditioning. First clerk said they had no rooms with AC, then said they had a few. Gave us one of the "AC" rooms. AC mounted on wall was leaking and made noise, but did not work. Instead, large industrial fan to move stagnant humid air in room. Second, rude, afternoon clerk then said no rooms have AC. Construction debris in narrow, creaking, dimly lit hallways, dirty wrinked carpets in halls and in room. Sawing, drilling, pounding construction noises vibrating the walls. Nasty refrigerator in room, Tissue on floor in room. Did not pick tissue up to see what it might have been used for. Had prepaid room, but only stayed long enough to secure accomodations in decent hotel. Depending on what you're looking for, this may or may not be the hotel for you.......

Room Tip: My tip is to get a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Me D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Strayed here on a hen do was a great location but that was it. Rooms where not clean, the fridge was dirty with left over food in it. No air con so very warm in peak summer. They did not replace towels. Limited food at breakfast. Glad I only stayed two nights!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joggerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Worn down hotel, no air conditioning, leaks from the ceiling in the lobby and room ceiling, telephone in room did not work, room had an old air conditioner on the wall but it did not work. The afternoon desk attendant Arthur, (A for ...hole pardon the expression), had a rude nasty attitude from the gate! After waiting all afternoon to get checked in nothing worked, hotel smelled, carpet dirty, tiny winding hallways, a complete fire trap! Renovation and drilling going on with residue on the carpets. Tiny elevator, winding narrow stair case, questionable looking clientele, etc etc.The place should be shut down! I could go on and on!

Room Tip: Just dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inthecountry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#200 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Property: Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing