We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard excellence in an expensive city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Ranked #299 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Tulip Inn for one night in Sept. on our way east to walk along the Noaberpad. We were able to check in to our room early and we were warned that it was a ground floor room, on the street and it could be noisy. Which it was but what was irritating was the windows did not open so the room was stuffy. Noise I coped with fine but no ventilation was hard. Room was very clean and beds were comfy. Lots of hot water and breakfast was standard dutch fare. Coffee was good. Yes, I would stay here again as price was right, under 100 euros for the night. Loved being able to get into room early too.

Room Tip: chose a room away form the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

stayed in many different places all over the world, but really one of the worse. staff, service, condition, price - forget it. only the location is really good while in the center. if you just want to enyou the night and wont be able to realize that surrounding later on - OK. Otherwise not recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank other_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A fairly basic room for a fairly reasonable price. Not the most attractive location either, down a side street not far from the Red Light District. That said, very close to the train station and generally very convenient for getting around, getting food etc.
Our room was fine, clean and tidy enough - no sign of the dirt shown in some of the older photos on here. My only real gripe was the super creaky floor outside our room which woke me up several times as people made their way upstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrpheusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SY24680
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean, nice sized rooms and in a great location. It was a good price too! Would recommend. 5 mins walk from central station, dam square and the red lights. Staff were friendly and our room was great, overlooking one of the main drags, yet not noisey if you shut the window. Its not 5 star but you dont pay 5 star prices, not by Amsterdam standards anyway. Great bar just around the corner called the greenhouse effect, cheap beer and its own coffee shop ajoining.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great place to stay for a weekend. Although a basic hotel, it was very clean, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast more than we expected. It was situated right on the doorstep to everything we wanted to see and do. Visited here with 9 other friends and we had the best time as it was easy to find the hotel after a late night out! Nice lobby bar to meet up with everyone. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the city.

Room Tip: I shared a twin room with a friend, although it was warm weather we had a fan as no air con, but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on the very end of an 8 week trip around Europe for our Honeymoon we were exhausted and after staying in some amazing hotels and some really dodge ones I just wanted this to be comfortable. We read reviews on the Tulip Inn and I almost burst into tears we then spent 2 hours looking for other accommodation, but after weighing up our budget and the fact that we had already paid months in advance we decided to go see it and if we found it horrible we would leave.
We asked for an airconditioned room, I called in advance because of the other posts and they were so friendly and nice and made the changes on the spot.
The Buffet breakfast was actually above standard and the wifi worked perfectly in the lobby as with most hotels.
It was clean and friendly and in the perfect location. A walk to the train station or the boat cruises and to all the restaurants and shopping and although loud at night really your on holidays in Amsterdam City you should be enjoying the night life yourself, get out there and join in with the living.

Room Tip: Ask for an Air conditioned room or a Double bed they dont have both in the same room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmaowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 373 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#261 of 373 in Amsterdam
775 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#237 of 373 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XO Hotels City Centre and Amsterdam are a great choice for travellers who are interested in food, nightlife, strolling and visiting museums. To view the beautiful canals with a canal cruise, for which Amsterdam is so famous, you just walk out the street; around the Central Station you can find many canal cruise companies. The rooms at XO Hotels City Centre each have a slightly different shape and atmosphere because they are spread over 11 historic 18th-century buildings. Our rooms are equipped with free WIFI, telephone, TV and a private bathroom with bath or shower, toilet and guest supplies like shampoo and bath gel. Every morning you can enjoy our extensive breakfast buffet, which our breakfast team sets ready for you. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is at your service to help you with all your questions. Our professional team will assist you on your arrival and during your stay to enrich your time in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing