We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #291 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location but rooms are small ,hot and noisy.
There's a bell tower that chime every 15 minutes from early morning until late so if you're looking for an afternoon siesta forget it.
Staff were friendly and room was kept clean.
I don't really have much to add but next time in Amsterdam I certainly won't be heading back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    450
    476
    230
    218
See reviews for
171
548
106
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We knew this hotel is not going to be great, but as we were staying for one night only, we thought it would be okay. This was a big mistake as the room was very hot with no AC, and on top of that we had the church bill which went off every half an hour so we either had to close the window and suffer the heat or keep them open and put up with the endless bill ringing. In addition to the above, the beds were terrible, they are so soft it is almost as if sleeping in a hammock, all of our group wake up with back pain. My advice is to AVOID at all costs!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel-Dan_LDN-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and location is excellent, close to everything. Our room was on the 3rd floor, next to the elevator. We had 3 twin beds in the room (2 were next to each other) and it fit comfortably 2 adults and 16 year old boy. Room was clean, but it's in desperate need of renovation. Carpet had stains, furniture is outdated, AC didn't work (hotel did give us portable fan) but bathroom was modern and spacious. Our room was facing courtyard, it was quiet and we didn't hear almost any of the outside noise. We we're out for most of the day and only came to the room for a short break and sleep, so for 3 nights we were fine. Staff is very friendly and helpful, they even let me borrow charger for my Samsung. Free Wi fi is only available in the lobby which was little bit inconvenient. As we needed 3 beds in the room and for the price we paid this hotel met most of our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeletoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reading all the negative reviews we were a little worried about what we were going to find.

We had a first floor room overlooking the busy side street, the room was tired but clean and the bathroom was great. With the windows shut it was very quiet but the faulty A/C made it rather hot to sleep with windows shut.

Breakfast was fine and overall it is the perfect location if you want to stay in the buzzing area of the city.

We would stay there again and did wonder why it was getting so many negative reviews, until we came to leave and heard a couple complaining that both their rooms had mice in them !!

Yes we would use it again, but would insist on the same room again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Extremely noicy rooms towards the street. Not possibile to fall asleep due to cars and drunk and happy people screaming, shouting and singing until approx 05 am. After that they start to clean the street and here we go again. No air cond in the rooms so it gets very hot and you have to choose between the heat in the room or opening the window with all the noice.

Personnel don't really care and are not very interested in helpinig you. I guess they know about the problems and have probably complaints every day.

Check/out time is 11. They charge if you want to have check out an hour later although my room was never cleaned before at 2 pm the 5 days I was in that hotel. Also, the constantly forgot to empty paper bin, refill with soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessio61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located but the air conditioning remote control was not available, rooms facing the road were noisy an you could eat all the voices and sounds from the street.
Probably to avoid the hotel in the next trips to Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulomi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dirty hotel, holes in walls, blood on wall in bathroom, mouse traps in our room, no AC, flood lights outside our window all night, broken fridge, curtains hanging off rail
Call me 07841760823 for more

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Property: Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing