We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointen in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #291 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“disappointen in service”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although room was tiny, my real problem was this: I asked for help from young woman that checked me in, asian, maybe 30 yrs old. I was in need of a fine hat shop and asked if she could find me the best in Amsterdam as I needed a hard to find item (wool basque Beret). She said there were shops down the street..of course but no fine hat shop. All I wanted was for her to look on her computer (and I asked her to do so) and for whatever reason she would not do this. Where is the service? I recently stayed at aRadisson in Hamburg and whenever i had a question they could not answer this is what they did. I had to ask a man in the fine nearby dept store and he kindly referred me to The English Hatter. Never again will i stay at this place. I am not asking for 5 star service, but please take a moment and help a guest!
Thank yiou.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    455
    481
    237
    225
See reviews for
176
554
110
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from the tulip inn I was nervous as after reasding some reviews on here I stayed in room 231 it had new carpet new bed new bathroom I couldn't complain the check inn was quick and friendly . I can't comment on the breakfast as late nights mean later mornings yes the church bells do go off usually around every fifteen mins but how long are you going to be in the room during the day I found shutting the window blocked most of it out and there's aircon in the rooms I would definately stay here again and dnt be put off by some of the reviews on here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babycc1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a stay of two nights with my husband and 21 year old son. Great location and cleanliness. It is a shame that you charge so much for WiFi. We stayed in quite a few hotels during our Europe holiday and never had to pay extra for WiFi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I got a very good rate on this hotel for one night so I decided to stay here. Location is very good, close to everything. There could improve the rooms, for example installing an AC unit, changing the carpet, etc, but overall not bad especially for one night. Staff is also nice and helpful. Oh, bring earplugs the church bells go off every 20 minutes!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is really what it says it is. We had a room up in the attic it was clean the plug sockets were something to be desired ie not there however our room was right beside the lift so no problem for anyone with mobility issues - room no 410 . It was hot when we were there and the air conditioning did work. I thought breakfast was very good- I defy anyone to say they did not find something they liked it really is very good. Amsterdam is a pretty confusing place to get around we got lost trying to find hotel so for newcomers you walk out of Centraal Station and walk down on your left see Grasshopper and you are there.

Room Tip: room 410 if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Pro's:
- Close to Amsterdam Centraal train station
- Friendly staff
- Bathroom was fairly clean

Cons:
- No wifi. This hotel doesn't have any wifi. You must go to nearby restaurants for wifi.
- No air conditioning. It was warm when I visited, and i needed to leave the windows open. This exacerbates the problem below (loud noises).
- Very loud and busy location. It is near the Red Light District and the central part of Amsterdam. Therefore, it is very loud at night...throughout the night. If it was just foot traffic, it might not be that bad. But, there is also incredibly loud construction noises and service trucks in the early morning delivering goods to local stores. And, there's also the church bells.
- Room feels dirty. Carpet and window drapes seem dirty.
- Bed looks clean but it is completely worn down / soft. I'm a very light person, and I sunk down a few inches in the middle of the bed. I know the beds are used by thousands of visitors. But a worn out bed makes it feel extra dirty/disgusting.

Suggestions for management
- Add wifi and central AC.
- Change carpets and drapes.
- Repaint the interior.
- New beds.

Keep the price low, add those changes, and I would recommend this as a budget hotel. It's still in a very busy/loud location, but with AC, you can keep the windows closed to block some of the sound. Right now, I can't recommend this hotel. It made my visit to Amsterdam uncomfortable for me...and completely ruined it for my girlfriend.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because it's loud around this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#233 of 367 in Amsterdam
715 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Property: Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing