We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #330 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonatan T, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 574 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from a stag do. The hotel location is perfect around a 15 minute walk from town and 20 Mins or so to the red light district. /On arrival we were greeted by wladimir who made us feel welcome. The rooms were as you'd expect really clean at first viewing but in real need of some refurb and a deep clean here and there. But on a stag do all you really need is a bed and a toilet.If you are on the third floor the stairs are quite steep so maybe difficult for anyone older. Also every step throughout the hotel can be heard at night and in the morning (stairs are very noisy) Breakfast was limited in options but those that were there were perfect. Along with Wladimir the guy working the evenings Yasilis was extremely helpful with an issue we had with our train tickets, brilliant service. If all you are after is a b&b centrally located and with all the basics you require Quentin England is perfect and they'll be happy to accommodate any needs you may have. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear George,
Thank you very much for your reply on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear that you like our staff. If we are always there to make our guests feel as welcome as possible.
About the building we can tell you it is a monumental building and indeed the stairs make some noise. We are sorry for any inconvenience.
About the cleaning of the room I am sorry to read this. We will use your comments to train our House Keeping staff.
Concerning the breakfast we are serving a continental breakfast. This includes coffee, tea, orange juice, jogherts, (chocolate) milk, various kinds of bread, croissants, sugar waffels, divers jams, honey, peanutbutter, chocolatespread, ham, cheese, cruesli and muesli.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Wladimir Schrijver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

+good location (close to city center, close to bus from/to the airport), breakfast quite good, very good heating even when switched off (but cannot imagine stay in summer-time), good morning-shift staff

-poorly furnitured small double room in basement suitable not even for student, noisy water pump in bathroom,

Room Tip: do not accept rooms in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Josef,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. Please keep in mind that the Low Budget Rooms are located in the basement and are not very spacious (this is also written on Tripadvisor). In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Thank you and with kind regards,
Wladimir Schrijver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice little place and cheap too. Its a 15 walk from the main city centre but that fine. The rooms are pretty basic but if all you want is a bed and a toilet then its fine. The only seemed to be one member of staff on at a time and they sat behind reception and were no bother at all . there was even an old shed thing in the back yard that had been done out into a double room and my friends that stayed in that room said it was warm and cosy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Muzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Family_Muzzy,
Thank you your review on Trip Advisor.
You are correct there is one receptionist. Our reception is open 24 hours. You can always go to the reception with any questions. They are there also to check who is going in the hotel.
With kind regards,
Wladimir Schrijver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all: we loved the location!!! We got a room in the top of the house (3rd floor). Here you need to be used to some stair climbing. The room was tiny and also a bit tricky. The bed fits almost perfect in the room. You'll have 20cm to one side to move. There was one quite tiny window and the room got very warm over night although we did not heat and kept the window open everytime (in December!!). The bathroom did not really work well, shower and toilet are in old technical condition and also very 'tricky' to use, but they tried to fix it when we asked (which worked to some extent only). The TV did not work the whole week we stayed there. Nobody apologized for that and questions about it were not taken serious. Nevertheless, the staff was nice but we never saw them in action. The whole Team seems a bit lazy. The lady who cleaned our room always forgot important things (cleaning bath, bringing new towels). BUT we enjoyed our stay still because the room was cheap (40 EUR) and the location was very good. Don't expect anything else if you go there...

Thank gadogadogado
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your reply on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry for the television but in the whole area there was big problem with the cables. While working in the streets the cut the cables.
Your comments regarding the House Keeping we will use in order to train them better.
Happy New Year.
Kind regards,
Wladimir Schrijver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice Hotel. I had a nice room where i had a good night sleep. It's close by the shops and you can go anywhere from there because it's also close by the public transport.
The service was good and the staff was friendly. I didn't tried the breakfast, but i think it's a good simple dutch breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingetje87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wladimir S, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear guests, Thank you very much for you review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast for EUR 10 we offer, is a European breakfast which includes: various breads, croissants, cookies, cruesli, muesli, ham/cheese, jogherts, various jams/ peanutbutter/ chocolatespread, milk, chocolatemilk, orange juice, coffee/tea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel was an ok budget hotel but inside the room you could hear every noise from the corridor and other rooms, so if you want tranquillity this might not be for you. Also. The breakfast was 10 euros and totally not worth the money: just basic bread and juice, cheese etc, nothing warm, no vegetables or fruit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenit131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for you review.
We are sorry you had troubles with the noise from other rooms.
The breakfast for EUR 10 we offer, is a European breakfast which includes:
various breads, croissants, cookies, cruesli, muesli, ham/cheese, jogherts, various jams/ peanutbutter/ chocolatespread, milk, chocolatemilk, orange juice, coffee/tea
We regret to hear that you were not satisfied which what we offered. As a 2* star hotel we do not serve fruits or vegetables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 372 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#213 of 372 in Amsterdam
409 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#275 of 372 in Amsterdam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 372 in Amsterdam
376 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#306 of 372 in Amsterdam
497 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#264 of 372 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $86 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing