We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No warm water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #331 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 16, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Oskar B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the most over priced horrible hotel we've ever stayed in. The room cost us 258E and we had no hot water in the morning. The internet didn't work either. The room itself was a dump with a hollow core sliding door to separate the bathroom. There was no soap in the bathroom, only a "body and hair" foam. the walls were paper thin. We could hear our neighbor coughing in the morning as well as everyone passing int he hallway.
The staff was incredibly apologetic an encouraged us to write a bad review because they knew how bad it was.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We had a power failure in the electrical system and that was the reason that there was no hot water or internet. We are sorry that you felt the hotel did not do everything they could do to solve the problem.
We recently introduced a new soap system in our hotels which is called “The Spa Collection”. With this soap you can also wash your hands. Thank you for letting us know your experience with this soap.
We also will be using your review for our next renovation plans and we truly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First thing first, the location is just about perfect. Everything we planned on doing in Amsterdam was just a walk away (or one tram from the end of our street for when we went out of Amsterdam). The hotel is in a really nice quiet location too. The staff are very friendly and were always helpful, they even booked a taxi for us.

The room was on the 3rd floor, and was just about the right size for a double bedroom in Amsterdam. As expected in Amsterdam, the stairs in the hotel are extremely steep, but this turned into a funny joke every night going back to the room, so as long as you don't have a huge suitcase you'll be fine.

The "double" bed was two singles pushed together, but was comfortable none the less. There was a little TV which got english channels, and there was enough room to dump the stuff from our packs all over the floor. The bathroom was clean and the shower was pretty good too. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we had a nice view through the window.

Next time we go back to Amsterdam we'll be happy to book at this hotel again, it was everything we needed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrjake_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for you positive feedback about the Quentin England Hotel. We highly appreciate every feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Quentin England Hotel for 3 nights with my Mum in September 2013.
A simple hotel in a quiet street with nice staff, very close to the city center and the museum quarter .
The only negative point is : there was no ventilation in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will be using your comments about the bathroom ventilation for our renovations plans and we really appreciate your feedback about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked with my boyfriend to spend a weekend in Amsterdam and the location of this hotel is indeed very good. Depsite the location, we did not manage to go to sleep until 06.00 am. There was no noice contral for people coming in & out in the middle of the night. Our room was next to the garden and we were guaranteed by the receptionist that the garden would be locked at midnight - this turned out not to be the case. The total atmosphere of the place is a hostel and should not be classified as a hotel. we had a terrible experience and waking up on a Saturday morning after 3 hours sleep was not a good start of the weekend with my boufriend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had problems with sleeping because of the noise during the night. Let me please assure you that we are always trying to make our guests aware that there are other guests in the hotel, besides themselves. In the meantime, we have already taken additional measurements to reduce the noise during the night. For your information, we also have a 24-hour reception, in case our guests require any information or are in need of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel i located in a quiet and beautifull small sidestreet not far from central areas. It is quiet and clean, with a good service level. All staff I met were friendly and helpfull.

Parking in Amsterdam is expensive and there is not realy any good parkingsightes close to the hotel. The reception will provide you with a few options, non of them realy inviting though. But that is a general problem i Amsterdam.

Breakfast is good, continantal type with a touch of Netherlands.

The single rooms we had is not recomended for other activity than sleeping and showering. The are claustrophopbicly small. Stairs are steep, very steep in places.

Overall a place I would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hefsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our staff. Please keep in mind that the Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 373 in Amsterdam
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#246 of 373 in Amsterdam
643 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#210 of 373 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $70 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing