We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nightmare at Quentin England” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin England Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #308 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    112
    155
    83
    122
See reviews for
33
169
57
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samobor, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in 2008 in corridor room(about 4m2).I never write recension about my time spend there.Instead of the bed it was 3 mattraces upon one another.No window,no air condition,no space even to walk in room.The smallest room that i ever stayed in.HORRIBLE experience.You could easilly get panic attack there.For a money they charge it was very bad. I visit Amsterdam few times after 2008 and i always avoid that space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The beds have been changed and In the meanwhile we are busy with new furniture. Please keep in mind that the Low Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed here 4 - 5 times over the years on various trips to Amsterdam. It's in an excellent location. Rooms are very basic but definitely functional, kept clean and well-maintained. If you're looking for something reasonably cheap and no frills, this hotel is a good shout.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to have balconies - decent street view, nice for if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here with 2 other friends, we are all females in our mid 20s. The location was good, only a short 10min walk before you arrive to the main areas in the centre. We stayed in a private triple room with bathroom for 2 nights. Whilst we were there the beds were made and the bins emptied. The people on the front desk were all really helpful and told us how to get to all the main sites. Rooms were clean and big enough for three of us. We found this hotel on a hostel site so we were pleasantly surprised when we got there. In terms of hostel standards it would be 5 out of 5. Would definitely go back to this place if I ever went back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was very clean and a good price.

The location is only a few minutes walk from Leidseplein square.

The hotel staff were friendly and informative.

The room was a decent size and had a good bathroom.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is nice, it's located close enough to Leidseplein and the Red Light District without being right in the heart of the action. The room was functional, comfortable beds and good shower. It was above average but not "very good", so consider this 3.5 stars rather than 3!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just back from my third trip to lovely Amsterdam and second stay at this hotel in 7 years. I'd initially booked two low budget rooms, and hadn't been too thrilled when the confirmation came through and said the rooms wouldn't have windows. Thought about cancelling but I knew from having stayed here before that the hotel is in an excellent location, and couldn't find anything more reasonable so decided to risk it. On arrival, we were delighted to find we'd been upgraded so had the luxury of windows! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. The staff are friendly and helpful. The nicest thing about the Quentin England is its location; it's on a quiet street yet is only a few minutes' walk from the Museumplein in one direction, and Leidesplein and the start of the busy central area in another. Do visit the Rijksmuseum, very recently reopened after being closed for about 10 years. One quick visit doesn't really scratch the surface, but it's looking wonderful, and I look forward to exploring it further on future visits!

Room Tip: beware booking a budget room - it may not have a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#282 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#253 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europa 92
#196 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#274 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#244 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Property: Quentin England Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing