We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars really!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quentin England Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #313 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“3.5 stars really!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is nice, it's located close enough to Leidseplein and the Red Light District without being right in the heart of the action. The room was functional, comfortable beds and good shower. It was above average but not "very good", so consider this 3.5 stars rather than 3!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    118
    169
    87
    135
See reviews for
39
191
59
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just back from my third trip to lovely Amsterdam and second stay at this hotel in 7 years. I'd initially booked two low budget rooms, and hadn't been too thrilled when the confirmation came through and said the rooms wouldn't have windows. Thought about cancelling but I knew from having stayed here before that the hotel is in an excellent location, and couldn't find anything more reasonable so decided to risk it. On arrival, we were delighted to find we'd been upgraded so had the luxury of windows! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. The staff are friendly and helpful. The nicest thing about the Quentin England is its location; it's on a quiet street yet is only a few minutes' walk from the Museumplein in one direction, and Leidesplein and the start of the busy central area in another. Do visit the Rijksmuseum, very recently reopened after being closed for about 10 years. One quick visit doesn't really scratch the surface, but it's looking wonderful, and I look forward to exploring it further on future visits!

Room Tip: beware booking a budget room - it may not have a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
331 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was quite expensive, but Amsterdam is really expensive city especially hotel. Located in very nice neighbourhood where all hotels are located, but quite a walk to attractions, and have to take tram to central station which inconvenience for big luggages. Staffs were so nice and really helpful, provide really good service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I and my fiancé were 5 days in Amsterdam in the end of May. We spent one night in double room and three nights in twin room in this hotel. We booked it that way, we changed the arriving date one day earlier and the room that we booked already for next three days wasn’t available. We packed our luggage and checked out from first room and after 2 pm the same day, we checked in again in second room. But that is not hotels fault, we changed the date. The double room where we spent one night was on 4th floor, clean and small with a double bed. So the second room- tween room was better option for us. It was on 3th floor and was bigger, with two separate beds but standing one by one. The toilet was not so big but it was clean and they were changing towels every day. There is no elevator in the hotel, and the stairs are very steep, probably as in most of the buildings in Amsterdam because they are small but high. But between 3th and 4th ware extremely steep. So, definitely don’t book room higher than 3th floor. Budget rooms are in the basement and without window, and they are cheaper so be careful when you are booking. We booked the rooms on booking site and all taxes were included. We didn’t take breakfast so I can’t say is it good or not.
The hotel is 2 minutes from Volendam Park, 5-7 minutes from museums and maybe 7-10 minutes from Leidseplein. That means that me didn’t use tram or bus at all for those five days that we spent in Amsterdam. The bus that we tock from the airport leave us on Leidsplein, but if you want to go to Central station you should walk 2,5 km or take a tram from Leindseplein. We were able to come in the hotel couple of times during the day, because of the location, to take a shower or for a short nap before going out in the evening, and that is important if you want to see as much as possible from the city. That’s why taking more expensive hotel in the center was good chose. Actually most of the price for the room is paying the location, for the same price could be found better hotel but not so close to the center.
The staff was friendly. We had wi-fi all the time but there was computer on the reservation desk that can be used for free. No charges for paying with credit card. Hair dryer and other things they are giving by request.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dushanka_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxpress
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved the location - a very pleasant street, with some very nice bars nearby. About 15mins on the tram from sleazy Amsterdam, but this area is much nicer! The staff were very pleasant as well. However - the room: Ok, I know it was cheap - but the single rooms are miniscule - smaller than you can possibly imagine, and more importantly, don't have windows (or at least mine didn't). It must have been a converted broom cupboard. The shower attached was actually fine. So if you are comparing prices, look at a double room at the very least!

Room Tip: dont touch the single rooms - or least prepare yourself psychologically
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbaum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not the best location. Stairs were a pain. Views of the courtyard was interesting. If i did it again i would have chosen a different hotel. They charged me $10 for a lost key card. KEY CARD. The price was right it was a last minute thing. The hotels in Amsterdam overall are not cheap. nov 10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#281 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#246 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#295 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Property: Quentin England Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing