We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cheap & friendly hotel in quiet location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #321 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool
1 review
“A cheap & friendly hotel in quiet location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Although check-in was at 2pm, I arrived in Amsterdam at 11am and decided to go straight to the hotel and leave my bag there until later. Luckily, the staff at the hotel let me check-in early, and they also upgraded my room (at no extra cost) from a basement single to a twin room on the 3rd floor, which I thought was very nice of them (I didn't even ask!).

The room wasn't excellent though. It was in need of some TLC, and there were also stains on the mattress which weren't too nice... The room was a bit dusty in places too. The bathroom seemed cleaner though.

The location is good if you want to stay near Leidseplein as it's only a couple of minutes walk away and in a quiet area (located behind the Marriott Hotel).

The staff were all lovely. The were very welcoming and happy to help. The day I checked out I asked if I could leave my bag in their locker room until I was due to leave for the airport which wasn't an issue at all. It was locked in a room below the reception.

Although the rooms appear very basic and in need of a bit of an upgrade, I'm not complaining as at 44 Euros a night it was one of the cheapest hotels I could find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank x--Rinoa--x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    118
    170
    89
    138
See reviews for
42
191
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We traveled with my husband and we liked the hotel very much - it was clean, very convenient to go around in the town. The location is really perfect. At the same time the place is quiet and we could rest after walking around all day long. We got what we paid!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over new years eve. The hotel was clean and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Went with a group of friends for 2 nights. My partner and I got upgraded to a normal double room on the first floor so we could be on the same floor as our friends. The room was large enough and clean although I agree with other reviewers that the rooms/hotel need a complete makeover. Part of the carpet was missing in our room and the radiator wasn't working properly. The walls are also very thin! This wasn't a problem though as we were in Amsterdam for NYE and only used to hotel to shower and sleep.
The location of the hotel is very good. Only a 5 minute walk to the leidseplein and about 10 minutes from there on the tram to dam square.
Would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Just don't expect luxury!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is convenient, clean, comfortable and congenial. However, noise travels well in the building and unless you use ear plugs you will be awakened by the sounds of the early morning cleaning crew, especially it you are on the first floor, near the linen storage area. If the room's window is open you are likely to hear conversations from the outside patio area. All this contributes to a low rating for sleep quality.
The 10 Euro charge for breakfast is outrageous for juice, dry cereal, meat or cheese, bread or buns, coffee or tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ghsgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I travelled with my boyfriend for 3 nights in April. (Age 23/26)

We were expecting the worst after reading all the bad reviews on this website HOWEVER.....

We were very pleased with the hotel! You get what you pay for, room was worn but was clean and spacious. It was perfect for a nights sleep after being out in Amsterdam!

The location was fantastic! 5 mins away from Leidseplein, about 15 from Dam Square.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Take the bad reviews with a pinch of salt.. If you're going to be fussy about where you stay then just go to the Mariott!!!

We would definitely stay here again!


Tip: if you like steak try one of the Rancho steak houses, gorgeous food!

Room Tip: We had room 2, bottom floor behind reception. Nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#285 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#256 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Property: Quentin England Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing