We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, modern, well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #167 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice, modern, well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

As a frequent traveler to AMS I tried this hotel. Location is very good, decoration is modern and nice. My room was large very nice and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was nice as well, breakfast room a bit small in the basement! Price quality ration is very good with the rate I got.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    371
    172
    57
    36
See reviews for
105
290
128
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were traveling with a friend in a wheelchair, which caused some problems initially when the taxi left us at the front door facing a series of steps to the lobby. Staff members immediately saw the problem, came to our rescue, helped our friend get up the stairs along with all our luggage. Fortunately, the hotel does have operating lifts at the lobby level. Throughout our stay, employees behind the front desk and at the bar were friendly, helpful and upbeat. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast buffet excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the museums in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valmont940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I’ve stayed in this hotel for several nights and the good points are:

- Excellent location near museums, posh shops, tram and bus stops, canal cruise stop etc. – very clean, quiet and nice area of the town
- Clean, nice décor and practical rooms
- Breakfast – good selection of cheeses, hams, breads and omelette or scrambled eggs made to order
- PC with an internet access

Now the bad points:
- Quite small room, but that was ok, as I didn’t spend much time in my room anyway
- The room can get stuffy/hot – as when you open the window it finishes just above the bed mattress, which means direct draft; the window is huge and there is no option for ventilation
- Noise coming from upstairs – creaky floorboards and noise/bangs coming from the breakfast room directly beneath my room – moving chairs etc. – it woke me up during the night and early morning every day and that was with wearing earplug
- The breakfast staff are not overly friendly – had to ask for the omelette every day while other guest seemed to be offered omelette or scrambled eggs straight away without asking
- Not sure about the hygiene of the breakfast staff – they touch everything (cheeses, breads, hams etc.) with their bare hands while doing other stuff in the kitchen and not using any utensils or gloves
- TV – the sound was tinny

And last evening I saw a little mice running down the corridor by the reception – very cute!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

First, how to get there by public transit: train from AMS airport to Centraal Station (<20 min, EUR5.00), then tram #2 from Centraal to Van Baerlestraat stop (<10 min, EUR7.50 for 24h unlimited travel on buses and trains), then walk 2 short blocks. Alternatively, there is an express bus #197 to/from airport (reportedly 30 min, EUR5.00) which stops near the hotel, operated by a different company from the trams, but we didn't use it.

It's approx 40 min scenic walk between Centraal and hotel.

Reception was very friendly, allowed us to check in early at 11am since there was a room available. They also held our luggage for us after check out so we could roam for the whole day.

Small, nice, boutique hotel located on a quiet residential street. I believe it to be an old apartment building which has been converted into a hotel. No A/C and little air circulation made it hard to sleep during the warm summer night. My 4th floor room was facing the park and there was minimal street noise on a Thursday night, even with the windows open. We could, however, hear the slamming doors of the rooms next to us very clearly - rooms are clustered together in a way doors are literally a foot apart from each other.

Room was decorated nicely, small wall mounted flat screen TV, very little space to maneuvre as the room was oddly shaped. Bathroom had a small combined shower/toilet area separated only by a flimsy curtain. Small rooms are characteristic of Europe, so not surprised there.

Great location for museums and close to public transit to get back to the more central area for dining and shopping. There's a nice area nearby as well with lots of restaurants.

Overlooks a beautiful park where you can have a picnic or sit by the pond and read a book or feed the ducks.

There's a great bakery open until 6pm around the corner called Simon Meijssen where you can get breakfast, snack or light lunch.

Overall it was a good choice for location and wanting a smaller boutique feel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a very cute and stylish Boutique hotel, in a very posh and quiet area by Volderpark and the museum district. The hotel is small but has a very fashionable, with a cosy reception area with modernistic and comfortable bar area. It is built in a typical holland building what makes your stay meo real.
The stayed in for 5 days in a business trip, and the staff made me always feel very nice and welcoming, specially at the breakfast restaurant, where the ladies were always asking me how I was.
The room I stayed in was small and the bathroom also, but was stylish and cosy with a very nice view for a back terrace. Breakfast was basic, but nice.
This hotel is not right at the centre of Amsterdam, but is in a walking distance of about 20mins through very nice areas full of restaurants.

I highly recommend either for a business trip or for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: Can't really help. I stayed in a very cute room but was very small. I would recommend to check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good middle class Hotel, situated near the 3 major museums and close to one of the canals where the tours stop. Just in front of the Hotel is a beautiful park.

The room was small but clean and decorated with taste. The bathroom was really tiny tiny but that was fine to have a bath or shower.

No soap as amenities but only a liquid soap available. No semple of shampoo neither. As the price was not small, I was surprised not to have even a little soap.

The breakfast was outstanding, with fresh food and eggs could be ordered. Too bad the weather did not allow to take it outside in the lovely courtyard.

The room we had overlooked the courtyard, therefore quiet. The only noise was lousy football supporter talking outside during the Mundial ;-) but this should only happen every 4 years....

A warm welcome at the reception, good informations and will power to help with directions.

About 10 stairs to climb for the entrance of the Hotel, could be a hassle when the suitcase is heavy !

A good overall impression with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose a courtyard room as the other rooms overlooking the park might have some tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueflower_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Although not able to get a room with a nice view (we got a room in a low level floor). The lady that welcomed us seemed to be not very happy when we asked for help with the luggage (I believe this is American service, maybe europeans are more like "do it ob your own". We were told to request another room the day after but ended up staying with the first option. Elevator is not really an elevator, is an elevator for disabled. The day after the lady was very caring and helped us with tips to go to the airport. Rooms are tiny, we were at a triple room aand barely had apacw for the bags.
Roo

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolYokomizo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#160 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing