We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for short stays” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #167 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for short stays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here in April for a few days to explore the city. The room we were given was on the lower floor. The room size was quite big, very basic but clean and we only had a tiny window so the light was quite poor. All in all an OK hotel room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good (but quite a walk into the centre) with a park opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    372
    172
    57
    36
See reviews for
106
290
128
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed in the Piet Hein numerous times over the past year, and have never been disappointed.

The hotel is well located, in the Museum district, and alongside the Vondelpark. The rooms are well-appointed, if sometimes on the small side. As a tip, I would say ask for one of the rooms starting with "3", as these are the newest, although the rooms beginning with "2" are the quietest.

The staff are very friendly and breakfast is good, but starts at 7:30, a little late for some business trips! The bar and lounge are also good. Be aware that the hotel has no restaurant for lunch or evening meals; you can order a takeaway to be delivered, or use one of the local restaurants.

A big plus is that - unlike most hotels - the (very reasonable) price never varies with supply / demand. Rooms can also be cancelled with 24 hours notice at no penalty. That can be very useful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank High_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 4 day trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a trendy boutique hotel across Vondelpark. The small street its nestled in is very quiet. Although our hotel room was extremely small, we didn't mind since the only reason for being in the hotel room was to sleep. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it was good enough to get the day started without having to worry about where to have breakfast. However, there is a coffee shop around the corner that makes the best flat white!

The location is very convenient since its walking distance from both Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh. The hotel is also close to transportation. The reception was very helpful with directions. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our hotel faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while I was traveling solo in Amsterdam for 3 days.

The hotel's appearance is a bit of a mishmash. On one hand, it's a beautiful building with a hip, trendy hotel lobby, sleek bar, lots of cool lighting, etc. Sounds good, right? And then I see my room. A spartan little room right near the front desk, tucked inside the stairwell. No charm or character, with a window that looks out onto an enclosure of well, not much. The dim lighting makes it look practically like a cell. I could hear people going up the stairs and bumping their luggage against my door.

So the room was pretty disappointing, especially after seeing how nice the rest of the hotel looks. But it was clean and warm and it had everything I needed. Single traveler rooms tend to be the worst rooms in any hotel so I wasn't expecting much to begin with.

Location is pretty nice. Located right next to Vondelpark, the area is quiet and safe. It has easy access to the trams and the museums are only a few minutes walk. Didn't have the breakfast. At 15 euros, it seemed exorbitant, especially since the last hotel I stayed at charged 7.5 euros for their breakfast.

One major plus is that the wifi in the hotel was really good.

Not sure if I'd stay here again, maybe if I was with other people and had a better room.

Room Tip: Avoide rooms 110 and 111 - They are inside the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just finished up the end of my month journey through Europe and I am glad I chose this hotel. The staff were amazing especially the bar tender when he slipped me a bar of the finest Dutch chocolate that I have ever tasted. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. I absolutely loved the beds. Location was perfectly nestled with in walking distance to anywhere in Amsterdam you would want to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#160 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing