We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in corner to Museumsquare”
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #155 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in corner to Museumsquare”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bus 197 from Airport is the easisest way (20 min) to get to the Museumplein and then less than five minutes walking to the hotel.

Piet Hein is a rather small hotel with perfect location. Staff is extremely helpful, my double bed room was very cozy and "design"-hotel kind of a room beds were good (rather hard madrasses) and bathroom was small but very functional. Rooms are in good condition, everything works and hotel is very clean.

My room in third floor is silent with a window to inner yard. Road side rooms should not either be very noicy as the windows have double glass and the road heads to Vondelpark - not much cars.

Outdoor terrace area was not very posh as it was +5 Celsius and raining in October :(. Only negative point is that the elevator was broken when I came - that happens. :)

I stay four nights in the hotel and visit RAI (the fair centre) for two days - just an easy tram trip to take.

Stedelijk museum is my favourite museum, Van Gogh museum is good to and for all who visit The Netherlands first time it is essential to visit Rijks Museum (Rembrant Night Watch etc.) all these and Konsertgebouw are less than 10 minutes to walk from the hotel.

Excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JukkaPaananen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    421
    192
    61
    41
See reviews for
122
328
144
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location near museums, and only a short walk through the park from more livelier part of the city. The room we had was not large but fine for a few day's stay. Didn't try the breakfast for 15 euros however plenty of places to eat nearby for breakfast and any other meals. Staff friendly & helpful, would certainly use this again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the gardens are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a well trained, friendly staff. The rooms are clean and are air conditioned. Windows also open for fresh air. Valuables can be kept in the room safe. The rooms do not have a refrigerator, but the bartender was kind enough to keep a bottle of wine chilled for us. The hotel is a short walk to the Rijks Museum, the Van Gogh Museum and Vondel Park. The morning breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatz2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

For a major trade show this year we decided to stay at a hotel that had more of a local feel and settled on the Piet Hein. The staff are lovely and attentive, especially the gentleman who mans the bar, and the rooms are efficient, clean, and cozy. The breakfast that is included and is excellent, and the decor has an inviting contemporary feel.
Overall, it had been a very nice stay and is a quick walk to the tran and local restaurants. We ate a few nights at Seafood Bar around the corner, and at Bicken down the street. Close by there are some excellent shops.

Room Tip: There are many different room sizes so be sure to ask about sq. footage and bed size or number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracena
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I can recommend this lovely Boutique hotel. It is very well situated for touring Amsterdam on foot and next to a beautiful park. the service was excellent and the staff very helpful. some of the rooms are a little small and the general quality/price is very good and rooms have everything you would need.
Nice sitting area to relax and well stocked bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

An average hotel, with very good buffet breakfast, but small rooms, no drawers or shelves for clothes, no air-con, noisy in front rooms and very weak lighting in bedrooms. Staff friendly and helpful, but we had to ask for glasses, kettle and cups. No tissues or tea and coffee. Too expensive for what we had, ie not good value.

Room Tip: At the back is quieter place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley01223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival I was informed that the single I booked was unavailable and I would therefore be provided with a double room.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet. There were evident signs of use but the overall standard was well-maintained. The staff were courteous and helpful, especially on my last day when I required help in printing my boarding pass. I hope that this hotel will have vacancies the next time I travel to Amsterdam and that my stay will be equally enjoyable.

Thanks to the staff at Piet Hein.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#121 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#161 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#122 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing