We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business or pleasure”
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #170 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Piet Hein while attending a trade fair at the Amsterdam Rai. The hotel was well-placed for this as it is just a fifteen minute tram ride from the Rai. It is also really well located for those wanting to visit Amsterdam's many museums....walking distance from the Van Gogh, the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, and the technology museum. The hotel faces directly onto the leafy Vodelpark. Although it is ten minutes away from the city centre itself the location is ideal for seeing the city. Like most hotels in Amsterdam it is not cheap for what it is. However it is well organised, the staff are friendly and courteous, and my room was very clean. Breakfast was not included in my room rate but it was well worth the fifteen euros. If you wanted to be picky you could point to the lack of tea/coffee in the room and soap dispensers in the shower room (no little bottles) Against that you have a decked garden area to sit in in the evening and a very good experience overall.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms must look on to the Vodelpark. Try asking for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in this charming little hotel right next to vondel park. It has a nice little bar area and a very friendly staff. the only warning i would give is to try avoid being in room 241 or 242. its right over the kitchen and close to the bar so the noise can be a little overbearing. That aside, i would strongly recommend this hotel for singles or couples.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A mixture of good/very good and not so good at this hotel, with positives outweighing the negatives. Three major positives: Location in upscale district in close vicinity to Concertgebouw and Rijksmuseum is superlative and could hardy be improved upon. Staff is attentive and helpful. Third, hotel is quiet at night - you will sleep well. Although this is a nice hotel, details of property management have not been attended to - for example, the carpet in the elevator is filthy and should have been cleaned or replaced (I pointed this out to them and was told, "We are aware of it" - well, golly gee, if you're aware of it...do something!). Rooms are sparsely decorated, and the little furniture in them is old and beaten up. Would these factors keep me away - no.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is very well located, near the major museum attractions, easy transportation access and also a supermaket nearby (be vareful, however, that this Albert Hein market has very strict rules for the use of foreign credit and debit cards, I was unable to use my Brazilian ones and have to pay chas all the time). Also, it is nearby the shopping streets (expensive ones nevertheless). The staff is always ready to help and very polite and nice, from the reception to the breakfast parlor. Breakfast was good, European standards, and my only complaint is that sometimes it took a while for refilling products (fruits and cheese) and you have to ask for it. Rooms are small, again European standard, but very comfortable, and cable TV has several options. The bathroom is kind of even smaller, and there is no box in it, only a curtain (at least in the room I stayed), so if you are taking a shower, the floor gets all wet and for wahing your hair it is even worse, so there is some kind of gymnastics required on our part (the hair dryer is great). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's several time I stayed in Piet Hein Hotel, the reason is
1) location. The hotel is closed with Rijk museum, Van Gogh museum, concertgebouw, supermarket Albert Hein, just walk in front the hotel is Vondelpark, restaurant/cafe, Cornelis Houffman street which so many branded shop, and easy to get tram number 2; 5 to goes to central station.
2) Price. The price is logic .
3) Services. The hotel can give us early check-in, and up grade to higher room without charged.
4) Staff. The staff is friendly and helpful. And I know well the staff in receptionist, bar, breakfast room, and cleaning service. It's great because you're feel save like at home.
5) Room. The room is clean and minimalism modern, I like the decoration, even the room is small.
The bed is comfortable.
6) Breakfast. The breakfast is continental, simple but delicious. I like the scramble egg and bacon. And of course the cheese is good.

Room Tip: Try to ask vondelpark view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnoldusIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from Piet Hein for a 3 day break. The hotel is next to Vondelpark, and at the end of the street you reach you can reach the main tram lines into the centre of Amsterdam. On arrival the staff warmly greeted us, and couldnt do enough to make our stay a good one. Contemporary styling, breakfast continental, but plenty of it for the hungriest of travellers. Room standard size, clean , free safe for valuables, bar and reception area welcoming. Hotel perfect location for van gogh, rijk , trams just around the corner, 5 min walk through vondelpark to hard rock cafe and blue boat canal stop. In quieter location, but totally accessible to the centre of amsterdam. Definitely would stay again and would recommend this little gem to anyone. Thank you again to the staff for their customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I only booked this hotel because it said it had a smoking floor and they confirmed that they had a smoking room booked for me (waiting for the comments from the anti-smoking brigade). On arrival we were sent to a non-smoking room. We complained and they said there was nothing on the booking about a smoking room until we showed them our confirmation which had smoking on in capital letters. They said there was nothing they could do as the two smoking rooms (not a whole floor) were occupied but we could move to one the following day. They suggested we put our head out of the window to smoke, as it happened we were able to climb out of the window onto the patio. On check out we were given a discount for the inconvenience having declined the offer of a free breakfast.

The first room was quite nice with a lovely big window (all the better for climbing out of) but the second room, as expected, was not as nice with a small high window looking out onto wall and the bathroom was tiny.

If you want a central hotel this is not for you but it was quite nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. It is at the side of the Vondelpark which is massive, around the corner from all the upmarket shops, a five minute walk to Liedesplein with loads of restaurants and five minutes to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 373 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 373 in Amsterdam
884 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#239 of 373 in Amsterdam
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $86 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing