We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little overpriced for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little overpriced for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I only booked this hotel because it said it had a smoking floor and they confirmed that they had a smoking room booked for me (waiting for the comments from the anti-smoking brigade). On arrival we were sent to a non-smoking room. We complained and they said there was nothing on the booking about a smoking room until we showed them our confirmation which had smoking on in capital letters. They said there was nothing they could do as the two smoking rooms (not a whole floor) were occupied but we could move to one the following day. They suggested we put our head out of the window to smoke, as it happened we were able to climb out of the window onto the patio. On check out we were given a discount for the inconvenience having declined the offer of a free breakfast.

The first room was quite nice with a lovely big window (all the better for climbing out of) but the second room, as expected, was not as nice with a small high window looking out onto wall and the bathroom was tiny.

If you want a central hotel this is not for you but it was quite nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. It is at the side of the Vondelpark which is massive, around the corner from all the upmarket shops, a five minute walk to Liedesplein with loads of restaurants and five minutes to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    340
    160
    57
    30
See reviews for
90
268
117
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to the park entrance. Close to lots of shops and grocery, hairstylists, museums, great food, transportation, but quiet and private. Friendly staff. Walk and bike everywhere from here within minutes. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For me the room was standard Euro size, clean, friendly staff and a nice location. Good breakfast, decent coffee. It was a twenty euro taxi drive from the train station, and a ten euro drive to the station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrivateMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip. An elegant old building converted into a small basic modern hotel, opposite the Vondelpark. Good location (quiet but convenient), a five minute walk from the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum (and the tram stop for Centraal station) and the Concertgebouw. It's also a short walk through the park to a Blue Boat stop. We had a small but comfortable double room with en suite bathroom (and a shower which turned the bathroom into a wet room), cable tv (CNN), small desk and wardrobe with in-room safe. No minibar or kettle. Our room had a view over the rooftops. Breakfast was included in our room price: fresh bread (including delicious rye rolls), croissants, cold meats and cheese, scrambled egg and bacon, butter, jam, honey or chocolate or fruit sprinkles which apparently all Dutch breakfasts need, fruit salad, cereal, granola and yogurt. The coffee from a DIY coffee machine wasn't the best. There is a very small bar and lounge area. The plus points were the very friendly and efficient staff, who were always available with advice or help, the free high speed wifi, the comfortable bed and the location. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twofootplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here in januari for one night. We booked on the same day as arrival and got an upgrade. So that was very nice. The room had everything you need, was a bit small but clean.
The staff was very friendly and location is also good. Just a vew stepps from the vondelpark.
And city centre is just a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoyed a short, two night stay here in December 2012. Staff was helpful and friendly. Fassade and lobby are very pretty. The room was slightly disappointing as rather small and with only a small window. Didn't spend much time at the hotel though and it was well located, a short tram trip from the city centre. Close to the hotel is a high-end shopping street. We enjoyed breakfast at a nearby Bagel & Beans, which is handy for vegans as their menu includes soya milk and a a non-dairy food option - something not so easily found in my experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lysi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing