We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Piet Hein - a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #180 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Piet Hein - a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights in a single room, which overlooked the garden terrace. This room was downstairs from the lobby but well above ground level at the rear. Whilst the room was not large (hence average rating) it was fine, clean and there were spare sockets to allow charging various electronic devices. Wifi was free and fast and there was a good choice of TV channels for free. The bar and lounge were very good and comfortable. The staff were excellent, friendly and extremely helpful and efficient. The hotel was in a very nice area overlooking Vondelpark and within easy walking distance of the museums. For a city break it was an ideal location. I would have no hesitation in returning there or recommending to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden terrace were quiet with no traffic/passerby disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    340
    159
    57
    30
See reviews for
89
268
117
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The main pro of this hotel is the location. It is right next to the Vondel Park, and close to plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and museums. It is quite distance from Central Station but this was what we wanted. The room was nothing flashy but it was clean and had everything that we needed for a weekend break. Overall, a comfortable stay and I would quite happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_ljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Pros.. Very accessible to transit, museums, restaurants. Clean, comfortable lobby..friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again. However, as in most of Europe small rooms. I like to unpack and use a dresser which was not available. I really dislike living out of my suitcase even if it is only 3 nights.

Requested AC and definitely needed it . Didn't get it but to be fair I think I probably looked exhausted after a long flight and they wanted to get me into a room. They did give me a fan. It
was helpful.

Nice buffet breakfast..good coffee.

Room Tip: Also let them know ahead of time what u want, confirm it, and then make sure when u get there , befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in June 2012. Got a a double luxury room booked for me and got a narrow, no frills room with a very small window basically below ground floor with a view on a blind wall (208) Just very disappointing. The lobby looks (is) nice and the location is good (although very close to the tram, which some people may find disturbing in the night). But the lobby in this hotel is not representative of the rest of the hotel. Initially thought that a room below ground floor wold at least be quiet. But the doors in the hotel are very thin and not wel installed so every time one of the neighbors opened the door, I heard everything and my door would tick and click. Annoying both at night and in the morning.
Breakfast ok, went to the coffee place around the corner to get a cappuccino.
Big package of tv channels.
Internet free, but quite slow; I couldn't connect tommy work server because the connection is not stable enough and therefore not secure.
Bottom line: it's clean and central, but not worth the money. I'll try something else next time or return to CitizenM.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good value for the price in Amsterdam. The hotel is a little out of the way of the city center but very close to the van Gogh Museum, the Concertgebouw and the Rijksmuseum (all just a couple of blocks away). Two tram lines with frequent service take you to the city center at 2.70 euros a ride. Vondelpark facing the hotel is a nice quiet place to walk. My single room was very small, and didn't smell good and really needed a thorough cleaning. The staff were very accommodating and two computers in the lobby were convenient. Breakfast at 15 euros was good but a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel Piet Hein was the perfect choice for my stay in Amsterdam. Convenient location (three blocks from museums) and 10 minutes tram ride from Central Station, renovated modern bathrooms and comfortable rooms. The single room was certainly small, but that is the norm in Europe, with window overlooking the street and Vonderpark across the street. The price I paid through CheapHotels was really a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I greatly recommend the Hotel Piet Hein in Amsterdam. I stayed there for seven nights this month, and I appreciated its proximity to the Rikjsmuseum and Van Gogh museum, the #2 and #5 trams (convenient to Amsterdam Centraal), and several excellent restaurants (Zaza, Pulpo, De Knijp, and Brasserie van Baerle). It's also right next to Vondelpark and within easy walking distance of the city's major symphony hall, the Royal Concergebouw. Sleek and modern, in black and grey, the Piet Hein has a helpful staff, comfortable lobby, a great bar, and provides an excellent breakfast in an inviting setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderful77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#88 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing