We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #173 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel has a good location on a quiet street near the Vondelpark away from the noise of the centre of the city. It is nonetheless close to museums and the Leidseplein. I stayed in a single room which was quite small, but very nicely designed in a modern style (touch sensitive bed lamp etc.). Furnishings were slightly tired (shower attachment was broken etc). The lobby area was nice and staff were reasonably helpful. In general recommended. If it had a better attention for detail, it would achieve top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is very nice even if the double room&bathroom are not so big...anyway it is clean and the location is perfect. We staied at 1st floor and was silent but with no interesting view. Some rooms are in the basement (so maybe it's better reserve a room from 1st floor up).Breakfast could be better (since it costs 15 euro pp), but breakfast's room is very nice and relaxing. Tram stops are very close and nearby there are very nice museums&shops&reataurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile74Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We loved this hotel. For a nice city hotel, it was very reasonably priced (if not cheap!) compared to everything else we saw in Amsterdam. The location is fantastic as its 5mins walk from Leidseplein and Museum district and right outside the Vondelpark but it is still on a quite road so no noise.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended some great places to eat - local places (not full of tourists!). The decor is modern and the rooms were very clean.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank simba4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Hotel Piet Hein isn't horrible. The lobby is pretty nice and modern. Rooms are sufficient and somewhat modern, though fairly small even for Europe. Also, it is in a pretty good location, fairly central and literally right next to the park in case you are interested in jogging, etc.

It markets itself as a "boutique." I'm not sure everybody has the same definition of boutique, but it failed to meet my expectations. If your definition of boutique includes the following, you'll feel right at home: (1) cold treatment by front desk, who seemed more interested in talking to each other than helping guests; (2) maid service left dirty dishes in room, suggesting poor cleaning in general; (3) wireless was spotty and constantly kicked you off; (4) bath towels smallest of long trip in Europe; and (5) not enough space to store luggage for partial day after check out, something I've never encountered in many years of hotel travel.

Again, the hotel isn't horrible, and I got the impression that other rooms may be nicer. However, the hotel cannot get more than 3/5.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

we were lucky to be transferred here because it is really nice..big room..overlooking vondel park..tv is ok..bathroom is ok..the staff is very accommodating..esp. evening where i ordered toast for me and my baby..the place is near luxury stores...near hard rock cafe...nice surroundings...i look forward to stay there again...downside..stairs...not good if you travel with stroller for small kids... i guess most hotels in amsterdam have stairs leading to the receiving room..i almost forget..the breakfast..very sumptous...love their servings..and warm chocolate...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank audmonamikaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I spent 5 nights in a single room which was a bit small, as well as the bathroom. The staff were very helpful and breakfast is really great in a nice airy room leading onto a courtyard. One of very few hotels allowing you to have breakfast until 11.00 am!!! The lobby and bar are quite trendy. The location couldn't be better, right on Vondelpark, next to museums and tram. I was on 4th floor with view on park which was lovely, mostly at night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

\stayed one night in tiny single room, tiny bed, construction going on behind hotel, so noisy, internet is spotty at best, very difficult to use in room. \front desk staff were very nice but would not offer upgrade without adding greatly to cost. $159.00 for tiny bed and bathroom, would look elsewhere next time if ever come back to this city.

Room Tip: \do not get a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0untainGIRL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#137 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#129 of 374 in Amsterdam
687 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 374 in Amsterdam
884 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#132 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing