We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish”
Review of Hotel Nes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nes
Ranked #238 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Nothing works, no service from the staff, location is good but everything else is crap, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere (ANYWHERE!!) else. How this place gets 3 stars I don't know!! Must write some/all of their own better reviews!! That's the only way they could get good reviews in my opinion!!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Druceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 348 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great spot to base yourself for sightseeing, lovely rooms with views, one twin and one double on our last stay. Small rooms, but clean and comfy. Breakfast excellent and staff five star, friendly, welcoming and helpful. I have stayed here three times at different times of the year and always given five star treatment by staff, very professional. Good value for money, the hotel is within walking distance of the flower market, the tourist squares, parks and museums and recommend the boat trips, which is based by the hotel. Area is quiet although Central and you can walk from the railway station or hop on a tram to reach the hotel. Very central. Would recommend to visit, with friends, as a couple, or family break.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank WHV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

For the price and the central location, I thought Hotel Nes was excellent. It is right near Rembrandt Sq. with easy access to transit. I thought it was very clean. But if you're put off by strong cleaning smells like I am, this also might be good place for you. I didn't have any problem there (although this is a bigger problem in the U.S. than Europe, like your staying inside a Pine Sol bottle.) There is construction right next to the hotel but I was gone all day so it didn't bother me. It could be a little loud on a weekend night but that comes with being central. You can't have it all! I thought the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel Nes was in a great location - right near Rembrandt Square (with its many bars and restaurants) and on one of Amsterdam's many canals and as such the room had a great view over the canal. The room was basic but clean and comfortable enough for a flying visit to Amsterdam where not much time was spent at the hotel. The bathroom was surprisingly large (having read previous reviews I was worried!) with a shower over a bath. The room had basic amenities such as a hairdryer, hand wash, shower gel and shower caps but no tea/coffee making facilities or mini fridge for stocking with your own drinks / water.
Communal areas were nice and staff were helpful. A great value hotel in a brilliant location.

Room Tip: I had room 301 which had a large bathroom and a fantastic view over the canal towards Rembrandt Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost_cure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a trip in October 2013. The hotel's location was great, and we were within walking distance of many great restaurants and scenic areas. However, our room was extremely small, even by big-city standards in Europe--we actually had a little trouble walking around in the room itself, and half of the (also very small) bathroom was taken up with the shower, which consisted of a slightly sloped floor and a curtain--no tub or lip to keep the water contained, but it drained fine. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Thankfully we were very busy and spent little time in the room itself, but it was a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The location is great, but be sure to ask them if there is any construction in the area during your stay as the building tends to vibrate and there is no sound proofing. also, if it's raining expect the roof to leak. I'd encourage bringing some bleach to clean the bathroom as well (at least to remove the mold on the walls).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel was in a convenient location if that is what you are looking for, however the downfall was that it had no air-conditioning and the rooms were tiny (even for European standards). When we were in Amsterdam the weather wasn't hot but in the room the heat was unbearable. What made it even worse was that we couldn't open our window because there were birds right outside that got in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 373 in Amsterdam
153 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#159 of 373 in Amsterdam
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#278 of 373 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#204 of 373 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nes

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 137 /139, 1011 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nes 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of exciting Amsterdam you will find Hotel Nes with its beautiful views of the Amstel canal. Due to its excellent location, you can explore our wonderful city on foot or by bicycle. Hotel Nes offers you the experience of sleeping in a beautiful building, built in 1890. Hotel Nes has 39 cosy rooms, all with private facilities. The rooms and lobby were recently decorated by Ellen van Gent, a Dutch interior designer. The design is a mixture of Dutch art and modern furnishings. The rooms are tastefully decorated to suit the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing