We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Nes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nes
Ranked #237 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 12, 2013

An ok hotel, but great location. Friendly front desk staff. Breakfast not included, but available for cost. Room was just ok. A little dorm feeling. No A/C which was ok since weather was cool, but beware in summer. Hotel was more about location and affordability.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 348 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the annex part and it was terrible, ground level right on the street so noisy with passing people all night then you have the apartment up stairs who usr the same entrance so you hear them come and go all night and this been Amsterdam it is all night!

The room was small and cheaply furnished with the faulty toilet running constantly adding to the other noise makes this room a no go especially for ?165. Way way overpriced even for Amsterdam.

Bars also across the Windows made it feel like a prison

The main part of the hotel looked very nice and modern but only saw the reception area, good location too so maybe the main rooms are much better

Thank World898978
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very basic hotel in a pretty building set in a terrific location. We had a middle size room overlooking the canal and a nice view. But if this is the middle size room, I wouldn't want to be in the smaller rooms. The large bed was comfortable, but occupied at least 75 percent of the room. Luggage had to be stacked against the door at night so we could walk around the bed. There is no AC so think twice in warm weather. The large opened windows were fine in October. The bathroom is cosy but has a large tub and shower. The breakfast at 10 E is a good bargain with typical hotel breakfast items. On the plus side the reception clerks were always helpful and pleasant if not cheery. Back to location, Hotel Nes is right off the Muntplein, and the flower market. Nearby trams are convenient though most of the city is easily walk able. An easy tram ride and transfer gets you to Museumplein or the other way to Central Station. For us, this was all about location and price.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms can be noisy on weekend nights if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jzippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Middle of the range price wise. I stayed in a twin room here, with a friend of mine. We had a really nice, big twin with single beds. The nice touch was the fact that we had a fantastic view over part of the canal system right on the door step.

Conviniently located for all the places 2 mates visit when staying in Amsterdam.

Good clean hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Rooms, modern, clean, Stayed in the Annex, quiet street location located on the canal. Would surely go back and stay again, Convenient to all the attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after finding myself in a very important date in Amsterdam with absolutely no hostels available anywhere. This was one of the only hotels with available rooms at the moment. The price was definitely not low, actually quite high if compared with a hostel, but low when compered with hotel from the Red Light District.

I ended up in a tiny single room. There was a small TV, but who cares? You don't go to Amsterdam to watch TV. Bathroom was recently renovated, very, very clean with clean towels and free soap. If you like cleanliness, don't hesitate in staying there. The elevator and stairs may be misleading, as they seem very old, rusty, and out-of-date, but rooms are clean enough for bacteria freaks. Most rooms have street view, either to the canals from the front of the hotel or to the back. Some have ugly view to adjacent houses, though. Staff was helpful, although by "staff" I mean the person at the desk and only person I ever saw there.

There is a restaurant in-site and free access to Internet with a good computer in the basement (not actually basement, but a few steps from the desk). You need a credit card to hold an amount for damages.

If I am not giving the Very Good rate is because of its price, which is very high for the size. It is located in a street in the heart of the Red Light District, a few block away from Rembrandt Plein and of course, from mayor buses and subway lines connecting to other suburbs of the city, like Haarlem, and others.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are easier to access because the elevator is very old and slow. If time is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank César B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

You go for al room contracted via EXPEDIA, you end up in a small little roome dirty and too hot to even be able to rest...
I decided to change and asked for a cancellation, that I obtained from the receptionnist.
A week later I was able to see that they still used my cards info to charge the room.
Look for somewhere else, even if the localisation is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#207 of 373 in Amsterdam
154 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#205 of 373 in Amsterdam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#159 of 373 in Amsterdam
515 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#277 of 373 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#232 of 373 in Amsterdam
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nes

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 137 /139, 1011 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nes 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of exciting Amsterdam you will find Hotel Nes with its beautiful views of the Amstel canal. Due to its excellent location, you can explore our wonderful city on foot or by bicycle. Hotel Nes offers you the experience of sleeping in a beautiful building, built in 1890. Hotel Nes has 39 cosy rooms, all with private facilities. The rooms and lobby were recently decorated by Ellen van Gent, a Dutch interior designer. The design is a mixture of Dutch art and modern furnishings. The rooms are tastefully decorated to suit the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing