We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pay a little more and stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blyss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blyss to your Saves list
Hotel Blyss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“pay a little more and stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I don't like giving bad reviews but there are many poor hotels in Amsterdam and this is one of them. On a positive note the staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms on the lowest floor are like a dungeon and your window is at street level (meaning you see the shoes of the people walking by on the sidewalk). there is no aircon and the fan they gave me didn't do much. I requested a room on a higher floor for the 2nd and 3rd nights and they were quite helpful and moved me to the top floor which was an improvement. i didn't pay the additional 10 euro's for breakfast so i can't comment. If you have to stay here ask for a room on a higher floor but the Prinsen is located on the same street and a much better value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shecky_stardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    65
    96
    74
    109
See reviews for
52
92
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here on our first trip to Amsterdam a few years ago.

The hotel is located within a nice upmarket area and is very close to the famous Vondelpark. It's close to the museum district but quite far from Centraal Station. This didn't bother us. The sun was shining and the walk led us to fall in love with beautiful Amsterdam.

If you don't fancy the walk there is a tram stop close by. We missed the tram one night and took a taxi back to the hotel. It was reasonably priced and we had no problem getting in late at night.

I'll admit to being a little disappointed when I saw the room. The joinery was bad and I was annoyed that Blyss had been described as a boutique hotel. I got over this very quickly. I already knew that small rooms were the norm in Amsterdam and this room was a lot larger than I had expected. Our bed was comfortable and the room provided everything that we needed it to. There was some hustle and bustle outside our window in the morning but what do you expect staying within a city centre? Personally I found it interesting! The garden was stylish and a great place to relax. The hotel definitely needed some work but by the end of our stay we didn't care. Looking back, the staff were typical of many hotel workers in Amsterdam. They did their job and welcomed us in a normal fashion. They weren't rude and they certainly weren't the worst that we've come across.

I would consider staying here again if I needed to be in the area and the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngelsEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was HORRIBLE!!!!! It was hot and NASTY!!! There were no attendants on duty after a certain hour. The first night we stayed there the people beside us partied all night, slamming doors yelling in the hallway and being that there was no one at the front desk we had no one to fix the problem. .. this was definitely the bates motel.. I wouldn't send my worst enemy here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank katmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Please do not go to this hotel. I had stayed for 2 days on this property. To begin with the staff at the reception who checked me in was very rude. I still don't understand why they charge 5per tax when you pay via credit card. The room was so small I felt that the walls would fall on me. The alleys are dirty and one could get a much better hotel for similar or cheaper price in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyanka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I needed to stay in a cheap hotel in Amsterdam but this place was a nightmare! I don't even bother to explain why!!!! and they charge you 5% if you wanna pay with credit card which makes the place super overpriced!!!!
The place smell like garbage all the time . And no elevators !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Good grief! This has got to be one of the worst excuses for a hotel I have ever seen. While I cannot argue with its location being convenient, that does not outweigh rude staff, mice infestations, uncomfortable beds and filthy rooms. Because it was a business trip I was looking forward to getting on with some work in the room, however the internet was so slow I couldn't. In fact I was forced to tether my phone which was a lot lot faster than the so called wi-fi. I ordered pizza and had planned to eat it in my room whilst I worked, but was told this was not allowed as there was a mice infestation in the building and that the hotel would not be held responsible for any costs incurred. And this was delivered to me rather abruptly. I can see where the rodent problem is though, the rooms are disgusting! Truly filthy. Conclusion: I cannot recommend enough that you find somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhillP232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For me staying at this hotel was a nice experience. Safe and calm neighborhood, close to transportation, clean and bed was so comfy.
The ladies working in the reception were so helpful !! they did a great job in instructing me of how and where to go :)
Room was small but i was solo and just used it for showering and sleeping. As i am sensitive to hot weather; i would prefer if there is a fan in the room but it is my own nature as i think it was not so hot during my stay but it will be a problem for others in July and August.
Thanks for Donna, Sandra and Elena for their support during my stay, they were so professional and helpful. i am sure i will stay there again when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamer-Gawdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#238 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#236 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Property: Hotel Blyss
Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing