We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby not chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blyss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
Ranked #326 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“shabby not chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The only thing that rates this hotel is the location for the Museums.
I had what I can only describe as a garret room in the roof with a vellux
window that didn't shut. The room was extremely tired.
For the price, it was so shabby and in need
of total renovation. A one star not 3!
The breakfast was 10euros extra and one of the worst buffet choices
I have ever seen. A rip off. Better to head toward the nearest cafe.

The sad thing is this hotel is busy as the demand is so high for the location,
guests will book it as the web site is better than the real thing. I over heard a guest making a complaint to the
owner, it was water off a ducks back. Not interested at all, no surprise there!
I found the staff polite and friendly but would I not return to the Blyss even on a free ticket!
The Hotel Vlondel further along is a much better bet choice.

Room Tip: there is no choice room as far as I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    66
    96
    75
    109
See reviews for
52
92
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Dry white bread, jam and butter. Bland coffee.

The standard of the rooms are quite poor. The front desk clerks are not attentive or helpfull. For once our room lacked à remote controller. The bath room wasn't properly cleaned. The isolation was terrible in terms of noice

Next time in Amsterdam I'll stay someplace Else.


Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was not bliss. The hotel and service was terrible. I booked 3 nights via Booking.com and regret I did. Euro195 total.

Room 24 was a joke:
A narrow small sized room converted from what looked like was previously the entrance hallway of the building. I've stayed in hotel rooms in Japan known for their small size. Room 24 was smaller than typical Japanese hotel rooms.
The bathroom is a fully tiled small space comprising of a shower, shower curtain, hand basin and toilet. The whole floor space of the bathroom got wet turning into a "swimming pool". To use the toilet I had to wait until the water on the floor drained away and then towel dry the toilet and floor.

Inhospitable and incompetent staff:
The receptionist was not overly welcoming, nor informative. Upon check in I was asked to pay in full. I was short of cash for the 3 nights so offered to pay for 2 nights and pay the balance the following day after getting more cash. That was not good enough for her, I had to pay in full for the 3 nights upfront. She instructed me to go to the ATM around the block.

The receptionist also failed to inform me their routine of locking the reception doors each night thereby eliminating my main route of entry to my room. She didn't instruct me on the alternative route I needed to take which involved a few flights of stairs and many corridors. I had to figure that out late at night by myself with nobody around to ask for help.

Not clean and lack of security. I found a couple of long hairs on the bed upon checking into my room on the first night. Housekeeping were careless leaving my room door unlocked and open after cleaning my room.

Some positives:
Good WIFI. Nice backyard garden area.
The location is very good for Vondel Park, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk, Rijksmuseum and Leidseplein are all within minutes easy walk. Centraal train station, Anne Franks haus and Red L.D are a short tram ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Terni, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I’m italian, I stayed in this hotel last year, during the winter for my holidays in Amsterdam with my wife.
This Hotel is terrible!!It’s old, nasty and dirty, the rooms are small and the carpet is filthy!
The beds are combined, broken and the bathrooms is very small!!
The only positive thing is that it’s near the centre of the city and Vondelpark, but it’s expensive and the staff are rude.
The breakfast is very poor and low quality and you must do it in a room like a cellar
Avoid this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very basic indeed. Our double room looked like a sleeping hall with four separate beds lined up in parallel along the wall. The remote control for the TV did not work - no battery power. The soap container in the bath room fell apart. The cleaning staff left dirty towels on the floor. Most receptionists (new ones every day) were uninterested or close to unfriendly. The bar could not serve what they proposed.

The only good thing was the location - close to Museumplein, Bagels & Beans (where we had breakfast) and the old town. That was the main reason for booking this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I travel to Amsterdam every September and have stayed in quite a few of the 'budget' hotels and generally they are quite good. This was apparently 3 star. The reception was a 3 star and so was the bar and garden that NEVER open. When we arrived the miserable receptionist just look at us, we informed her who we was and demanded that we pay for our stay on arrival. This WASN'T on the website. I generally like to pay when I leave. Anyway, we went up to the room which was a twin when we requested double, the room smelt of damp, the bathroom was not clean(smelt of sewers and damp). Stain on the carpet which looked 'dubious'. The next morning we asked for a different room as we DID ask for a double, the same receptionist refused. I asked to see the manager and she changed rooms for us. However the stay was tarnished by now and we willneverstay there again. False, Rude and downright horrible attitude-room was dated and probably last decorated in the early 90's-NO WAY a 3 star. Sorry but was rubbish!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go unless desperate Terrible Service Rude staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Free WiFi. Hot water. The only two good things about this hotel. Location not terribly convenient to most of the sights of Amsterdam. Service by everyone was surly. They sat at the computer and were aggravated if you asked them anything. We asked for a nearly place for lunch and were sent off in the wrong direction plus they had no suggestions for a place to grab a quick bite. Not terribly clean, bathroom light didn't work, broken strip on the floor that we fell over constantly until we removed it entirely, no instructions or house rules anywhere. Asking for ice brought a laugh - no ice in the entire hotel. The staff appeared to be all young, female college students simply passing the time. Security appeared non existent despite several cameras. We arrived early for check in and had to haul our luggage to a hallway closet and then to our rooms; no one offered help despite several older women in our group. Gave us the key to the storage area and told us to do it ourselves. Would not provide two room keys. Were told breakfast hours but not advised there was a 10 euro fee. The breakfast was worth about 3 euro at best. If you are looking for a hotel in Amsterdam so yourself a favor and find something else. This place was simply awful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandbridgeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#233 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#188 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#236 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Property: Hotel Blyss
Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing