We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the lovely reception pictures”
Review of Hotel Blyss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
Ranked #330 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the lovely reception pictures”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed in the Blyss hotel for 5 nights (alas!), as part of a group of colleagues attending a conference in the city. Almost all of us had issues with our rooms. One person had dirty bedding on check-in, another person's booking was lost etc. I also saw other guests complain at reception after they had checked into their rooms.

The investment in the hotel has been made in the reception and bar area which looks stylish and contemporary but once you go to the corridors with the rooms, you see a much shabbier view of the hotel.

I had room 208, which has nice views on the street, but which stank of mould - the walls behind the curtains were flaking with mould and the top of the windows were speckled black with mould. The sash windows would not stay open so I had to prop them open with the bin. My clothes smelled horrible - as soon as I got home, everything had to be washed or dry-cleaned.

I felt very sorry for the lovely helpful lady on reception (she helped call taxis and find restaurants for us) - she is better than the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckytravellerCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    114
    87
    127
See reviews for
67
109
66
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here from 4-6 October. The website gave an excellent impression of the hotel but the reality was somewhat different. Pleasant reception and staircase leading to hostel style corridors and rooms. Once in the room the walls were grubby, everything looked very tatty and the bathroom could be described as basic at best.
There was significant noise all night from other rooms which was resolved once I'd managed to get hold of the night porter at 04:00 after 15 mins of calling reception.
Never again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed her from 23/9 - 25/9 2011 for 2 nights. The hotel on the website looks fab, we couldnt wait to arrive and get settled into our room. The hotel lobby was lovely with a big chandelier and loud wallpaper........but our hotel room was discraceful. We were put in the cellar with a small bathroom which was dark, dull and miserable. We could here everything as the windows were on the outside path level. We paid over 400euros for the 2 nights. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The location however is great....just 5 mins walk to next town and then another 5mins walk to dam square......Ann Frank museum is a must, very emotional but well worth the money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ema340x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

...i could not wait to leave out of here to write the review....The pictures of the website are VERY misleading.The hotel is called a boutique hotel and its so not a boutique, its antuque and not in a good sense. The rooms look nothing like the reception area. I stayed 3 nights and the sheets have not been changed once..i know because i had dropped some make up on the first day and i am still here with the same sheets. This makes me wonder if the sheets have been changed prior to my arrival. The curtains have probably not been washed for years because they have brown stains on them....i wish i could post real pictures of the rooms ... oh i think i can and i will. When i asked for conditioner for the hair...i was told to use the shower gel ... "that is conditioner" i was told...as though i cant read. The tv was probably from 1970 and so small with volume that i could only hear if was very very close to it...but ok i'll let that slide cuz i wasnt watching tv in amsterdam; however........
I believe these are the basics of a good running hotel. Not worth the amount paid at all.
The only good thing about it..is the staff are very friendly and very nice. I guess they have to compensate for the rest of the travesty.
I understand everyone needs to work and make money, and if you want to be a hotel owner, then charge the right price and dont mislead people. Some people maybe ok with this kind of a hotel for a right price of no more than a 30 euros per night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Blyss for a few nights, and it was pretty average. Here's a breakdown:

The good:
-The room that I stayed in was fairly spacious, but the room itself and the decor was dark.
-The room and bathroom were pretty clean.
-Free Wi-Fi internet access is provided
-Vondelpark is walking distance from the hotel and is a definite must-see.
-The Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum is also within a reasonable walking distance from the hotel.

The not-so-good:
-The location of the hotel is on the outskirts of the central area in Amsterdam, fortunately the line 1 tram passes by fairly frequently.
-There aren't isn't a lot of activity within the immediate vicinity of the hotel, e.g. good restaurants, cafes or grocery stores.
-For the cost of the room, Hotel Blyss wasn't worth the price.

One thing I would recommend when staying in Amsterdam is to book hotels well in advance. Unlike some other major European metropolitans, there seems to be limited inventory in Amsterdam so all of the well-located hotels get booked up really fast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blustar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

the staff were really helpful, polite and welcoming, wish i had booked a longer stay, the rooms are to a good standard, everything you need is a short walk away, and its fairly quiet, i would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: try get a room above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

So, we've spent 4 days here.

Location - Quiet area, 1 tram station from Leidseplein, 5 from Centraal Station; supermarket nearby; 5 min walk to Leidseplein, 10 min walk to shopping area, 15-20 to Dam Square, 25 to RLD, 10 min to Heineken Experience
Room 017 - 4 beds room, ground floor - accesibility to inner garden, really spacious, bathtube & shower in the bathroom; plasma screen
Breakfast - normal, enough to start the day
Staff - great, really helpful & kind

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emy77emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#239 of 367 in Amsterdam
696 reviews
Hotel Europa'92
#186 of 367 in Amsterdam
655 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
538 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#221 of 367 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Property: Hotel Blyss
Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing