We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Find in Amsterdam”
Review of Trattoria Fantasia

Trattoria Fantasia
Reserve with
Trattoria Fantasia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #570 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Mexico
Level Contributor
494 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Happy Find in Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Amsterdam is chock-a-block with restaurants of all stripes, many of which are not very good representatives of their cuisines, and the noise level can be pretty high. We chanced upon the Trattoria Fantasia because it was very close to our little hotel, but not part of the restaurant streets surrounding the Leidesplein. It's easy to overlook!

The food was excellent. I had the daily special of heart-shaped ravioli with shrimp and mini-zucchini, most enjoyable, and my dining partner the seafood risotto. The waiter, a charming man from Turkey, was attentive and helpful when needed. The room was quiet and we were able to converse! If we visit Amsterdam again this will definitely be on our list.

Note - the restaurant did not appear to be air-conditioned, which could be an issue on a hot day, fortunately rare in Amsterdam!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    108
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Better than theatre on the other side of the street”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you find yourself there (as we did) in the afternoons it might be full of well dressed people having dinner before going to see musical or popular theatre. Environment is a bit heavy, with a lot of weighty furniture, but if you are sitting close to a window you might feel a bit less buried into it.
Scampi risotto was very soft, milky and nutty, very good all in all. Sugo in penne all'arrabbiata was a bit too thick and sticky and green chili slices made it a bit unconvincing.
Fantasia's tuna salad should overcome the "straight form can" image and get more of self-expression.
Personnel is very attentive and dynamic which gives a bit of liveness to the total wood-and-leather feeling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guntheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A quiet meal in a noisy area”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just across from the side door of the theatre and a half block from the busy Leidsplein square.. almost didn't go in because it was not at street level but up a flight of stairs .. so no way of peeking in first.. But once up there it was a clean, modern room (with a marvelous resident cat).. We were looking for a late lunch.. it was 3pm...the room was empty except for one couple just leaving.. so atmosphere was a bit lacking..at proper meal times it probably buzzes. The service was prompt and friendly. We had a huge pizza each and shared a melon and ham starter.. Price was reasonable. I considered it a real find given the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inexpensive dinner ”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i have been trying hard to find good food without spending a fortune. This place is close to the busy Leidsplein square and was a good find. We were seated right away with friendly service. We each had a beer and a pizza which was bigger than we anticipated, about 10 inches, for 26 eur. Pastas were about 14 eur each. A good filling meal at a good price

Helpful?
Thank angiejean01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visitied this restaurant on a Saturday night with 11 friends on a visit to Amsterdam. We could not fault the food or the price. The waiters were very attentitive and service was quick.

My only problem was the cat that was roaming around the restaurant. I found this to be really unhygienic while guests are eating. I made the waiter aware of the fact so that cat was taken out only to return a few minutes later when it was allowed to further roam betweem diners feet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jg272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fantasia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Trattoria Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing