We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Hotel for a short stay in amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #211 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
louth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a short stay in amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nites and loved every minute of it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We got smoking room which seems to be hard to find in amsterdam. The location cant get much better its just off Dam Square and a 5 min walk to centeral station. This will be the first hotel i price on my next trip to Amsterdam. Great Find.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sparmac:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. It is true that smoking rooms are becoming more difficult to find in the city. We are glad that we are still able to accommodate smokers. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. Be sure to let us know in advance as we have only a limited number of smoking rooms. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    155
    107
    41
    31
See reviews for
47
150
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very easy to get to from the train station and is in a great location. Rooms (especially bathrooms) are small but you will pay less than other hotels in Amsterdam anyhow, plus get free WiFi. The hotel staff is friendly and checking in and out was very fast and easy.

If a free breakfast is something you are looking for, it is not included here but there a ton of places nearby to eat (and cafes for coffee as well). There is no elevator here but it did not give us much of a problem. The walls are quite thin though, and you can here people coming and going a lot, but otherwise the outside noise did not interfere with sleeping. My only concern was that the room smelled slightly musty and the carpets (particularly in the corners of the room) were dirty. Otherwise, if you are traveling in Amsterdam for just a night or two, and don't plan on spending a bunch of time in your room, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage perhaps try to get a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear STrojan:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your recommending us based on our reasonable price for an excellent central location with free WIFI. We are also happy to hear that you liked the easy check in and check out of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. We are pleased to inform you that this winter we will be renovating rooms with new carpet and bathrooms. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Amsterdam. Let us know in advance so that we can see to it that your room preferences are given top priority as a returning guest. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

firstly the staff were brilliant, nothing was too much to ask.
room was clean and tidy with a good view of one of the restaurant strips in dam square.

only a couple slight problems, i arrived at the hotel at about 3pm and was asked to come back 30 minutes later due to shortage of staff, no problem. i came back and was told room was still not ready so not the best start but the staff were so helpful it made up for this fact.

the other slight problem was i had to pay for my coffee on the second morning (id understand if it was middle of the day but in the morning i do expect a coffee included in the room price)

besides these few issues it was a lovely stay at a lovely hotel with very attentive and happy staff....would happily stay here again and recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: room 10 (abit small but suitable for 2 maybe 3 people with lovely fews of one of the main streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear RobertP.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Our receptionists do enjoy their role in hospitality and appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your view and our cozy shopping street off of the Dam. It was unfortunate that on your day of arrival we were a bit short staffed in the housekeeping and your check in was not available at the target time and for that we do apologize. One of the perks of booking directly with us is that the coffee and tea are free of charge. We hope to see you again and ask that you contact us directly so that we can make certain that as a returning guest you are given priority in your room preferences and offer you that cup of coffee on the house at least! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Me and my two friends really enjoyed the stay here, I would of gave a higher score but the last day we all came out in red stops my mate had a squashed dead bed bug beside one of her bites. At the time we thought they was only mosquito bites but then when we got back home our bodies had been infested with bed bug bites. So I suggest room 21 gets a proper clean out. And if it was bed bug free I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Demsb:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. With allegations as serious as this, we hope that the guest would either inform the front desk during their stay or immediately inform us directly upon arrival home. We would like to assure you that we are taking your complaint seriously. We have the appropriate professionals investigating this matter further. Should such a problem be confirmed it will be handled by the appropriate professionals until it is fully resolved before we allow other guests in the room. We thank you for your information and hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed there many many years. real friendly staff. i've been coming back since 2007. i've became good friend with the management (Timo & Lisa).
nice location in dam square, near Amsterdam central station, flower market and flea market. lots of cafe's, resturants and coffee shops nearby.
prices are fair for such a prime location in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aziz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Aziz S:
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel! We are happy that you appreciate the central location of our hotel and its proximity to all of the sites and attractions of Amsterdam. Our entire staff takes great pride in their work in hospitality and customers like YOU make it so much more fun and rewarding. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Amsterdam! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Brilliant little hotel, rooms are small but its fine for 2 people. Smoking room was a good idea, and would ask for room 57 again. 2 negative things the stairs were a nightmare ( for the mrs) and wifi dropped in and out. But overall very very happy with the hotel for overall price cleaness and excellent mannor of the staff. Will definatly come back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Bullen13:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we were able to offer you a smoking room. We are also pleased to inform you that we have resolved the WIFI situation and the signal is strong in all of the rooms now. Please contact us directly the next time you are planning on visiting Amsterdam - as a returning guest we can see to it that your room preferences are given top priority. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was absolutely filthy. There was no hot water, there was no soap, there were no towels, there were dishes left by previous occupants and the room was filthy. The stairs were steep and narrow and the wifi barely reaches the top floor. I arrived late because of Tuesday's storm, lost my reservation elsewhere and was fooled by the rather fancy door of the Hotel der Gerstekorrel. I didn't realise how bad it was until the morning. The receptionist said that the hot water was being repaired but she didn't seem to believe any of my other complaints and refused to look at the pictures I had taken. If I didn't have a Dutch dictionary I would think that Gerstekorrel meant 'germs" or 'bacteria". My picture of the most exposed corner of the room shows the levels of hygiene in this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the hotel you originally booked did not have your room available when you arrived late in the night. It seems that the same storm that made you late for your original hotel also knocked the power out in one of our buildings preventing you from having hot water. Fortunately we were able to get that repaired early the same day. All guests affected by the outage were offered hot showers in our main building, which was not affected. We apologize that this offer was not acceptable to you.
We thank you for noticing our excellent location and giving us an excellent mark there. However this central location also means the classic narrow architecture, which can include a steep staircase such as the staircase you photographed in our annex building. Many of our guests find this to be charming, as it is indicative of the authentic Amsterdam World Heritage Site.
We do supply towels and soap to all of the rooms. We are not certain why you were unable to locate these items, as we were able to confirm that these items were in your room during your stay. It is unfortunate that the breakfast tray was left in your room and we do apologize for the mistake in housekeeping. Although it is unacceptable we are fairly certain that given the intensity and danger of the windstorm earlier in that same day our housekeepers were a bit rattled by it is as well and this resulted in the unfortunate mistake. The extreme close up photo that you have taken of one of the corners of the room shows a bit of insulation from a recent repair to the wall and that has now been completed. We apologize that you were in the room prior to the repair being painted.
If you do decide to visit Amsterdam again we hope that the weather is more cooperative. We also hope you will give us another try, and if you do, we kindly ask that you contact us directly as all of our returning guests are given priority in their room type preference. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#196 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#283 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#177 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing