We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Nearby Hotels
$247
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$353
$274
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$437
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$290
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$204
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
128
185
122
49
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
185
122
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftdam squarered light districtcentral locationgreat locationsteep stairsdoor stepfriendly receptionluggage roomthird floorstreet noisecontinental breakfastbeds were very comfortablewet roomtop floornoisy at nightstaying at this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 519 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel The day we arrived was very hot and there was no air con & only 1 narrow window could be opened. All we had to cool down was a small fan. The room is very basic. The bathroom was very small. We had a front room on the 2nd floor over the weekend & it was so noisy that we couldn't leave the window opened. I even had to use my ear plugs. There is no lift. Having said all that, the location was perfect and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liesarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Iiesarose:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to see that you were very happy with the location of our hotel and that our staff in reception was pleasant and helpful. As you noted, the advantage is that the hotel is central to all of the sites and attractions in Amsterdam. On the other hand, being so centrally located can also mean that during the height of summer the festivities can be a bit noisy. As you correctly recommended to readers of your review this can be remedied by having a room in the back of the hotel. We were not able to ascertain whether or not you made your discomfort known to the front desk but it does sometimes happen that when a guest arrives on a fully booked weekend there is no ability to move them to another room. It is for this reason that all special requests should be noted on the reservation itself as we always try to honor our guest’s requests for room preferences. As a two star hotel, our central location and classic Amsterdam architecture does have an influence on the size of our bathrooms. This summer was an unusually hot summer for the Netherlands. We are sorry that the noise prevented you from leaving the window open for cooler air during the night. We hope that you will visit us again. Let us know in advance for discounts and special offers that might apply and we can make certain that your family is located in the back side of the hotel where it is quieter so that even if you do arrive during a heat wave you will be able to open the windows all of the way for cooler air! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

So My first visit to the property was the summer of 1999 and went back there in Dec of 2001 with a friend.I usually stay here whenever I visit Amsterdam as quite frankly you can not beat the location.It is next door to a kebab place which is out of the world and a 10 minute walk from the station. The rooms are quite basic,you will get a good nights sleep.I was woken up one time at 1 am by the receptionist as they had some problems with my credit card and I was supposed to check out at 6 am.To make a long story short he got an earful but to his credit he did apologize. I remember in 1999 they had a small breakfast area where they served breakfast .During my last trip i noticed they do not have that any more..I would recommend it just for the location..It is just excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Ronnie1979:
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy to see that you love our central location and have visited with us a few times. We would like to apologize for the late night phone call from reception (especially with such an early checkout) regarding the problems with your credit card. Being so centrally located in an international city dictates that we are vigilant about details such as payment and or correct credit card details prior to a guest checking out. However, we are very sorry that you, as a returning guest, were inconvenienced with this policy. As you correctly noted we now have “room service” breakfast. We find that most customers like the added luxury of having breakfast delivered directly to their room at the time that the guest specifies. With the breakfast area and small buffet a lot of food went to waste as there was no way of knowing precisely how many people wanted breakfast and or would wake up in time to come down to the breakfast area. In order to help our environment and to conserve, room service breakfast has been our solution. We hope that you will continue to stay with us in future visits to Amsterdam and try our “breakfast in bed”. We promise that in your next visit we will have all of your credit card/payment details worked out long before you decide to go to sleep for the night. Let us know in advance of your next arrival to Amsterdam so that we can make certain that you get all discounts available to you as a returning customer and first room choice. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was great for what we needed. Central location, very helpful and polite staff. Yes its not a 5 star luxury hotel but as somewhere to change and sleep it was perfect. Some of the reviews have been very unfair. Our room was immaculate and rather large. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrLittleElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Graeme F:
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed Amsterdam to the fullest and that our central location helped with that. We hope that you will visit with us again soon and let us know in advance so that we can make certain you have the room you prefer and are privy to any special offers we may have. Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this Hotel via Tripadvisor & certainly wasn't disappointed with my choice. It is situated fairly central & only 15 mins walk from the train station. It is located on a relatively busy street but the noise wasn't a problem. It was nice late in the evening to sit outside one of the pubs in the street just watching the world go by (under a heater!). The reception staff in the Hotel were very efficient & friendly. Our room (15) was a decent size & included a very small but functional shower & toilet room. The room was a little dated but clean & tidy which is what was important to me. From our Hotel we were able to walk to all the main attractions with plenty of restaurants & bars around about us too. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I would opt for this Hotel (unless I win the lottery!) as the location is excellent and it provides great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingsabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Jingsabove:
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed "watching the world go by" on our cozy little block in the center of Amsterdam. We hope that even if you do win the lottery you will still stop by to say hello! If not, we hope that you will consider us your home away from home and book with us again soon. Returning guests' preferences are given top priority. Be certain to check with us before booking to see if discounts are available. Best regards, the Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you're staying in Amsterdam & want the perfect location then I highly recommend this hotel. It is based in busy city centre right beside dam square & the red light district. Myself & boyfriend stayed & got a double room....it was very clean with bathroom & the size was big enough. The bed was very comfy, for us anyway. The hotel is 2 separate buildings. breakfast has to be ordered & eaten in yor room as there isn't a dining area but this suited us fine as there are plenty of places to eat on your door step. If you're a smoker you can request a smoking room. Our room was at the back no 52 so didn't hear a thing from the busy street but brought ear plugs just incase as we did expect noise with this location. The staff are very friendly & polite & you can purchase/borrow items like hair dryers, toiletries etc in case you forget to bring your own. I read in a few of the reviews about the stairs being very steep.....this is to be expected as most buildings in Amsterdam have steep small stairs so it is unfair that some people mark this hotel down because of that.
We will be definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerriann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Kerriann B:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our classic Amsterdam architecture and that your experience overall in Amsterdam was enjoyable. Let us know when you are planning to visit us again so that as a returning guest your room preferences can be given top priority! Hope to see you soon! Best regards from the Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews