We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Value for money. And Top Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #219 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value for money. And Top Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

November 2012
5th time in Amsterdam. Party of 3.
Clean tidy room. Helpful friendly staff.
By far the best value for money hotel i've stayed in in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.
Seconds away from Dam Square. Close to RLD & Rembrandt Square too.

Room Tip: Be specific before you arrive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    142
    99
    38
    30
See reviews for
44
135
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was very small with double bed, no space for bags. My flight arrived early and requested early check in. Staff made it happen but had to wait outside since they do not have a lobby. All shops and resturants were closed since it was 6am. Had to walk out in cold and make up time to check in at 11am. Location was perfect, not happy about walking up two floors with bags. Room looks nothing like picture, its actually old, bed was old.

Room Tip: always check if lobby and lift is available in hotel before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing bad to say everything was good/great very central, ccomfortable beds, helpful reception staff, quiet inside concidering it's busy location, only about 10mins walk from central station, hot shower

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

the location of the hotel is superb, the staff were warm, helpfull & kind. even though the rooms are very small, the room is clean, very comfortable bed ,we will gladly stay there again . We mostly appreciate Lisa and all the other staff members for their hospitalitty and wiiling ness to solve problems on the spot .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank evi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here last weekend, saturday-tuesday. We didn't have very high hopes for this place as it was super cheap and some of the reviews on here weren't good but we were very pleasantly surprised!

The hotel itself is on Daam Street which is as you may guess right off dam square. It is the perfect location !! We walked from centraal station and it took us maybe 10 minutes.

We booked a double room en suite in the smoking section. The receptionist lead us to a separate entrance (4 doors down or so) into the smoking building. Our room was very basic but more than we were expecting. Clean, tidy and a little tv with a few good channels. It was comedy centrals family guy weekend so that suited us just perfectly! The other obvious benefit was that our room was indeed a smoking room which is becoming very hard to find in central amsterdam especially for this great price! We also had asked for a quiet room and this was the case when we went to bed. Brilliant sleep every night.

The location really did seal the deal for us though and when we go back we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

There are hairdryers at reception, you just ask and can borrow them. The hotel sells some things like adapters and tooth paste etc but these are all cheaper at the surrounding supermarkets.

Must try chipsy kings chips with garlic mayo and you see a lot of places selling pizza but the New Yorker pizza downstairs from the hotel is the best!

Room Tip: Smoking room was perfect, we also asked for a quiet room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeezychanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great hotel in terms of location, right in Dam Square, walkable to red light district and cafes/restaurants. Only a tram ride away from Van Gough and Remembrandt Sq.
Please note this hotel asks you for a 50euro cash deposit per room when you arrive which they will give back when you checkout. There is also a small tourist tax charge not covered in your original payment. You can swap the euros for pounds which is what we had to do as we didn't anticipate the surcharge!
The rooms are small but clean and perfect for a few days. The bathroom is very cramped. There is free wifi available just ask reception. Bring your own toileteries etc as the hotel charges for every little thing.

Room Tip: The whole hotel has very thin walls so you will hear everything on your floor regardless of which fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mshah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have Stayed here with of friends in end of November 2012. The room has a great location, comfortable, and affordable. We had done the booking though booking.com and was really worth the money that we spent.
The location of the hotel is just un-beatable, just a stone throw away from the Dam square and all the market places and important tourism spots like Madam Tussads etc
. We were all new to the city and the staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The one complaint is that the rooms can get pretty hot at night and since we were on the street, opening the window wasn't an option if you wanted to sleep-in in the morning. Overall the hotel was great and I would recommend it to my friends.
Also the rooms need to be decorated better.
But overall a good hotel to stay

Room Tip: Good experience overall and value for money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwanikx36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#266 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#173 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing