We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, right by dam square.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, right by dam square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location, right by Dam Square and only a few doors down from Chipsy King. Would recommend Chipsy King, try the Chipsy dog with mayo... Fantastic, it is the the double frying that really creates the great taste. The hotel is really good value, very clean and spacious for the four of us. Walking distance from a lot of attractions; sex museum, Anne frank and red light district. Facilities were great and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine-Janex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It all depends what type of traveler are you: if you are in a group of boys, maybe this hotel would be OK. But if you are a family, girls or you are traveling alone, just please, take another hotel. The price is really high and I'm pretty sure you can get a nicer hotel, in a nicer place, with this money. It's really close to the Red Light District, that means it's REALLY loud at night - shouts, drunks, and that sort of thing - and you just can't go out on the streets after 9PM, 'cause it will be ONLY perverted men and drug dealing everywhere. I've only saw boys in the hotel, including shouting and banging doors in the middle of the night. They don't have room service and a stairway to hell that's almost a climbing will be waiting for you to go up and down. They also separate the building in two: one for non-smoking and another for smoking. But the reception is only on the non-smoking building, so if you need something at night, you'll have to show up for the pervs. You also have to pay for the breakfast and it is too simple for the price. Better to go downstairs and ask for a croissant at the bakery next door.

Although, the bed was really comfortable, they have a nice shower and friendly staff. But I just don't think that will cover up all that I just said. Choose a hotel further from Dam Square and stay okay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top of the building - at least in the non-smoking building - have nicer bathrooms. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beamish, england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked a DFDS mini cruise and opted for one night in amsterdam with my dad. stayed at this hotel. It was clean, was extremely central with no noise at all. the stairs were very steep but this is the case with everywhere in amsterdam. The breakfast was a bit basic, cuppa bread roll and some gouda but for price was spot on. Would go again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with a couple of friends in early July. The room was in a great location, comfortable, and affordable. Compared with the other options in our price range this was a home run. We were all new to the city and the staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The one complaint is that the rooms can get pretty hot at night and since we were on the street, opening the window wasn't an option if you wanted to sleep-in in the morning. Overall the hotel was great and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjg3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are really happy to hear that you liked your stay in Hotel de Gerstekorrel! Regarding the windows - Good news is that we have just renovated the windows and now they can be opened totally. Even during the nice and hot summer days it should be not too warm in the room anymore.
Unfortunately for the noise from the streets in the center we can not do anything.... sorry....
Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for long weekend. We did not book in advance, we turned up ourselves and booked a double room for 3 nights stay. This hotel is situated in the heart of everything which is on your doorstep. We could have opted for breakfast to be served in our room but we chose to eat out. Fantastic place to stay. We will be coming back again and we would stay here again as we were delighted overall with everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allcloggedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel through Dfds for our anniversary break. Perfect location very comfortable beds. Our room overlooked the street below so was fairly noisy. Shower/toilet was very small. Pleasant staff and nice breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing