We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location, Basic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #219 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Location, Basic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you are looking for a low budget hotel this is your place. the location is central to damstraat so you are in the middle of everything. I am a frequent Amsterdam visitor and although the rooms were small they were clean and wireless worked well. Front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. It is on a busy street so it can be noisy at night but we were on the top floor and heard nothing. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    151
    104
    40
    31
See reviews for
47
143
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Hotel De Gerstekorrel is literally two minutes away from dam square and therefore in a prime location. On three different stays i've had three different rooms each one being as spacious and clean as the last. The noise from the street below can be an issue however it is only what is to be expected from a hotel in a built up, sleepless city.

The rooms have a hairdryer and TV with a good selection of channels as standard along with other amenities such as kettle, tea and coffee. Also the complimentary continental breakfast is a nice touch which is brought to your room in the morning on a time that you specify to the staff during check-in. The staff are happy to help you with any queries you have and also snacks and drinks can be purchased from the reception 24 hours.

One note is that the building does not have a lift and Amsterdam is notorious for its big steep staircases, so if you happen to be on a higher floor expect to burn some calories.

This hotel is definitely a hidden gem for its location and great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deansmith333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I travelled here with my boyfriend Sunday-Thursday 13th-17th February 2011 and have to say how brilliant it was. As I am a student we don't have masses of spare money, but we spent quite a while working out what hotel to stay in when in Amsterdam.
Do not be put off that it is classed as "red light district" as it really isn't, it is right next to Madam Tussauds and by loads of shops, there are no coffee shops/ women in windows directly nearby, just a few restaurants which leads down to the red light district.

When we arrived in Schipol (Amsterdams airport) we had already worked out that we could take the train into Amsterdam as a cheaper option than a taxi. We got the train which I believe was 4 euro each. When we arrived in Amsterdam it is literally just a straight line down past loads of shops and restaurants towards the hotel. We also walked to the train station when it was time to go home, the walk takes no longer than 20 minutes. Just follow the tram lines.

The hotel itself could not be in a better location - close enough to stagger back from if you've had one too many (!) but far away enough to not be in the middle of the red light district. Even though there is a lot of hustle and bustle on the street it is on, our room was completely silent and could catch an excellent nights sleep!

The receptionists were lovely and you have no curfew as to when you can come in, there is someone on reception 24 hours also.

The beds are extremely comfy memory foam very hard to get out of!
Bathroom a little small but what do you want from a budget hotel.
The only thing I would say is there is no lift - bit hard being on the 4th floor, but you soon get used to it.

All in all we LOVED this hotel and couldn't of asked for anywhere better! Definitely would recommend, and would definitely go back! PS you MUST try the chip place a few shops to the right of the Gerstekorrel. DELICIOUS!!! especially after smoking a bit ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeHale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

After lots of looking and wanting a hotel close to everything, I happened upon Hotel De Gerstekorrel. Close to Central Station, Red Light District, Dam Square and public transportation. Rooms are small but very clean. Bathroom was adequate, just make sue you have an extra towel to put on the floor when you shower. No bath amenities except for soap, so bring shampoo, etc, front desk has blow dryers. Beds I found to be quite comfy and lots of pillows. TV has local channels and was adequate for late night snooze watching. If possible get a back room as front street rooms could be noisy, recommend ear plugs in warmet weather if you want window open. Front desk staff, especially Lisa, were friendly, both before our stay and during, good e-mail correspondence answering our questions. We were concerned about no elevator and using stairs, but unlike some other reviews we found stairs to be okay. Not narrow and steep like other hotels we reviewed. all in all I would highly recommend Hotel De Gerstekorrel for location, value and cleanliness!!

Room Tip: A little GEM in the Heart of It ALL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathieaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

This little hotel is located just 3 mins from Dam Square and about 5 mins from the Red Light District! My friends and I loved its central location, staff and the extremely comfortable beds. We had a 1 triple and 1 twin room, both with ensuite washrooms that were simple, but functional. The hotel was a bit noisy in the evenings, due to being located in the heart of the city, but the location was worth a bit of noise. There is no elevator or lounge, but it was a great little place that I would revisit if I am in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannurse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

my wife and i had a blast in amsterdam. we rented bicycles and rode around everywhere. what a great city. hotel is right in the middle of everything. definitely not a luxury hotel. no elevator, but we needed to work off the calories somehow! not really a good hotel for romance though. i think if you're working with a tight budget, and you can tolerate low level accomodations, then this place should be fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlesturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed five nights in this Hotel in April 2011. The Hotel is situated very central, just two minutes from dam square in one and another two minutes from the redlight-district in the opposite direction.
The rooms are quite small and without any luxury, just as you'd expect from a **-Hotel. However, to my understanding, a classification of two stars justifies a lower level of provided services. It does certainly not mean a two-star-hotel does not have to be clean, and that's exactly what the Gerstekorrel isn't.
We got a room in the seperate part of the Hotel, of which the entrance is a couple of doors down the street. Allready when entering the stairs, you encounter a stench consisting of cleaning essences, cannabis-fumes, smoke and vomit. Although the hotel is officially smoke-free, also in the rooms there is a permanent smell of tobacco and marihuana-smoke. The hotel management does not seem to be interested in insisting on these rules...
Our room was made very poorly, no vacum cleaning during the whole five days, just the bed has been made and the rubish been emptied. The carpet made a very disgusting impression. One day, despite we left the room before 9:30am, when returning at night we noticed the room had not been made up at all.
Last but not least, the walls are not sound-proof at all. Sleeping without earplugs is nearly impossible, but we expected that due to the location of the hotel, so this point was no bad surprise.
However, the fact that the hotel charges arround 200.00 EUR a night for its "services" made it one of the worst value hotels we've ever encountered. Thatfor, despite the very central location, we dissuade anybody from staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernWaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable.
I can tell you that the carpet has just been changed at the entrance of the hotel.
The rooms in dependance building are smoking rooms but obviously smoking marihuana is not allowed. Unfortunately it is very difficult to control that but we definately control it.
All the stay rooms are being cleaned daily and the linen will be changed according the Green Key rules ( enviromental guide lines ). I am sorry if your room was not cleaned well during your stay. I hope you did inform our reception about it?
It seems that you paid too much of the room since € 200 is not our price for a room. How did you book the room?
I hope we can welcome you another time to our hotel and I am sure we could give you a better impression of the hotel and the rooms.
With best regards, Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing