We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Looier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was small with a sewerage smell emanating from the corner. Very hot so had to have window wide open with fan on. The price was a bit exy for what we got. Staff were ok.
Bed was comfy. Pretty good area - not right in town but that's ok since it was a bit quieter / not far to walk / things still around.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freedy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    78
    97
    44
    41
See reviews for
42
102
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel with basic facilities.....however it served a purpose...
Stayed here for 3 nights and have to say was sort of difficult to find at first but walkable from the Central Station.
We were three staying in one room which was ok ish.
Breakfast was included which was ok. The staff were grumpy with the exception of cleaners, breakfast attendant and night reception (think that kind of narrows it down!!)
However.... When booking I did look at more up market hotels at a similar price and have to say that this hotel was great in terms of location .... Might have saved the blisters on my feet if it had been a little less convenient !!
Overall enjoyed my stay but in fairness didn't spend much time in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel, which is located away from the main tourist areas. It is a good 5 minute walk from the Central Station. The advantage of this is that the hotel is positioned in a quiet area so a good night sleep is guaranteed.

The room was of a decent size, with comfortable beds and a small desk. The bathroom had a decent shower with no bath. Not a problem for me!!

The breakfast was adequate - cereals, fruit and other continental offerings.

Not the best hotel I have stayed in Amsterdam, but more than adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Night and day
We arrived about 2100 and was allocated room 22 on the second floor? No it was ground floor. The room was facing rear window looking onto black reguse bags, tiled floor with broken one with sharp edges, shelfs needed wipe of dust, and pillows badly stained. Not what we paid for and nothing like what was on their web page!
Moved to room 242 should have been at first. Hotel located in nice area easy to walk to all places. Breakfast bar was served by very friendly staff, and comprised of cold meats, cheese, cereal, boiled and scrambled eggs, bread croissants with good coffee out of a machine etc. Disappointing not as good as hotels from past stays in Amsterdam. Note hotel does not provide wash hand basin plugs and does not have a locked secure storage.

Room Tip: Not ground floor!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RINSO84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Kingsday weekend and it was perfect for a long weekend with friends. the room was quite spacious and didnt feel cramped at all with 3 of us in there. bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was powerful.

the best thing about this hotel is the location - so close to everything. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Located quite far from the central, about 20-30 minutes walk (if you are not lost !), but you can get on Tram No 17 to Amsterdam Central Station. Tram Station is just a few steps away.

The trade-off is it is located at a quiet neighborhood and near to the canals (view is stunning !).

Booked a double room but was upgraded to a triple room upon check-in. (Triple room was not available when we did the online booking). Very happy with that as we traveled with 3 young kids.

Room was quite spacious as we have plenty of room to walk even with 2 super huge luggage. The only thing was the lighting in the room was poor. We hardly see things in the wardrobe because it was dark in the room.

Breakfast was not included in our rate but we tried their breakfast for just one morning. It was okay but you can get better options if you are willing to walk a bit.

My tip for those with limited time in Amsterdam is to get hotel near the Central Station. Go for Double Tree by Hilton, Ibis or Crowne Plaza (next to Little Istanbul, a halal restaurant).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiraRasyidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel was difficult to find but once it was tracked down the location was quite good, handy for trams and local bars. The welcome was pleasant and luckily I had a top floor room with some views over the roof tops. The rooms were modestly appointed but were quite clean. The duvets were excellent! But as can be expected from a hotel of this price and rating the noise from the corridors and adjacent rooms was quite loud. The continental breakfast was served in a nice bright dining room and was good. Wifi adequate.
Overall a good 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 3rd floor, much brighter and I suspect quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euston33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#133 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#272 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#116 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#67 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Property: Hotel De Looier
Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing