We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No airco - a lot of noise at the front side of the hotel”
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #66 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No airco - a lot of noise at the front side of the hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Friendly personel, toplocation, but keep in mind that there is no airconditioning in this hotel. As soon as the outside temperature exceeds 20 degrees celcius, it becomes unpleasantly hot in the rooms. The ventilator that is provided in each room helps, but does not solve the problem. During the first night, we had to stay in a room at the front of the hotel. The noise was so loud that we could not keep the windows open when sleeping, thus increasing the problem with the heath. So bottom line: I will not come here again during the summer. All the design in the world cannot compensate for the basic need of having a cool room that allows for a decent night of sleep.

Vriendelijk personeel, toplocatie, maar hou er rekening mee dat er geen airco is in dit hotel. Van zodra dat het buiten meer dan 20 graden is, wordt het in de kamers onaangenaam warm. De ventilator die in de kamer staat helpt, maar het blijft onaangenaam. Eerst hadden we

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The rooms are smaller but the noise is MUCH less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on this website!

I am sorry to read that you did not have the best night of sleep due to the heat and street noise. Unfortunately the location in the heart of Amsterdam comes with the sounds of the city, meaning traffic and (party)people. Nevertheless, I hope that you would like to give the Albus a second chance in winter and I hope to welcome you back in a warm and comfy room then!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    693
    220
    71
    39
See reviews for
247
910
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Albus in one of their one bedroom apartments. We were absolutely delighted! Everything was of course quite small but it was equipped with everything we needed including silverware, dishes, microwave, washer and dryer. Our only regret was not staying longer. The location was convenient and was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Stay in one of their apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likes2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments on our apartment. We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay in Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff was extremely helpful, location is great and the atmosphere is definatly upscale. The room is a little small to the American taste, but based on other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam, the room size is typical. The elevator was greatly appreciated as some other hotels in this price range require a climb to your room up very steep steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments on our staff and atmosphere.

I hope to welcome you back soon for another blissful stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Hotel has a superb location in the heart of Amsterdam. You get a voucher for complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Service is excellent with a very friendly staff who remind you of service in a five star hotel. Their suites are spacious and the hotel is well kept and very clean. Toiletries in the rooms are nice and good quality.

Unfortunately the rooms have no air conditioning and depending on location, can get warm during summertime. The Hotel provides you with electric fans. Depending if your room faces the street or your windows face the noisy side street, rooms are quite noisy because since the rooms have no air conditioning, you need to open the windows. To alleviate the problem, the Hotel provides you with earplugs! Imagine, wearing earplugs to sleep. Ask for quiet rooms if you mind the noise.

The Hotel is a great alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms away from the front and side streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrolivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website and for your positive comments on our service standards!

Since we are located in the heart of bubbly Amsterdam which has loads of benefits, street noise is unfortunately one of the disadvantages. I am glad to see that you do value the cleanliness, the rooms and our staff and I hope that your stay has been blissful anyway!

I hope to meet you in the Albus during your next visit!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for almost anything you'd want to do. A block from the flower market, two blocks from Rembrandt square. Quite a bit of street noise. The clue should have been complimentary ear plugs in the room. This was exacerbated by no air conditioning and open windows. Food was decent, staff was excellent. Room was a decent size.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our staff!

I am sorry to read that the streetnoise has been a bit disturbing during your stay, but perhaps one of our rooms in the back or on the side of the hotel will be the perfect solution for your next trip to lively Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the room incredibly noisy. Not only was the street noise bad, but bearable, but the sound insulation between rooms was poor. A large group of guests seemed to be departing from 4- 5.30 one morning and the shouting, door slamming, tramping up the corridor etc made it impossible to sleep. In their defence, it was almost impossible to close the door quietly. Otherwise the room was fine for our needs but slightly gloomy and the bedside reading lights were not correctly angled for reading. The Nespresso coffee available in the room and at reception was most welcome, but I really wanted tea-making facilities in my room. Despite asking staff 3 times (although I asked in passing and not at reception) these never materialised. I feel that this is a rather negative review but I left feeling rather grumpy through lack of sleep! However, the hotel was very well placed for all the major sights and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The welcome drink and orientation was most appreciated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeckyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay and your nice compliments about our staff and welcome services.

I understand that you are not happy with the noise made by some of other guests leaving early and I am sorry that you have been disturbed!

Do you remember from which staff you did try to order the tea facilities and would you be so kind to e-mail me this on lisa@albushotel.com? I know our front office team has a properly working guests request system, but of course I expect all of our staff to react on guests requirements in a adequate way.

Hoping to welcome you back in the Albus for a more peaceful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed once with a business trip back in 2013.
The hotel is in a fantastic spot, away from noise but close enough to walk pretty much anywhere!

The hotel room was really nice, but for the price you pay, it's not really worth it. It was kept clean and somewhat spacious, but you can pay a lot less for a hotel up the road!

The staff are lovely and they are very welcoming.

All in all, it was a great stay, just a little too pricey so I doubt we will go with them again. (Unless rpices are dropped)

Room Tip: No major tips; just there are cheaper hotels in the area with the same (or more) space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments about the cleanliness of the rooms and our welcoming service!

Please, make sure that you book your future reservations on our own website for the best rates and unique promotions and discount actions to make sure you are not paying too much.

I hope that our competitive prices and our lovely staff will still make you coming back to the Albus during your next trip to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing