We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recent Holiday”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Located mid-way between Dam Square and the Rijk Museum the Albus is ideally situated for easy access to all Amsterdam's attractions.My bedroom,situated at the rear was quiet,spacious and well-appointed.Breakfast offered a good choice of both Continental and English fare.The staff, without exception,were friendly and extremely helpful and only too willing to book and arrange trips and excursions.I would recomend this Hotel to anyone seeking centrally located accomodation in this fascinating city.

Room Tip: My rear room was very quiet but perhaps rooms at the front may experience traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    687
    214
    69
    39
See reviews for
243
896
63
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Albus for 4 nights and our room was at the back of hotel after we asked to be moved from front of hotel as this faced the busy main road. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are perfectly sized and we had a great nights sleep every night we stayed. Super comfy beds and the shower was always nice and hot. Also liked the nespresso machine in the room but could have done with more milk the two little sachets are not up to the job. Would definitely stay again as the location was perfect for visiting all the main tourist areas, ideally placed for the museum district or dam square area plus a quick tram ride away from the central station.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The moment you arrive till the moment you leave the staff are on guard to take care of you.
I have rarely seen this level of service anywhere.
The rooms are small but modern.
The bathrooms are modern.
The restaurant is exceptional good and different.
Worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

For €240 per night for the room I really expected more. The room was so small you had to slide across the bed to get to the desk. The real issue for me was the horrible breakfast. For €19 the food was awful. Very limited selection of breads, eggs looked very old and were crusted over etc. nothing was refilled while I was there even though most of the pastries were depleted. I left and there was half a croissant left. I went down the street to eat. In all fairness, I had lunch there and it was great. It's just the breakfast experience that they need to revisit.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your compliments on our staff and the lunch you had in Senses restaurant.

However, I am very sorry to read that your breakfast experience has been so disappointing!
I really hope that this has been just one incident, but of course our breakfast team has received very clear instructions on the occasion of your review. If you would be so kind to e-mail me on lisa@albushotel.com I would like to personally offer my sincere apoligies in an appropiate manner.

I do hope to welcome you again in the Albus and that I can offer you a actual blissful breakfast!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The location is great! In the middle of everything, the rooms modern and relatively large.
The front rooms are a bit noisy but it is bearable.
The staff was so nice and helpful.
There is no air condition, so if you come during summer bare that in mind. A recommended hotel!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Conveniently placed hotel, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Nicely furnished room,although it was smaller than expected. The lift was out of order for the whole of our stay, however as we were on the first floor, it was not inconvenient for us....the staff kept very fit though,carrying luggage up and down stairs for guests.
Little touches like tea and coffee when we arrived, drinks vouchers for the inconvenience of the lift being out of order made our stay a pleasant one, and was generally very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Albus on 4/21 and 4/22. While I would echo the thoughts of some that the rooms are a bit small, I would counter that with the fact that you are rarely in your room so don't let tht stop you from staying there. It is pretty typical of most hotel rooms in Europe. What really makes this place is the wonderful staff. They were extremely responsive to any/all requests. I want to specifically call out Veron and Sofia. They were both incredibly helpful and always smiling and upbeat. Whether it is giving directions to the best places to see/dine, helping to arrange tickets for transportation in town or outside of town or just making polite conversation, these ladies are gems. The Albus is very fortunate to have them on their team!

In terms of the location of the hotel, it is a bit far from the center of the town but I think that was really nice. The area is quiet by comparison to other part of the city. Trams to the center of town are frequent and cheap. It is also not a terrible walk to any of the attractions that you might want to see. This makes the location was a plus in my book.

If you are going to Amsterdam and want to be away from the craziness of th center of the city and you are looking for a staff that goes above and beyond to make your stay the best that it can possibly be, then this is the place for you. We would stay there again without reservation.

Room Tip: Our room faced out on to the main road infront of the hotel. We were on the 4th floor so the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,557 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing