We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #62 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed recently in the hotel for business purposes. It’s a nice hotel with very friendly and amusing employees, clean and nice rooms which are well equipped with Nespresso devices, flat panel, Wi-Fi, rain shower and a lot of smaller hotel gadgets are present in the room. There is a very small bar in the lobby. The breakfast has everything you need although again limited.
Since I was sleeping on the second floor of the hotel at the street side I did experience a lot of noise. Earplugs are already in the room which are a clear indication this was not the first time they encountered the problem. The reception was willing to relocate me to another room for the second night. Overall a nice hotel, close to the Rembrandt square and within walking distance of some good restaurants. If I would visit Amsterdam again, I definitely would reconsider staying there again although I would request a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephDes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    653
    201
    62
    36
See reviews for
223
835
60
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is a nice hotel, Simple and clean. Boutique style.. no facilities.
Decent location 10 mins walk to City Center
Friendly and helpful staff.
There is a small bar and a small dinner which serves quality food. (20 -30 EUR per person)

Sound insulation is poor.

Room Tip: Ask for garden facing room... as the road facing rooms can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WKKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very easy to reach from central station. Very welcoming staff. Nice check in experience. Free coffee machine at reception (and in the room also). Excellent bed and good room. Shower has only tropical option and has very poor water power. Breakfast is ok but nothing special. But all in all an excellent stay and a friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent three nights here in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was central without being in the 'noisy' centre and importantly, it was easy to find our way back to after walking for miles in picturesque Amsterdam. We were walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go which was a major plus point.

The room was lovely, very clean and modern, huge and very comfortable bed and the bathroom was good too. I loved the Nespresso machine in the room and the bathrobe was a welcome addition. The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, even giving us suggestions on where to start our exploration and providing us with a map, on which they marked everywhere we mentioned. The only reason it doesn't have all 5 points was the disappointing shower - it looked great but the water pressure was poor!

Great hotel and I would recommend to anyone. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkkate1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at The Albus for our anniversary and the overall experience was good but just a couple of things that needed to be improved. After walking to our hotel through the rain we was greeted by a young man who explained to us that the original suite we had booked was not ready until the next day so was put in a room at the front of the hotel which like in previous reviews if you want to get some sleep request to be at the back as the noise from outside can keep you awake, the room was very clean and very comfortable but was told to go down to reception at 11am to be moved to the original suite room that we had booked when doing this we was told that the room was not cleaned and will not be ready until 3pm as it had been very busy!!!. Just felt a bit disappointed as had booked the suite to relax in for the weekend but barely spent any time in there, the staff on reception seemed quite young and would probably be better if there was a manager around to deal things like this!!
Overall the hotel is very nice and is decorated beautifully and can not fault it for that. It is very well located you are just walking distance from all the main places to see.
I would stay at The Albus again but hopefully the bookings would be more organised next time and not feel so let down.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be at the back of the hotel as the noise from outside will keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The albus hotel was amazing.
It was on a busy street so didn't look much from the outside but it was a haven inside! Lovely decorations, amazing customer service, and lovely rooms. Added features like a nespresso machine in the room and bath robes really made it feel like a luxury hotel.
The location was perfect - although on a more main road, it wasn't a touristy road. The flower market was on the adjacent street and there were some wonderful restaurants in the vicinity, as well as Rembrandt square.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Julia at reception made our stay a joy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna2946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Honestly, and I am really fussy, I could not find fault with the Albus. I was there for the weekend and I found everything as it was supposed to be and that's the very least any traveller can expect from hotel, regardless of the cost or star rating.

The Albus does 'exactly what it says on the tin'. To make things even better, the staff are brilliant and I genuinely mean that. I will make it my hotel of choice when I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I had everythng that I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing