We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #64 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights from January 6th-January 8th 2014. Travelled as a group with 2 adults over 50, 2 adults early 20s and one child (13). Arrived at the hotel to a friendly welcome from the staff on the desk. Unfortunately, our flight landed early so we were unable to get into our rooms but they said they would put us priority and would get our rooms sorted asap; in the meantime, they held our cases in a holding room, which was extremely convenient so we could start exploring! There were about 8 floors and we were situated on the 3rd floor (rooms 305/307), but this wasn't a problem as there was a lift.

Rooms - I have seen various comments regarding the size of the rooms; myself and my boyfriend were in a double room which was average size for a city hotel. My family had a triple deluxe which was fantastic, extremely spacious. One comment here I would add is that our room was at the front of the hotel which could get noisy during the night from the street, but my family's back room was very quiet. The beds were extremely comfy with the biggest pillows I've ever seen! Enjoyed the facilities such as a free wifi, complimentary coffee machine and water, a free safe, etc. The bathroom was slightly more outdated in style but we had a fantastic bath and rainforest shower head which made it all worth while. Also, the best built in hairdryer I have ever used abroad, so don't feel the need to take your own!

Food/Drink - unfortunately we did not eat at the hotel, however the adjoining restaurant to the hotel; Senses, looked lovely but cannot recommend as did not try.

Location - cannot fault the location of this hotel. Situated in the middle of all the main attractions of Amsterdam. 2 minute walk away from Floating flower market, around 5 minutes to Rembrandt Square, 15 minutes up to Dam Square, 20 minutes up to Central Station, 20 minutes to Leidsplein Square, 25 minutes to Anne Franks House. this may sound like long walks but the scenery on the walks takes away from the drag. Would highly recommend this hotels location if you are visiting for tourism.

Hotel in general - lovely hotel in fantastic location. Very clean and would recommend to others for the future. Would definitely rate a 4*. My only concern was the fact that bonds are taken from a credit card on arrival at a rate of £50pp which resulted in a £250 bill on my credit card, which I was not told about until I went to reception and asked. Could not understand reception staffs reasoning for taking so much money off my card, as they had also charged me for my room but they did not explain this properly and had to work it out for ourselves. Also gave me a 50 euro refund but not sure what for! Just a warning when arriving! Also, city tax is payable at the end but only worked out about 26 euros for 5 of us so not too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelC1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your extended review! We really appreciate your compliments on our rooms, staff and services. It was a pleasure to share all your nice comments with our teams.

I am sorry that we have not been clear in our communication about our deposit policy. We require a € 50 deposit (a credit card authorisation or cash) for each guest upon check in as a guarantee for possible extra's. This amount will be released from your card (or returned in cash) at check out when no further charges are made.

In your case breakfast was pre-charged and reimbursed upon your departure because you did not make use of it. I am afraid it was our mistake to pre-charge your breakfast in the first place and I apoligize for that!

We hope to welcome you back soon and I hope that you than will have the chance to try Senses restaurant too. You may want to check its reviews on Tripadvisor already of which we are very proud!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    687
    216
    69
    39
See reviews for
244
897
64
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Pretty comfortable hotel. 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from most parts of the city. Warm and cozy. Great decoration. Pretty clean as well. The hotel is also just next to a big area of restaurants and bars. The most remarkable fact of the hotel is the staff, always willing to help you with any request. The hotel is a bit noisy inside though. You can hear everything happening in the halls (specially early in the morning with the cleaning staff is pretty noisy if you don't want to wake up early ..).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for leaving such a review on Tripadvisor!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your time in the Albus and that our staff was able to help you out with all your requests. However, I am very sorry that our room attendants disturbed your sleep in the early morning and I will definitely take according actions on your comment.

I hope that you do decide to come back to the Albus on your next trip to Amsterdam and enjoy our comfy beds and hopefully very quiet hallways for a good night sleep.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

they were so helpfull and friendly at the reception
breakfast was very good
nice and clean room
the day we left they kept our luggage in a little room and we got a number....very good way of dealing with that

Room Tip: had a great room,very calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Got the Superior Apartment rooms at a steal via booking.com (178 Euro for 2 nights), with it's own private entrance, although it's a bit of a climb up the steep narrow steps (not a room to book if u have issues with mobility or climbing up steps). Excellent services (free wifi, free nespresso, washing machine n dryer, bathtub, shower with ample space, large living and dining room and a kitchen too). Staff were friendly and helpful as well as the lobby has free beverages and a cool fireplace. The bedroom even had a huge stand fan.
Great location with the trams just at the doorstep and walking distance from the flower markets, restaurants and other sights.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the climb and lugging ur luggage n shopping up some steep steps, then totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jihooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night on our first trip to Amsterdam. It is very well-located just outside of the red light district, within easy reach of the Central Station. A room at the back is best as the road is busy and noisy! The staff are friendly and very helpful, making us feel at home right away. Superior room 605 had a nice little balcony at the back which we didn't use as it was very cold but was a nice addition. The room was of a medium size, perfectly adequate, with a good tv and selection of channels. Very comfy bed (we slept later than usual!). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we felt that the price per person was steep and there are plenty of lovely little bakeries around Amsterdam where you can pick up something on the go!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at The Albus. Excellent hotel, very clean and comfortable with great facilities in the room including wi-fi, dressing gowns, coffee machine, toiletries, bottled water and tv.
The reception staff are very professional and at the same time very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome, especially Sofia

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickievicvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Loved our stay! Treated like first class customers from beginning to end! Only one night prior to AMA Rhine cruise, and wish we could have stayed longer! Greeted with coffee, luggage storage, and free upgrade. We opted for small room in the back with picturesque view. Clean overall, relaxing rain shower, warm and comfortable bed, plenty of coffee, and friendly and helpful front desk people. We'd stay again and have already recommended it to friends. Walking distance to Anne Frank museum, bus, and train station.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing