We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #64 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in a fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had such an enjoyable stay at The Albus and could not find fault with it which is great for me as I am always seeing things that need improving. The staff were very friendly and could not be anymore helpful, from the cleaners to front desk to management. The two rooms we had were clean bright and very quiet, as we had requested. The nespresso machine in the rooms was such a treat, and the sights were all within a 15 minute walk. I found this hotel just like Amsterdam itself, Clean Bright, Friendly, and simple to find my way around. I will definitely stay here again when I return to this city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    687
    216
    69
    39
See reviews for
244
897
64
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic couples weekend in Amsterdam staying at The Albus for my husbands 40th Birthday. Chic, designer hotel. Nice breakfast buffet, although restaurant is very small. Great touch having a coffee machine in the reception area. Bedrooms are lovely, very modern with comfy bed and the most amazingly comfortable pillows I have ever slept on! As a frequent traveller in the UK, Europe and US staying in 4 & 5 star hotels, this is a very good hotel and we will definitely be staying here again.
Couple of tips:
Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet, no street noise
Take extra hangers as there are no drawers, so storage is limited.
Chipsky King at the top of the street offers a good late night take out!
Make a reservation at nearby Pasta e Basta for a dining experience to remember.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MzChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice and room and very nice lobby with bar.

Some noise from the street so try to get a room facing away from the busy street ( or higher than first floor) - location-wise it's perfect - 2 minutes from the best party & shopping streets and flower market. A cool cafe called P.King just across the street and on the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HALEXB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Albus on a Friday night. I know Amsterdam pretty well but didn't know the Albus. Well, it is now our new favorite hotel in the centre. Our room was small but for the purpose we were there for it was fine. Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments! It is a true honour to be your new favourite hotel in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another blissful stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the Albus and, without exception, have found this to be an excellent place to stay while visiting Amsterdam.

The location is excellent, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are knowledgeable, professional and friendly. I have stayed in the rooms and in the apartments and am happy with the accommodation.

Recently, for the first time, I had dinner in the ‘Senses’ (I think) restaurant and I was very impressed. I was warmly greeted on arrival and quickly seated. The menu was explained in detail. I was guided to select dishes that I would not usually select. The food was promptly and professionally served, beautifully presented and, most importantly, was uniformly excellent.

I am a member of several frequent flyer and hotel loyalty programs and each one could learn lessons from the Albus in how to greet and treat their customers. In the almost 200 days I have been on the road in 2013 the Albus remains one of my top 2 favourite places to stay in the world.

A final word of commendation to the staff at the Albus who have mastered the art and science of treating everyone with a uniform level of professional courtesy while recognising the guest as an individual.

Well Done Albus – Keep it up.

Room Tip: Apartments are good - if you can get into one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our procuct and our staff!

It has always been a real pleasure to have you as our guest and we all do hope to keep seeing you in our hotel and in Senses restaurant!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to be told that we had been upgraded to an apartment. We were thankful of this and were excited to see where we would be staying. On entering the apartment, the corridors stank of cigarette smoke, the stairs were so steep, you couldn't fit your whole foot on each step so was extremely dangerous. On entering the actual apartment we were extremely disappointed as we had booked what we thought was a modern and new hotel. The apartment was extremely noisy mainly because the windows had no locks on them so it was hard to block out all of the noise, this also made me feel unsafe. The decor was not modern and the paint work was all chipped and in desperate need of refurbishment. The bedroom had two twin beds pushed together and the mattresses were uncomfortable and squeaky. We complained and the staff did not care, they had no rooms left so we either had to stay there or find somewhere else at our own expense. I have never been treated so appallingly by a hotel. We spent the next several hours trying to find a new hotel, which ended up being expensive. This situation ruined a large majority of what was supposed to be a fun weekend. I would strongly recommend NEVER staying at this hotel......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, although we do not agree on several points as we have already discussed via e-mail.

I am very sorry that the apartment that was offered to you was not to your taste and that we were not able to move you to another room directly since we were fully booked.

I have replied to your last e-mail and I sincerely hope that you will accept our gesture of goodwill.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having stayed at the Albus Hotel for one night, I found the reception's staff friendly and incredibly helpful. The mattress was too soft and the breakfast should be provided included in the room price, but I enjoyed my staying and could stay again next time I am in Amsterdam due to the location of the hotel and friendliness of their personnel.

Room Tip: Try to opt for a larger room than SmartCity if visiting as a couple, otherwise the room is on the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing