We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #64 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a mini honeymoon, The whole experience from arrival to departure was fabulous. Our room was absolutely stunning and spotlessly clean. The facilities in the room were fab! The staff in the hotel were really genuine and extremely friendly and made an effort to get to know us. We had a meal on our first night in the hotels restaurant "senses" we opted for the surprise 3 course meal along with wine pairing. The food was absolutely delicious and really different to anything I would have ordered myself, the lady who served us explained each course, and the wine that went with it, all in all a fabulous stay. The hotel bar is so relaxing I could have sat there all day. Every member of staff made our stay really special from the reception team through to the bar and restaurant. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    687
    216
    69
    39
See reviews for
244
897
64
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Schweiz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was my 2 Visit to the Albus Amsterdam in the Last 4 years. Furnishing is very Nice but Roms can be very small Depending in room category you book

You get nice Deals on combined High Speed Internet and Pay tv which get charged as Communication Internet Ort something similar - no hassle with your Boss if Company pays expenses

Room Tip: Dont get smallest category- avoid ground Level Floor if you plan sleeping early(Hotel Bar next to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at The Albus Hotel and our stay was just perfect. Already at the reception we got so much information and were very helpful with everything. The impression at the entrance was really good. Our room was also great with an amazing bed, comfortable!, and everything nice and clean.
In the evening we stayed in the hotel for some drinks at the bar and it was all very pleasant. The location is also great, close to everything where we wanted to go.
You might want to use the earplugs at night though, (which are supplied) because Amsterdam is noisy at night. (Saterday night for us) Note to this, we had our windows open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked here using a site that told us our 'secret hotel' was located in an entirely different area and was worth far more money than it really was (avoid booking through Hotwire), so we weren't off to the best start (not the hotels' fault of course). You are on a busy main road near the fairly horrific Rembrandtplein (avoid at night unless you want to participate in a punch-up) but you are right by the shopping district. We were on the 8th floor (top floor) which helped with the traffic noise - if you were any lower and staying on the street side it would be unbearable in summer. This hotel really should offer air con as standard - not really good enough to not have it in a 4 star in my opinion. The lobby smells of sewage - I know many Amsterdam establishments suffer this (suspect it's the constant battle of rising water levels?) but again something needs to be done. The staff are really lovely - but I did wonder why, after leaving our room at midday, our room was not made up. I would expect more. I would also expect to be able to get a bottle of water at any time of night, not to be told we must drink the tap water as it's fine and they can't get us a bottle... I know the water's fine, but I wanted a bottle - why have a coffee machine at reception and not the basics of a bottle of water? No mini-bar btw - but they do leave you with some drinking water in bottles in the room. The Nespresso machine was a nice touch - but they need to leave more creamer! Beds very comfortable but pillows a bit 'high' so I slept without one to save my neck. All fine but could be better.

Room Tip: Request a room not on main road and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonkersBridezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it's clean and quite. I was there in July and it was hot. I was shocked to learn that a hotel in this day and age does not have air conditioning. Overall, I recommend it but be prepared if you go in July and it's hot, all the have is a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Good breakfast. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
We'd stay here again but would request a room at the back of the hotel because rooms at the front overlook a very busy main route into the city, including a tram route and it was noisy at night.
We could have done with a bit more storage space for clothes - perhaps a small three drawer chest.
Overall, we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great Hotel with excellent location and super friendly staff. Definitely a pleasant surprise, will for sure stay here again in my next visit.
Design and atmosphere of the hotel adds to a great experience as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing