We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Amazing Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #62 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a mini honeymoon, The whole experience from arrival to departure was fabulous. Our room was absolutely stunning and spotlessly clean. The facilities in the room were fab! The staff in the hotel were really genuine and extremely friendly and made an effort to get to know us. We had a meal on our first night in the hotels restaurant "senses" we opted for the surprise 3 course meal along with wine pairing. The food was absolutely delicious and really different to anything I would have ordered myself, the lady who served us explained each course, and the wine that went with it, all in all a fabulous stay. The hotel bar is so relaxing I could have sat there all day. Every member of staff made our stay really special from the reception team through to the bar and restaurant. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    653
    201
    62
    36
See reviews for
223
835
60
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Schweiz
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was my 2 Visit to the Albus Amsterdam in the Last 4 years. Furnishing is very Nice but Roms can be very small Depending in room category you book

You get nice Deals on combined High Speed Internet and Pay tv which get charged as Communication Internet Ort something similar - no hassle with your Boss if Company pays expenses

Room Tip: Dont get smallest category- avoid ground Level Floor if you plan sleeping early(Hotel Bar next to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at The Albus Hotel and our stay was just perfect. Already at the reception we got so much information and were very helpful with everything. The impression at the entrance was really good. Our room was also great with an amazing bed, comfortable!, and everything nice and clean.
In the evening we stayed in the hotel for some drinks at the bar and it was all very pleasant. The location is also great, close to everything where we wanted to go.
You might want to use the earplugs at night though, (which are supplied) because Amsterdam is noisy at night. (Saterday night for us) Note to this, we had our windows open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked here using a site that told us our 'secret hotel' was located in an entirely different area and was worth far more money than it really was (avoid booking through Hotwire), so we weren't off to the best start (not the hotels' fault of course). You are on a busy main road near the fairly horrific Rembrandtplein (avoid at night unless you want to participate in a punch-up) but you are right by the shopping district. We were on the 8th floor (top floor) which helped with the traffic noise - if you were any lower and staying on the street side it would be unbearable in summer. This hotel really should offer air con as standard - not really good enough to not have it in a 4 star in my opinion. The lobby smells of sewage - I know many Amsterdam establishments suffer this (suspect it's the constant battle of rising water levels?) but again something needs to be done. The staff are really lovely - but I did wonder why, after leaving our room at midday, our room was not made up. I would expect more. I would also expect to be able to get a bottle of water at any time of night, not to be told we must drink the tap water as it's fine and they can't get us a bottle... I know the water's fine, but I wanted a bottle - why have a coffee machine at reception and not the basics of a bottle of water? No mini-bar btw - but they do leave you with some drinking water in bottles in the room. The Nespresso machine was a nice touch - but they need to leave more creamer! Beds very comfortable but pillows a bit 'high' so I slept without one to save my neck. All fine but could be better.

Room Tip: Request a room not on main road and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonkersBridezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it's clean and quite. I was there in July and it was hot. I was shocked to learn that a hotel in this day and age does not have air conditioning. Overall, I recommend it but be prepared if you go in July and it's hot, all the have is a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wantottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Good breakfast. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
We'd stay here again but would request a room at the back of the hotel because rooms at the front overlook a very busy main route into the city, including a tram route and it was noisy at night.
We could have done with a bit more storage space for clothes - perhaps a small three drawer chest.
Overall, we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great Hotel with excellent location and super friendly staff. Definitely a pleasant surprise, will for sure stay here again in my next visit.
Design and atmosphere of the hotel adds to a great experience as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing