We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice property in a good Amsterdam location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fargo, North Dakota, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice property in a good Amsterdam location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights, and the room and services were very good. Very modern and updated, and only 8-10 rooms per floor. As a result of retrofitting hotel rooms into an old Amsterdam building, the doors and rooms are very close together. The style adds to it's charm, but noise in the small area outside the elevator is loud in the room. The first night there were some late night party goers who made quite a racket getting into their hotel room. Not the fault of the hotel though.

The location is an easy walk to the Hermitage Museum where the Van Gogh paintings are residing until later in April 2013.

Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant - Senses - one night. Reallhy, really good food. The food is on the high priced side, but no different from other restaurants in the area, and pretty typical of Amsterdam. Breakfast was on the pricy side (19Euro) but there was a full array of the typical European hotel breakfasts, but they had bacon and scrambled eggs, for those who want some American style food to start the day. We did not select a rate that included breakfast so started out the first morning looking for somewhere to eat. It was a cold, brisk mornng, and we were unable to find any place open in the neighborhood. If you can get the breakfast included in the room rate at a decent amount, I recommend it. Dinner at Senses was wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    662
    205
    66
    37
See reviews for
230
856
62
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a great hotel perfectly located within walking distance of everywhere that you would want to visit. The hotel was very clean and the staff very nice and helpful. Will definately stay at The Albus Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barreiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had stayed at The Albus roughly a year before this last stay and although I found it still an interesting hotel and a good choice to stay near the centre of Amsterdam, there were some aspects in which I noticed slight changes.
I was given a bigger room than last time, with a very comfortable bed, facing the quieter back of the building.
At breakfast I left with the impression that its quality decreased noticeably and while the dining room is clearly small for the dimension of the hotel, there was a visible effort from the staff in charge so that things were as organised as possible and they managed well to keep things under control.
This time I was offered a voucher to have a mojito at the bar but unfortunately I couldn't take it - but the hospitable approach is still there, the same applies to the reception staff.
Wi-fi was available everywhere and worked well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for returning to the Albus! I am glad to read that most things were still to your satisfaction such as the comfortable beds and friendly staff.

I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not outstanding. Last year we did change our concept to a Blissfull Breakfast, meaning we left out some products like pre-packed crackers and canned fruit. We now only try to serve fresh and healthy ingredients like fresh fruit salad, wholegrain rolls, yoghurts with serials and organic smoothies. Besides we still offer a variety of warm dishes such as fried eggs, sausages and pancakes.

If you have the time, I would like to request you to e-mail me directly about what you missed specifically to lisa@albushotel.com in order to take another look at our buffet and improve where possible.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future for a comfortable room and a real blissful breakfast!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was last here in 2007 and wrote a glowing review of the Albus. Nothing has changed...nothing has changed for decades. The hotel itself is wonderfully located within EASY walking distance to the floating flower gardens, Rembrandt Plein (Plaza), restaurants, bakeries, pharmacy, shops, etc. These shops are about 2 to 3 blocks away...far enough that the noise and crowds are not a distraction at the Albus. The bus stops within a block--it is approximately a mile and a half to the center of Amsterdam and will take about 15 minutes.

The rooms are quite spacious and clean; the staff members are efficient and helpful. The breakfast is more than adequate.

If I were pressed for a negative, my comment would not be about the Albus but that there are no fine dining establishments in the immediate area. Yes, there are RiceTables, pizzarias, fast food, etc but sometimes I would like to take my wife to a nicer restaurant which I have not found in the immediate area. But do not let my negative comment deter you from the Albus. It is a gem of a hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegasGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms, staff and breakfast and even calling the Albus a gem in Amsterdam!

I hope that we may welcome you again and I would like to guarantee you that our reception team will be more than happy to recoomend you some really goog fine-dining restaurants around the hotel and make reservations for you.

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Albus was a great hotel right in the middle of the city. Very modern, clean and chic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely come back and stay at the Albus in Amsterdam on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyzain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great stay at the Albus. The girls in reseption were great! Helpt us many times with finding great restaurants and other information. Also gave us great tips without having to be promted! The hotel is on a somewhat busy street, so be sure to ask for a room facing the other way if this bothers you (was not a problem for us, no honking etc). Rooms are nice and clean with a perfectly fine finish. Not spanking new, but not crusty by any means! Recomended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenateAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fun boutique hotel in a good location. It's centrally located and in walking distance to many things. Lots of restaurants and happenings near by. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. Free WiFi, albeit not the fastest. Rooms are comfortable and modern.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank California_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing