We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #54 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location was excellent, with most places of interest within walking distance, and service really good. We got upgraded to a big room downstairs that was really a family room with two double beds, but one double bed had been removed to make room for a sofa and a chair (no table). Our friends stayed in standard double rooms that were quite small, but very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tordobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    630
    194
    59
    32
See reviews for
213
802
58
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here two nights -- one unexpected extra night due to weather related flight cancellation. My first (planned) night, I received the advertised upgrade to a suite. Very modern decor throughout. The hotel desk staff were very warm and helpful. In fact, the desk clerk gave me a tour of the lobby and amenities and then escorted me to the suite. The suite was very spacious and comfortable. I also made a reservation for the hotel restaurant that sounded very interesting, and I would highly recommend as well. (I will try to write a separate restaurant review.)

For my second (unexpected) night, the hotel staff seemed more upset than me that my flight was cancelled and I was stuck for an extra day. They had availability but were so sorry they couldn't give me a suite again. I was just glad they had any room availability. So my second night, I had a room on the top floor in what could only be described as a dormer-like room as it had smaller and circular windows common in this area. The room still was very large and comfortable. Overall, I would recommend The Albus and would definitely stay here again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nettetal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed there for a fair!
City center means that the tram is driving thru your room (you think so) every couple of minute. Party people coming home screaming in the night (OK that's out of control of the Hotel....

Rooms are small but nice decorated.
Coffee machine in the room way nice, but the stains of coffee at the table not.
Walls are thin, possible to hear the neighbours in their rooms....

The Wifi is free of charge (in a small bandwith but OK) the staff friendly and supportive.

Average, just average.... (unfortunately)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayer Herve during the ISE Expo
The hotel si new clan and very modern
Reception was nel fil Writer anything we needed and more quite fast in answering any requests
The online negative point was that I was gioven a ground floor room right next to the service room so the noise began at 5.30 in the morning
The other negative point was the shower basically no division be' tweed shower and loo all on the One space not nice !

But i do know that My colleagues had baths and nicer showers.
In a whole it was fine for an Expo hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We got the trip advisor upgrade to a suite for 2 of the 3 nights, which was a lovely spacious room. However even the regular room was really nice too. Friendly staff and the room service comes from a restaurant that serves in the slow food style - everything looked really good. Would def. try to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When I book a hotel, I really try to get one that ticks the following boxes; modern, good location and reasonably priced. Finding one hotel that ticks all three of these boxes in a city like Amsterdam is no mean feat where the buildings have an enchantingly old world charm but, often lack the modern touches that I personally like.

The Albus was precisely the hotel I was looking for. Located just behind Rembrandt Square (close enough to visit but, no obtrusive loud noise at night) and with the famed floating flower market almost directly across from it, The Albus has the "good location" requisite covered. It's worth noting that we also managed to walk everywhere from here; the Kalverstraat shopping area, Dam Square, the Red Light District, the Diamond District, the Museum District, the Anne Frank Museum.

The hotel itself is packed full with mod-cons and is really chicly decorated. The King sized bed was a lovely treat, as was the Nespresso machine in the room. My only gripe at the time was that there was no free Wi-Fi which I now see has been implemented for all rooms and public areas in the hotel.

While The Albus wasn't cheap, it was more than worth the money we paid for it. It made a brilliant trip absolutely wonderful and we will not hesitate in rebooking when we next visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: To my knowledge, all rooms are sound-proofed. We had a room overlooking the street but, could have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5inead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Albus on two visits to Amsterdam in the past 6 months -- four nights in August 2012 and a week in January 2013. Both visits were perfect. The location is ideal and the hotel is wonderful. The rooms are quite nice and modern, with more space than might be expected for a hotel in the area. And the staff are wonderful. They checked us in promptly and early, they made up our room quickly and nicely every morning (or when we slept in, in the afternoon), they ordered pizza delivery for us when were hungry at 3 am, they arranged a car service for us early in the morning. Every request was handled politely and perfectly. I have nothing bad to say about this place - I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing