We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #61 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is nice and modern in a good location. The room is a little smaller than I anticipated, although this is fine as we were out most of the time anyway! I didn't try any of the food but it did look nice. There is also a bar in the main lobby which was actually cheaper than most of the outside bars we tried!!

I had seen previous reviews suggesting this hotel was noisy and people couldn't sleep - not a problem for me at all and I am generally a light sleeper - I would say if you are worried just bring some ear plugs in case but you shouldn't need them.

The main selling point for me with this hotel was the location, you are a couple of minutes walk from a tram stop taking you to pretty much all of the the places you want to be. It's just up the road from the Heineken Experience and literally round the corner from Rembrandt Square.

I would definitely recommend and head back there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniM204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    644
    199
    62
    36
See reviews for
219
820
59
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
236 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

2 mins walk from Dam, 2 mins walk from Rembrandt Square, 5 mins walk from Nine Streets...It can't get better than this in terms of location.
There is a tram stop right outside the hotel and hence the location is very convenient if you are coming from central Station (hardly 15 mins by tram).
Check in was seamless: smiling Ms. Mariska (hope I got the name right) was a pleasure to deal with. Even Ms. Gowrie was very helpful.
Rooms are tiny, like really tiny and even after we booked the Splendid City King Room (22 - 24 m²), we realized it wasn't big enough. Problem is rooms are not of standard size and are made within the dimensions of the building and not the other way around.
Restaurant is decent, no big deal.
Location was probably the best part of this place but then there are more hotels on the same road for the same price or 10-15 euros more, e.g. NH Carlton, NH Schiller on Rembrandtplein.

I honestly don't regret staying here...Wish my room was a little bigger with less chunky furniture and lampshades (which didn't work).
Nespresso machine is an added advantage if you like your coffee a certain way.
Rooms facing road are not a huge problem as mentioned before by others. We were on 1st floor and didn't hear too much noise.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room, even if it's on the 1st floor facing the road as most of the rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Albus City Center is a very nice hotel, conveniently located right off a main tram line in Amsterdam. Upon check-in we were offered an upgrade to a larger room for a small extra fee. The desk help were all very cordial and helpful; they helped with attraction reservations and tram passes. Amazingly, the bar stocked a favorite Chilean wine of ours, so points for that! :-) (The restaurant looked nice; wish we'd tried it) Clean and well maintained rooms, a friendly staff, and great location - what more could you ask for? Book here with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend in may 2012. When we arrived there was no hot water cause of road construction.
Got a room in the back. Was small but quiet. Because the rooms have no aircon you get cocked when the sun comes out in the morning. Even with open windows no long sleeping. The ventilator in the room does not help much. On third day there was a unanounced poweroutage for dono how long. Situation of hotel is good but price is way to expensive for what you get.
Would I stay here again? No thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acki4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to read about your unsatisfactory stay! The municipality of Amsterdam is currently replacing all the gas pipes in the street. Therefore there has been consruction in front of the hotel during 4 days which included to be shut down from gas for a few hours. I completely understand that this has been very inconvenient for all our guests who liked to take a hot shower during these hours, but unfortunately we had to accept goverments decicions about the timing.

I am afraid that the power outage which lasted half an hour was also caused by this constrution, but I am happy to say that everything is back to normal since last week.

In case you will visit Amsterdam again in the future, I sincerly hope that you will reconsider your choice for The Albus. Please, just contact me directly at that time, so I may be able to assist you with your booking and make sure you will have a great stay! (lisa@albushotel.com)

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

After trying to stay within a strict budget in pricey Amsterdam for a few days, we needed a treat. This lovely restaurant was perfect. 
The decor was modern and comfortable, with artwork placed tastefully around the bar and dining area. 
Service was friendly and responsive, the staff obviously take pride in the experience they offer patrons. We had the menu explained to us and chose a four course "senses" option. Each dish that came to us was explained carefully on arrival, and consisted of local, fresh and imaginative combinations of ingredients.  
We enjoyed lamb, scallop and beef dishes with delicious and very simply prepared vegetables and sauces - everything was perfect. The dessert was equally good; a strawberry based dish that was a light and refreshing way to finish the meal. 
Individual requirements are happily catered to. For the second course, we were brought a dish containing pork, which we do not eat. We had explained this to the waiter when ordering, but he had misunderstood. The meals were immediately taken back and replaced quickly with new dishes, served to us by the chef. 
The wine list was varied and very well matched to the menu. Pricing was surprisingly reasonable. 
Altogether a very enjoyable dining experience in a lovely setting, created by professionals who are obviously passionate about great food and real service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellsonhertoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Albus Amsterdam is right in the middle of town, exactly where you want to be.
There are several tram lines running directly in front of the hotel. This made my room (no.301) very loud, especially as the windows can barely shield the noice. Therefore my sleep was not good.
I tried to checked-in 2 hours after the check-in time but the room wasn't ready....
The room is of decent size and spotless clean. Free wifi.
They put the breakfast on the invoice automatically, so be sure to remind them to remove it.
Also, they lost my registration slip, so I received a note, to complete it again. Bad organisation.
All in all, I would not return. There are hotels with better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Room not ready an hour and a half after check-in time, unhelpful receptionist, dark, narrow corridors, double room cramped even for one person, restaurant understaffed and tiny, necessitating queueing for breakfast. On this basis, I would reduce its self-declared four star rating to two and a half maximum, and thus would not consider it worth the premium rates it charges.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room, as those overlooking the main road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing