We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for a medium budget in Amsterdam.... Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #65 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a medium budget in Amsterdam.... Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just checked out of the Albus, and have to say it exceeded my expectations. Location is central, and the hotel is surprisingly smart, with a cosy wine bar in the reception, spotless new rooms and huge rain showers in the bathrooms. Ours was a small room on the back of the 4th floor and was very quiet at night. Staff were helpful, and they have booklets with staff recommendations of what to see and do in Amsterdam that were really personal. There is a bike rental shop just around the corner on Reguliersdwarsstraat, or alternatively you can walk everywhere from here. For the very reasonable price (booked with BA avios points) I was expecting something a lot more basic, so was pleasantly surprised to find it was cosy, comfortable, smart and ideal for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    687
    214
    69
    39
See reviews for
243
896
64
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is an excellent choice if you come to Amsterdam - all the main attractions are walkable or a short tram ride away.

The rooms are very comfortable (the bed especially!) and have flat-screen tvs.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they even managed to sort us out with a pizza at 4.30am when everywhere else was closed.

I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you like a great contempory hotel in Amsterdam at amazing value for money this is the one for you. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and this is one of our top stays.

Main pro, excellent reception staff.
Main con, no air con' for summer months.

There if fine dining at the hotel again excellent food but service could have been a bit more attentive as staff were also running the hotel bar.

Location is great easy walking to all sights or tram stops on same road for easy travel
Around the city.

Overall. A top stay in a lovely city would recommend.

Room Tip: If window left open can be noisy, but remember your in a city! Or ask for a room off road. If walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on a leisurely visit to Amsterdam. The hotel appears to be newly refurbished. Rooms are Nice, contemporary, clean but the smart city room is a little on the small side, but that did not bother me. On arrival we checked in as normal. The next day, we were out for the day and on return our room key was blocked. The receptionist then informed us that we have not paid the city tax so the key was blocked. We told the receptionist that we were not aware of any tax. However, they asked for 5 per cent of the room rate so we setteled the bill and we were advised that there would not be any further charges. The next day the same thing happened which was at this point very frustrating!!! We complained That we should have been advised of this on arrival and shouldn't be harassed during our stay! Then to top it up, on the last night of our stay the receptionist called our room at 9:30pm asking for 100 Euros for deposit for the room! At this point I was very angry as we were checking out in the morning and the hotel should have sorted all charges and deposits on arrival not when you are getting ready to leave and have spent your last Euros!!! But overall not a bad stay. I would recommend the hotel but beware of these charges.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending The Albus to the visitors of Tripadvisor!

And of course I would like to apoligize to you for what happened to you regarding your deposit. We do require either a €50 cash deposit (per person) or a credit card guarantee for incidentals during your stay. According to the standard procedures we naturally take care of this upon your check in. I am so sorry that we missed out on this one and made the situation rather inconvenient for you!

We hope you still would like to return to The Albus on your next visit to Amsterdam so that we can provide you with a true sense of bliss during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Lovely modern hotel very close to all of the key sites. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in a city room overlooking the main street and tram line, despite this we had a great night’s sleep and the noise of the tram was barely an issue. (I didn’t need the earplugs).
I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

"The Albus is a well-kept secret, known only by the more experienced and demanding travellers"
Come on ! Let's say it straight:
- super noisy (the "night kit" we found in our room was a bad sign). If your room is on the street side, you'd betternhave a very strong sleep. The Tram is almost passing by your pillow!
- Internet is not wireless everywhere and is not free of charge. 12eur for 24hrs...is this a joke?
- booking in advance is not giving you the best price. I booked two months in advance, got one lf the worst room and could have paid 15% less if I had booked 4 hours before travelling to Amsterdam
- on that week-end, horrible painting smell on our floor. Reception desk said: "oh really ? Surprising, there was no recent work here. we have to check if anyone is not doing painting in their room" (second joke of the day)
- breakfast certainly does NOT worth 19 euros. We randomly headed to a small charming place for breakfast called "Gartine", that was undoubtedly a better choice than this very standard breakfast buffet that we had the first day at the Albus.

Bottom line, the marketing words are way over estimated. I won't come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggpublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Ggpublic,

It's a pity to hear you did not have a pleasant stay at The Albus!

Last week we have been completely restyling (including painting) our apartments in the building next to The Albus. We were not aware that the smell was so strong that the hotelrooms nextdoor were bothered and I feel very sorry for that!

The noise problem is unfortunately unavoidable in a city centre hotel. We try to anticipate on this by leaving "silent night kits" in the room so our guests still can have sweet dreams. For extremely light sleepers we also offer rooms in the back of the hotel which are nice and quiet.

We are currently working on free wifi internet as we recognize that this is a real must for most travellers these days. Highspeed internet is indeed chargable, all further conditions concerning our internet facilities are clearly explained on our website.

Again, I am sorry to read all your negative comments and I do hope you will have a better time during your next visit to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Recently (31/01/12) spent a night at the Hotel Albus. We arrived early (1100) and due to many checking out at that time our rooms were not ready so we stored our luggage and with the instructions and map provided by the very helpful desk clerk set off sightseeing. The clerk had given us brief instructions on use of the city tram system, which we found very useful and helpful given our ambitious agenda for the day and the temperature outside was quite cold as well (-6 C) for walking.

We spent the day touring the Rembrandt House, Anne Frank House, and the Van Gogh museum. All were fantastic and well worth the special stop over we made in Amsterdam following our Mediterranean vacation. We returned to the Hotel Albus at approximately 6 p.m. and our rooms were ready. The desk clerk even assisted helping bring the luggage to our rooms.

The rooms are a modern decor, which is generally not to my personal taste as generally I find modernism a cold and sterile environment. However, I found the Hotel Albus decor modern yet inviting, warm, and comfortable. The rooms have coffee makers in each room, which my husband and our traveling partners took advantage of and enjoyed. There was also a complimentary bottle of water in each room. The beds were extremely comfortable with wonderful down comforters. I received the best night sleep of our whole 11 day trip (although the generous dose of fresh air and activity also contributed). I enjoyed the rain shower head despite the lower water pressure, it was novel to me and did the job it needed to do. The heated floors were an extra plus!

The hotel lobby also sported a modern decor and due to the cold weather we really appreciated the gas fireplace and the wonderful warmth that was generated. We did take advantage of the 15 minutes free wifi in the lobby to touch base with our work. This was useful, but so many of the hotels that I have frequented now offer free wifi in the rooms without a time limit. Even the old fashioned Hotel Gaudi in Barcelona offered unlimited wifi with a similar boarding rate as the Albus. Not sure if there are differences with wifi installation and charges between the countries that contribute to the difference? There was also an extra charge for breakfast, which we found a bit spendy (19 Euros) and did not partake. Majority of the European hotels we have stayed in always provide the breakfast as part of the room rate. I did peek in the restaurant where the breakfast was provided and it did look nice, but I am not sure if worth 19 euros. The night before we had a fantastic steak dinner at the little Italian restaurant next door for 11.95 euros. We did have drinks in the Hotel lobby bar and the prices did seem reasonable at about 4.50 euros for a nice glass of wine.

After check out and requesting a van to take our group to the airport we had not realized that taxi's (esp vans) are not as readily accessible as in other European countries. After a bit of a wait we found out that the van was stuck in traffic and we ended up having to have to regular taxis called to transport as we were not going to make it to the airport within the 2 hour international flight guidelines. Our traveling partners took the first taxi as their flight departed earlier and thanks to the wonderful driver (who arrived 5-10 minutes later) that we had the opportunity to ride with we beat them to the airport!

Overall, we had had a very nice stay at the Hotel Albus and I would definitely recommend as a place to stay and would stay again in the future! I hope prior to our next stay that the wifi is upgraded throughout the hotel as wifi is becoming a definite travel need and especially for international and business travel.

Room Tip: request room 115--nice sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank your very much for your extended comments. It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam and your stay at The Albus! We are currently working on a wifi network for the whole hotel as we now offer wifi in the lobby/lounge only. we hope that you will come back to The Albus and that we can make your next stay even more comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing