We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Candidate for worst hotel ever?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Citadel
Ranked #120 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Candidate for worst hotel ever?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked a single room for 1 night while travelling to Amsterdam for business. I picked this hotel due to location to train station.

The room was tiny and very noisy from the street traffic outside. The bed was small (a sleeping bag on the floor might have been more comfortable). Wifi did not work in room and only worked for a short time in reception, so I was unable to work. Breakfast was uninspiring. Very expensive for what you get.

Worst of all I was tricked into paying for the room prior to seeing it - probably as I would not have accepted the room if I had seen it first - do not make the same mistake!

Last time I stayed at the much more modern holiday inn express sloterdijk and it was much nicer with friendly staff, quiet rooms, working internet and a better breakfast - plus only a max 10 mins on train from central Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. Don't pay the bill till you have seen the room. Avoid a street facing room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    392
    152
    41
    21
See reviews for
96
289
94
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 1 night before cruise. Had a room on the top floor looking over the street. Very comfortable and big windows letting in lots of air. Kept windows open all night letting in lots of warm air. Staff could be friendlier and breakfast OK but could be better quality. Beware: order your own taxi as we paid 20euros to go to passenger terminal - a 5 minute drive. They appear to call a private company and seem to know them well. Next time we will walk!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

we had booked a non-smoking room, however the room stank of smoke, and the hotel was fully booked, so we couldn't change rooms. A lot of noise from the street and no air-conditioning. At each breakfast, some of the food had ran out and nothing more came during the time we ate. Staff not very helpful/friendly. OK location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I needed to stay in Amsterdam overnight between business meetings and found an inexpensive option in the city center of Amsterdam: Hotel Citadel. A very spartan single room on the fifth floor with a very strong shower, good pillows and bed. Nice view of the Nieuwe Kerk and the Palace. Plenty of sounds of Amsterdam to lull you to sleep, if you keep the window open. The hotel is right in the center of the city, easy to get everywhere.

There was continental breakfast included (but I had to be out early, so missed it). The personnel was very helpful, they locked up my laptop when I was out (the small jewelry safe in the room as too small). Speaking both English and Dutch, they can point you to local attractions, answer questions about Amsterdam and beyond.

Please know this is not a 5-star hotel. It is spartan, but it not a flophouse either. This is a good practical place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and took a single room looking over the city center. Keeping the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#77 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#132 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Property: Hotel Citadel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing