We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, but a fine base for enjoying AMSTERDAM !!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Citadel
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Small room, but a fine base for enjoying AMSTERDAM !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

First off, the Citadel's location is fantastic. It's on Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal, very close to Centraal Station, Dam Square, the Red Light District and all of central A'dam. It's easy enough to walk from Centraal to the hotel if you're packing light, but after my overnight flight to Schiphol and train ride into the city, I was tired and took the tram to the Nieuwezijds Kolk stop, which is right in front of the Citadel.
The hotel occupies a striking building on an otherwise nondescript (for architecturally amazing Amsterdam, anyway) block. Its small lobby is dark and attractive, with dark wood finishings. The good looking-breakfast room is just off to the right.
My room wasn't ready when I arrived, so I left my luggage and wandered off to the Leidseplein for about an hour and a half. Check-in was quick, and me and my luggage squeezed onto the small elevator to go to my room.
My single room was very small, but fairly typical of single-rooms at moderate-priced European hotels. There was adequate space for my luggage. The bathroom was also small, but not claustrophobic. It featured a walk-in shower that was more than adequate for my needs.
The dorm-sized bed was quite comfortable, if very narrow. Seems like I woke up with my face pressed against the gorgeous poster-picture of an Amsterdam canal that adorned one of the walls. The flat-screen TV had quite a decent channel selection, though most were in Dutch (It's fun to watch old Law and Order episodes dubbed into Dutch).
My room faced Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal, with a nice panorama of the trams going by and the other activity. Compared to the cheesy commercial circus of the Damrak and other main streets in central A'dam, Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal is relatively peaceful, but a light sleeper should ask for a room not facing the street, because there's still a good amount of noise with the trams constantly going by and people out and about until the wee hours.
The breakfast room was very attractive and pleasant place to start each of my 3 days in A'dam. The breakfast included in the room rate included a variety of pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, juices and other items, as well as very good coffee.
The great location makes the Citadel an easy walk from many attractions, including the Anne Frank House and the lovely Jordaan neighborhood. The Red Light District is a quick 5-minute walk, and the pedestrian passageways between Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal and the Damrak are filled with shops, restaurants, tons of snack shops (this IS Amsterdam, where there are lots of people with the munchies), currency exchange spots, Internet cafes and of course, coffeeshops.
Five tram lines stop right in front of the Citadel, allowing for easy access to the restaurants and merriment of the Leidseplein, the Museumplein (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc), the Pijp and the rest of this fab city.

Room Tip: If you like action and don't mind noise, ask for a room overlooking Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal. Lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganmarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    417
    159
    41
    21
See reviews for
102
311
98
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped here for one Friday night after arriving on the Ferry from Hull. His is a superb hotel. It doesn't look much from the outside but when you step through the doors it is very clean and modern. Reception were very helpful and due to us arriving at 1030hrs allowed us to keep our bags in a luggage room until we could book in. They also allowed us to do the same until 4.30pm when we were leaving. The hotel is very central, only 10-15 minutes walk from the central train station.

Our room was not large but was big enough for the two of us for the night. We had read that it could be quite loud at the front of the hotel therefore we had emailed them and asked for a high quiet room. The hotel placed us on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel. We didn't have any view from our window but the noise from the street could be hardly heard. The room was very clean (room 43) and looked almost new. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath. The only problem we found was when having a shower the perspex screen does not seem to come close enough to the bath and therefore water goes over the bathroom floor. It was like a lake when I got out of the shower but it wasn't a massive problem with us only stopping one night.

We had the buffet breakfast in the morning. This was served in a pleasant area next to reception. It is not too big but we got down early and there were plenty of seats. When we left all the seats were taken but no-one was waiting to sit. The continental buffet was very nice. Plenty of cereal, fruit, cold meats and bread. All very fresh and good quality.

It's not a cheap hotel but if you feel like splashing out a little then you could do a lot worse than stay here.

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a high room at the rear of the hotel. This should stop most of the comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from staying here at the weekend, just the 1 night. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Small room but perfectly adequate. My only issue was that we looked out over the street which was noisy at night. Trams finish about 12 but could hear any traffic and noisy people walking down the road, so we didn't get much sleep. I did ask for a quiet room. Very clean. Breakfast is cold ie cereal, bread, cheese, ham, tea and coffee but more than adequate and is included in the deal. Served 7-10am.There is a secured luggage room where you can leave your case before you are able to check in and also after you have checked out if you need it. The lady at reception was very helpful.

10 mins walk from Central Station (come out at the front entrance) the hotel is located in the road opposite. Central Station is 3 stops from Schipol airport. We got a return ticket for the weekend. Just over 16 euros. Perfect location, 5 mins to The Dam, 10 mins to the red light area and Chinatown. We walked everywhere and managed to do everything we wanted ie Van Gogh museum (this is now closed for refurb) and Rijksmuseum (partially open), Dam square, Nieumarkt, Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rembrandtplein, Waterlooplein market, The Jordan including Anne Frank's house, Canal trip. All wonderful.

Can recommend Spaanse Ruiter bar virtually next door, Nam Kee Chinese restaurant on Zeedijk 111 and Maoz Falafel for lunch. There is every type of restaurant you could wish for.

I would definitely stay here again though only if I could be assured of a room the other side of the hotel!

Please feel free to email if you need to ask anything. Enjoy:-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay and really enjoyed this hotel. We had room 55 which looks out into the street. Traffic noise wasn't a problem. Breakfast is typical continental style, but has a better selection than most of this type. There is a safe luggage room for early arrivals and late departures which is good. There is no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms which is a bit of a pain, but you can buy coffee in the downstairs lounge. Overall a safe,clean,and friendly hotel with a particularly gorgeous receptionist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Smallish rooms but very well presented with gorgeous views of one of the main streets in Amsterdam leading to The Dam (centre of town) which is only a 5 minute walk - literally! Service was very helpful and the breakfast was delightful!! Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessensational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wonderful location, small room but perfect for a short stay. Rate included continental breakfast, really clean, lovely staff and I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very modern and clean with large windows that overlooked the street. Friendly and helpful staff willing to help you find your way around and great location. The hotel was easy walking distance from the train station and the Anne Frank House. We have recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beaver96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Property: Hotel Citadel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing