We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good, but far from the center of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa
Ranked #69 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time visiting Amsterdam for me. This hotel is very clean, with a modern room and a chic look in the bathroom.

Pros
- Very clean.
- Television with good channels to watch if you are resting in your room.
- Internet connection is relatively fast (free Wifi)
- Free use of iPads in the lobby for you
- Bar located on the 1st floor (2nd floor for us North Americans).
- Safe Area
- Bike rentals available from the hotel
- Parking available (didn't use it)
- Coffee/Tea in the rooms (great for once you arrive from a long trip)
- Very close to AmstelStation (easy access to buses/Metro. From there you can access Centraal Station and take trains throughout Europe).

Cons
- Far from the city center (~3.3 km. I have walked this distance many times back and forth, it is survivable during summer time).
- Somewhat difficult to locate the hotel the first time
- Not many great places to buy food around (there are many residential and business buildings)
- Will have to purchase some sort of pass to travel around Amsterdam.
- Currently there is construction going on in front of the hotel. The hotel offers free ear plugs (yay!). I was on the 5th floor and facing the construction, and I managed to sleep very well. I couldn't hear the construction going on. Shouldn't be a big problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the construction, or a room on a much higher floor (floors 7-10). Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ice_Kold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

First time in amsterdam had a little bit of trouble finding it.could do with a better map or directions via bus route
but its location is opposite amstel station so u can get bus train metro tram everything. Anywhere.
lovely hotel good staff very clean,attentive to your well being,we had a late one,an woke up to a note saying they will check on us in 24 hours to make sure we was ok.
Never ate in resturant bit prices were resonable compared to center of city.over all very nice hotel we will be back to it again.
I liked the water bottle station and the shoe buffer little things that make a difference.
And on the everything you travel on

"dont forget to check in and out"

loved it beautiful place very nice people everyone can speak a little if not perfect english. Oh and for god sake dont forget your trainers!
lots and lots of walking to be done!! Plasters.
anit blisters stick.
rain mac.(not that it was needed)
water bottle.
A lighter if you smoke papers and roach provided in all coffee shops.
lip balm.
your travel plug.
internet roaming coverage so much easier then a map.

Relax and have a good time you will love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The design of this hotel is very modern and minimalistic,but it has everything you need. It is located close to the Amstel train station, it is easy to get downtown from there by bus or metro. The breakfast was a bit pricey so we chose to eat somewhere else, but the room is equipped with a kettle, so you can easily make a cup of tea in the morning. The cab ride from the airport should cost you about 45-50 Euros, not more, make sure you don't ripped off, as this happened to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 day, 3 night coach trip to Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel. The rooms were large with comfortable beds and lots of wardrobe space. The bathroom had a walk in shower that was very efficient, not like some that are just a dribble. There was a hair drier and use of a safe free of charge. The rooms were very clean. We were on 8th floor at the front of hotel and we heard very little street noise and no noise from other guests walking past. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We were told there were tea/coffee making facilities and there was not any, I rang down and they said to go straight to reception where I was given everything I needed. The only thing I would say is if you've got a couple of spare mugs at home take them with you as you only get paper cups.
The breakfast was very good, tea/coffee/fruit juice, selection of 3 cereals, selection of flavoured yoghurts, toast, pastries, boiled egg, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, baked beans, pancakes or equivalent, ham, cheese and selection of fresh fruit.
It is quite a walk into Amsterdam, before going I recommend you find out about the trams and buses. We didn't, others did. They paid 6 euros to get from Amsterdam to hotel we paid 10 and 15 euros in a taxi. You can buy travel cards from the hotel for trams and buses.
This hotel is excellent value for money and would return if going to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at front of hotel, the back is facing main busy road. We had room 840 and had a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEF2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room was Noisy could hear people getting out of the elevator talking down the hallway. It was really hot in the room. We did not do breakfast at the Hotel as it was pretty pricey for what you get. Positive note is bus 59 close to Hotel takes you downtown Amsterdam really quick. You can buy a 24 hour pass for the bus. Receiption was really good upon check in and check out, Room size was also good for a european Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropical20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a real bargain! Rooms are compact but well designed, attractive and comfortable. Bathroom the same. Everything works well. So they don't have an alarm clock; everyone travels with a phone that serves the purpose. So they don't have designer shampoos; what they provide works fine and besides, people probably like their own brands. The location is great. An easy mile and a half or so (we sometimes took the tram, sometimes the bus, walked from across the city once) to downtown and the sites. Staff are helpful and competent, restaurant is fine, breakfast is available as a full, sit down meal or a perfectly adequate take-out from a cafe in the lobby (good coffee and fresh juice, by the way). We really enjoyed our stay. A hidden plus: since you are just outside the city center to the south, if you want to rent a bike and ride out the city you can avoid the crazy downtown bike traffic.
Two small gripes: they could spare an extra towel or two, or at least put enough racks in the bathroom to make it easy to dry the one per person they do provide, and it would be great if they had seats that drew the outside smokers away from the wide front door so that you don't get overpowered with second hand smoke each time you come or go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 373 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa

Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Amsterdam is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa Amsterdam!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing