We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“They edited out the frills I don't care about -- left what I do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 400

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa 400
Ranked #61 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They edited out the frills I don't care about -- left what I do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a real bargain! Rooms are compact but well designed, attractive and comfortable. Bathroom the same. Everything works well. So they don't have an alarm clock; everyone travels with a phone that serves the purpose. So they don't have designer shampoos; what they provide works fine and besides, people probably like their own brands. The location is great. An easy mile and a half or so (we sometimes took the tram, sometimes the bus, walked from across the city once) to downtown and the sites. Staff are helpful and competent, restaurant is fine, breakfast is available as a full, sit down meal or a perfectly adequate take-out from a cafe in the lobby (good coffee and fresh juice, by the way). We really enjoyed our stay. A hidden plus: since you are just outside the city center to the south, if you want to rent a bike and ride out the city you can avoid the crazy downtown bike traffic.
Two small gripes: they could spare an extra towel or two, or at least put enough racks in the bathroom to make it easy to dry the one per person they do provide, and it would be great if they had seats that drew the outside smokers away from the wide front door so that you don't get overpowered with second hand smoke each time you come or go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    1,165
    197
    44
    28
See reviews for
190
959
117
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heliopolis, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

everything about this hotel is excellent i just stayed there for four nights and i will definitely stay here again
from the room proper size to the helpful stuff to almost everything

thanks casa 400 for making the holiday fine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We decided to stay 4 nights at Hotel Casa 400 based on the reviews...and we weren't disappointed! Unfortunately the metro line was not working during our stay but the bus replacement services were fast and reliable and took you into the city centre in no time! On the second day we hired bikes and found that was by far the best way to see Amsterdam and gave us the opportunity to get off the beaten tourist track and feel like a local! I would definitely recommend bikes! In terms of the hotel, the rooms were clean and had everything you needed, the only improvement I would say would be to ensure the air conditioning had the function to get a little colder, although it was good to see it was eco friendly we found it didn't cool the room down enough. But I can't complain for the price! Great budget option for a city break!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica_and_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is situated across the road from Amstel Station. It's affordable and covers all the basics. The photos of the hotel make the rooms look bigger than they are. In truth it's quite compact but seeing as a friend and I used it as a base to sightsee and explore the city it proved to be a great choice.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and we didn't experience any noise or disturbed sleep. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as we thought €14 was expensive. However they do have a pop up stand where you could grab fruit pot and coffee for around the €5 mark on a morning so a cheaper option is available. Hotel wi-if is free which makes planning trips a lot easier and saves on mobile costs. Plenty of other customers seemed to be using the cafe and iPads in the foyer, we certainly didn't hear anyone complaining. For a 3 star hotel we got exactly what we asked for and given the excellent transport links it made the perfect base. I would recommend for business or pleasure.

Re: Transport from Amstel station - The 59 bus takes 15-20 mins to get into Central. There is also the choice of train or tram! Tram no. 12 runs direct to Museumplein, for any art enthusiasts, and only took around 12 mins. (Buses & trams are included if you buy an IAmsterdam city pass which saves the trouble of tickets and extra cost). Trains back to the airport take less than 30 mins and cost a lot less than a shuttle bus or taxi. We didn't have any problems with public transport, all prompt and swift and plenty of options. (The hotel also has its own bikes to rent should you wish to cycle).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in Amsterdam and stayed at this clean and modern hotel. Bed were so comfortable and rooms were quite large by European standards. Staff was helpful most spoke English .
A train/tram/bus station is located 5 minutes away. This hotel is out of city center and has very
few restaurant choices near. We took hotel shuttle (serves most hotels in Amsterdam) from the airport which departs every 30 minutes and is a great service.
I would stay there again if ever in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very pleased with this experience.Rooms are clean.

Amstel station near the hotel and bus too so you are not too far of Amasterdam centrum.
Service is good too.You can sleep easily.Hotel not expensive !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 11 nights, the construction next to the hotel is still ongoing but it didn't bother me (plus they offer free ear plugs). Clean, good service, close enough to town, but 20 euro a day parking fee is just greedy. Had to laugh at the laundry service too, 7.50 to wash a pair of knickers. You know you can buy 3 pairs of new ones for that money, right?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hotel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.2 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 400

Property: Hotel Casa 400
Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa 400 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 400 is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa 400 Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa 400!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa 400 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing