We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the lift!”
Review of Hotel Casa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa
Ranked #62 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beware of the lift!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel, not very close to the center, but with ideal transportation to any parts of AMS. Decent breakfast, too. BEWARE OF THE LIFT, though: the builders seem to have mis-calculated the capacity of the lift: very packed with people, it took me more than 10 minutes to go down to reception level!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    1,360
    242
    54
    35
See reviews for
240
1,152
147
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner and I had a look at many different hotels until we incidentally found this hotel - we had an amazing stay here. It may seem a bit further outside the city centre but you have easy access to the centre by bus (15-20minutes) and tram. However, I personally, would always recommend everyone renting out the bikes from the hotel - very good value for money and you can experience the true Amsterdam feeling :) This way, you can be in town within a 10 minute bike ride and have easier access to everything in town.
The room itself was very spacious, comfortable and clean - the bed was super big and very comfy. Since the hotel is situated in a more quiet area, you can have a good night sleep and restore all your energy for the next day of sightseeing. One thing we loved about this hotel was the small but sufficient fridge that was in our room - this way, you can buy some juice and fruit and have a place to store it for snack times/packed lunch.
The reason we said value is very good and not excellent is that breakfast was not included in our room rate and I, personally, think it was definitely over-priced. Therefore, we never had breakfast at the hotel but a short 5 minute cycle away are small cafes where you can experience a full dutch breakfast at good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Most of the hotels in Europe have old, tiny rooms with an old smell. We wanted to avoid that when we booked this hotel. It is extremely clean, the rooms are on the large side for Europe, very bright and it is located in a quite area. The staff are very friendly and helpful; they gave us a map when e checked in; they have computers you can print your boarding passes. We had a great experience. We would definitely stay here again. The only downside is that is not centrally located (we actually liked that). However, you can take the Metro (any of them) from Amsterdam central and get to the Amstel station in about 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place combines the friendliness & helpfulness of a hostel with nice rooms and lots of amenities at a very reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful with making restaurant reservations, printing out some train tickets, and answering random questions about the city.

The room is simple, but very bright, clean, and had everything we needed. Casa 400 is a very functional hotel, focusing on making your stay easier, and does so very well. The breakfast and restaurant are expensive, so I never tried them, though they looked good.

The location is also great, as Amstel Station can get you to anywhere in town in 15-20mins or less usually, but the hotel is removed enough from the city center to be quiet and peaceful, making sleep/relaxing easy at any time.

The beds were very comfy as well. Not sure why exactly...but...I slept better here than anywhere else I stayed on the trip, so it's a good thing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is extremely clean very modern and has everything you need for a relaxing nights sleep after a busy day and night. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bar and restaurant areas are lovely. Great food at reasonable prices and very good bar service. Much much better than we expected reading some of the reviews. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very good hotel, far from the city but conveniently located close to Amstel Station where we could get trams, buses, subways and trains!
The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and silent. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was great.
I didn't rate it excellent because breakfast was not included and they charged 15Euros/person!
The staff was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed ina twin bed room. The room was totally new, clean and well designed. Hot water, tv. Perfect! The hotel is located few metro stops away. It takes about 5 min to get to the metro from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa

Property: Hotel Casa
Address: Eerste Ringdijkstraat 4, 1097BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Amsterdam is a unique brand new three star hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel offers many facilities for a pleasant stay. Service and hospitality are important factors at Hotel Casa Amsterdam. You will feel more than welcome. All rooms are light and spacious and are equipped with free Wi-Fi, a flatscreen TV, a refrigerator and an en-suite bathroom. "Experience a reliable and creative hospitality at Hotel Casa Amsterdam!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 400 Amsterdam
Casa 400 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing