We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girls holiday!”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #175 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great girls holiday!”
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Went for a long weekend over the 12th jan with 2 other girls. stayed in a 3 bed room it was quite small one bed being a fold out bed from the wall. But just enough space. Basic furnishing, not a hotel to go to if you want 5 star but if you are planning to go to amsterdam for the night life, and will only be spending a few hours a nite there, its clean and they offer a free breakfast! we had a room at the front and if you leave the window open it can be noisy as trams go past all the time. The best thing about this hotel was the position. Really close to the station, takes a couple of minutes to walk, defenetly not worth getting a cab. Its also right in the middle of everything about 4 mins walk to dam square and there shops and resturants all the way down to dam square as well. There are lots of good bars in amsterdam, but be careful of the red light district as ive found quite a few people were riped off!!! and also one bar tried to accuse a group of people of using fake notes! But if its clubs your after they arnt located in dam square, i think about 10mins walk. Something i didnt know before i went was that you have to pay in nearly all the bars to go to the loo about 50cent. so take change! I went mostly for the night life but the shopping is good and also managed to vist the sex and erotic museum. The erotic is the better one and located in the red light. Altogether a great hotel for the price, helpful staff and a great city to visit.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank loudurant_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    675
    347
    143
    79
See reviews for
198
579
143
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2007

I paid for a round-trip shuttle from and to the airport. When I checked into the hotel, I told the clerk to make a 10:00 AM reservation for me on the shuttle the next morning. She told me that she did so, but she did NOT. The next morning when this was discovered, I had to order a taxi to get to the airport on time, which cost me about $50, and the hotel would only reimburse me the cost of half the shuttle ticket (9.5 euros).

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Front desk clerks, breakfast food
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueSkiesFromNowOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Within walking distance from the train station this hotel is a great location if travelling by rail plus is quite central. There are trams directly in front of Hotel or bike hire. Our triple room was enormous with a large bathroom - separate bath and shower. As per usual for Europe our double bed was two twins pushed together and the third was a proper bed not a rollaway. Each bed had a large doona. There was a table but only two chairs. The windows were double glazed therefore the noise of the street was not a problem. The hot Buffet breakfast was very good offering mini pancakes, eggs- boiled/scrambled, bacon, cereals, pastries, rolls, cheeses, cold meats and fresh friut etc.
The front door is monitored all night with video security.
(The hotel is about 20 mins walk from the red light district)
Negative things are there are, room lighting at night is inadequate, no tea and coffee making facilities and unfortunately the coffee machine at the reception was not working. The staff are quite friendly but not all are as helpful as others. **Remember to put your make up my room door sign! or your room may not be serviced.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank nobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Have just returned from spending the weekend (2 nights - Fri & Sat ) at the Avenue Hotel. It was a cold, wet night when we finally arrived at 11.45pm after a delayed flight to Schipol. Being close to Centraal Station the hotel is a short walk. Our twin room ( I was sharing with a girlfriend) was on the 3rd floor at the end of a long twisting corridor.

I had emailed the hotel direct a few days previously and asked for a quiet non smoking room - which we got. The 3rd floor is completely non smoking.

The room was small - the 2 single beds were pushed together and no room to separate them - so make sure you share with a good friend. One pillow and a duvet for each bed was provided. There is a TV (which we didnt use) and very limited storage space - just a small wardrobe with 2 shelves, not great if staying for longer than a couple of days! The radiator was off when we arrived but gave us enough warmth when we wanted it & to dry our towels.

The bathroom had a shower, wc & wash basin. The shower was a problem as mentioned in previous reviews. The floor is on one level with just a curtain rail in the ceiling around the shower head, from which the shower curtain hangs. The shower head is fixed and when the shower is on (its very powerful) the water sprays through the gap in the side of the curtains and soaks anything on the washbasin's side. The floor is like a lake as the water doesnt drain away as fast as is necessary, so on stepping out of the shower the bathmat is saturated. Whoever designs this had NOT thought it through!
BUT still..... we managed, although we didnt spend long getting clean!

I have to mention the low level of lighting in the room too, which was very frustrating when trying to read & unpack in the smi darkness - we made an attempt at removing a lampshade from a bedside light but couldnt budge it!

Breakfast was good - as mentioned by previous reviewers, cereals,juices (not fresh squeezed) fruit salad (though tinned) plain yogurt, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, assorted rolls and bread. There was a hot choice too, bacon, baked beans, rather solid scrambled eggs, sausages (frankfurters) small pancakes (which looked rather like ravioli) and boiled eggs. Coffee was provided in large hot jugs and was very weak! Tea bags and hot water was available too.
You could easily fill up before you went out to see the sights.

We found the reception desk staff helpful with advice on trams and tickets. We didnt try the small bar at the hotel.

We had prebooked by email, a retaurant off Dam square called Brasserie Harkema - I would recommend it for a great meal in a buzzy atmosphere. Its housed in a converted tobacco factory and has an excellent if short menu. price for 3 courses and a good bottle of wine £56 with service.

We saw all the sights - Van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House and did a canal boal trip - catch it from outside Centraal Sation. Love Amsterdam - my 6th trip and my friends first - we will be back and despite the niggles think that the Avenue Hotel is good value & in an ideal position to see everything - a tram stop virtually outside the door helps. Might upgrade to a superior twin next time though - just to get better lighting and more space!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this property for an extended week-end break and in order to visit some art exhibitions and quite like it.

PROS:
- location fairly central, good access to sights with public transport
- room was very quiet, in the back ... in front probably quite loud
- adequate in size, good bedding
- nice and efficient staff
- outstanding buffet breakfast


CONS:
- bathroom though clean and adequate in size, was very basic, the shower was a joke .... a hole in the floor ....
- breakfast room, can get really packed and you don't have enough space to move around
- no restaurant but this is not a real problem since have enough eating places in neighbourhood

ALL IN ALL A GOOD PLACE, WOULD PROBABLY RETURN

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed for New year last year in the Avenue hotel and again for new year this year, cant really go wrong, 5 mins walk from all attrations - great location.

Rooms are basic but warm, comfy and clean just what you need (apart from a fridge).

Quality breakfast choices, hot and cold (cereal, bread, jams, american style meat, salad, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg etc) the one downfall they do not do toast i asked but they said no!

We also requested a room again at the back of the hotel so the trams do not wake us up early. - Always a good idea.

Hotel staff friendly reception is open 24 hours, easy check in we left our luggage in locked room as we were 4 hours early and an easy check out, again left luggage in room flight not till tea time - PERFECT.

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Clare

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No fridge in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you dont like getting up before 6.30AM
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClarePete97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

I took my hubby for his 40th Birthday,

dont think he will forget his 40th after what happened.

just watch your bag ladies and gentlemen keep your hand in your pocket on your money....petty theifs are very clever..but not clever enough for us....

Was very nice hotel,clean but found the room was bit on the small side, the toilet felt loose and we were scared to put any weight on it incase it fell of the wall.

had amugging on the streets of amsterdam hotel receptionist was very good,
but found police never wanted to know.
and people just stood and watched instead of helping.

apart from this yes had a good time and will go back but would have upgraded room.

breakfast was a lovely american style.
and staff were polite and helpful.

Thankyou for a pleasant stay.
and hope to see you again soon.

  • Liked — The way you could stand at the veranda and watch the people and the sceanary.
  • Disliked — The Toilet
  • Tips/Secrets — Just keep your Valubles close to you whilst on the streets.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mummymik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#162 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing