We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good location, clean rooms and helpful staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #168 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good location, clean rooms and helpful staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Avenue Hotel is in a great central position, and is a very good venue for a few nights stay. The single rooms are small, but quite adequate and well equipped.
The only niggle is that the pillows are horrible! The air conditioning was excellent!
The staff are very helpful, and the breakfast is excellent - great choices. The Wi-Fi was swift.
If you go on a canal trip on a hot day, try not to sit inside - it's like being in a greenhouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    619
    305
    127
    74
See reviews for
165
520
129
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is a collection of buildings connected into one hotel. On the edge of the Red Light district but very quiet inside. Walking distance from Amsterdam Central Station, on a main transit route and close to a lot of what I wanted to see. Shopping, restaurants and many historic sites are close at hand.The breakfast provided was good and had a good selection, a great way to start the day. Clean, convenient and the staff are very helpful. Not perfect but I would happily return.
** If you walk across the street from the hotel, and a block down an alley there are Red Light windows and a Bulldog "Cafe"(closed until 6:00pm because they're in a school zone!!!) **

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Well after reading reviews on here I was really worried. Ignore them. Me and my partner went for 2 nights and it was fine. The hotel is nothing special but it was clean, breakfast was really nice and it was 5 minutes to Dam Square and about 15-20 minutes walk to Anne Franks house. We went with Thomas Cook who said check in was 10.... it was not till 2pm but we left our luggage locked in a room and it was fine. If you are looking for something swanky this isnt the place for you. If you want somewhere to sleep and shower thats fine. Air con is really good. Though girls, the shower did not detatch so if you dont want to get your hair wet this could be an issue. Reception were very helpful especially when we had to arrange our shuttle back to the airport. I was on the phone ages and she dialled 4 times for me. You do have to pay tax when you get there. I think it was around €15. Hopefully this helps someone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean breakfast was nice,hotel was nothing special but easy to get to some rooms including ours was by the lift and backed on to a generator at the rear so ask.....found our way to and from dam sq after 1st night,...July 15-17th 2014....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonypw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the location of this hotel, stayed for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel room was very small and dark, we had the smallest window - more like an air vent the size of a catflap, this made the room extremely dark and stuffy as not a lot of air got through due to the window opening up onto other walls - therefore we also had no view of anything at all.
The pillows could do with updating as they were extremely lumpy, bed was standard. We were supposed to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we didn't have them which was a shame as they state that every room does have them. We had some other friends who stayed at this hotel and they got a lovely size room which was bright and airy with a huge window opening up onto the Main Street - much better than ours. So make sure you ask and try avoid room 109 at all cost!! Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just what we needed. Great location and great staff. Room could have done with a lick of paint but it was great. No shower curtain though which meant the floor got very wet. Breakfast was amazing - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for most of the tourist attractions. Just a short walk from the Central Station and a stones throw away from Dam Square.
Our room was quite compact but the bed was very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. There was no tea making facility in the room but if you ask at reception they will lend you a kettle for a refundable 20euro deposit. You can then get free tea bags etc from a vending machine.
Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods on offer. There was continental as well as scrambled eggs. DIY toast and bacon.
We would certainly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the busy main street as it could be noisy. We did and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing