We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #172 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean breakfast was nice,hotel was nothing special but easy to get to some rooms including ours was by the lift and backed on to a generator at the rear so ask.....found our way to and from dam sq after 1st night,...July 15-17th 2014....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonypw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    587
    284
    124
    71
See reviews for
158
496
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the location of this hotel, stayed for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel room was very small and dark, we had the smallest window - more like an air vent the size of a catflap, this made the room extremely dark and stuffy as not a lot of air got through due to the window opening up onto other walls - therefore we also had no view of anything at all.
The pillows could do with updating as they were extremely lumpy, bed was standard. We were supposed to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we didn't have them which was a shame as they state that every room does have them. We had some other friends who stayed at this hotel and they got a lovely size room which was bright and airy with a huge window opening up onto the Main Street - much better than ours. So make sure you ask and try avoid room 109 at all cost!! Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just what we needed. Great location and great staff. Room could have done with a lick of paint but it was great. No shower curtain though which meant the floor got very wet. Breakfast was amazing - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is ideally placed for most of the tourist attractions. Just a short walk from the Central Station and a stones throw away from Dam Square.
Our room was quite compact but the bed was very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. There was no tea making facility in the room but if you ask at reception they will lend you a kettle for a refundable 20euro deposit. You can then get free tea bags etc from a vending machine.
Breakfast was good with a wide range of foods on offer. There was continental as well as scrambled eggs. DIY toast and bacon.
We would certainly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the busy main street as it could be noisy. We did and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is very close to Amsterdam central station , so it's a great place to base yourself ....the rooms are really neat and tidy , the breakfast was very nice self service and unhurried .....
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant at talk to . They pointed us in the right direction every time we asked ...there are a lot of pubs and restaurants around this hotel so no problem there ..All in all a very happy stay ..will be returning :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel except it's more a B&B than what I recognise as a hotel - no bar, restaurant or coffee shop only drinks( hot and cold) from a vending machine. The bed was comfortable but I prefer a double bed and would have requested a move if I'd have been staying longer than 3 nights. The room was clean and there was a TV with BBC 1&2 which was not expected. There was only a small cupboard with 3 coat hangers and a couple of shelves (again only suitable for a short stay). There was liquid all purpose soap gel and if you don't like getting your hair wet take a shower cap.The breakfast was good in both quality and choice and with a 3 hours dining slot. The staff were helpful and amiable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my old school friends and was impressed by reception on initial entry. Up to our triple rooms; little better than expected. Turned down my bed, found dried blood (that wasn't mine) on the sheets. My friends started unpacking, and found a used Band-Aid on the floor, once again not ours. But, there was a lovely huge window that opened up completely onto the street. Breakfast was traditionally continental, DEFINITELY recommend the potatoes because oh my they are beautiful. Easy to check in and out, pretty good staff (although they still didn't change my sheets after I asked them to), just the hygiene standards need to be rethought quite considerably!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#125 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing