We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a absolute joke”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #169 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Really wasn't impressed with this hotel, booked in advance thinking we'd get a decent room for £110 a night, (working in the hotel business i know what to expect for my money) turns out we had the poorest room I reckon that was in the hotel. When showering the bathroom floor completely flooded, no iron was available (altho stated on website there was on request, the noise from the kitchen in the mornings was poor (have some respect when playing your radio) the noise from the vents outside out window wasn't actually as bad as I thought it was going to be. The breakfast was disgusting, while there being lots to choice from it just wasn't what we was expecting - salad for breakfast??.... All in all I think we just got stuck with a rubbish room, was going to speak to reception but whenever I went down there was no1 around & frankly when asking for the iron the dark haired lady was so rude & abrupt I didn't really see the point. I would only recommend this hotel if you view your room first, we paid £110 for a £70 room. VERY disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It wasn't a value at all. The hotel staff was ineffectual, the internet didn't work unless in specific areas of the hotel, the towels were dirty, the room was dirty and several fixtures were broken or unusable in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Avenue hotel in Amsterdam....very close to Central station and medium priced....had a wonderful buffet breakfast included in the price and the staff were very helpful in planning your day or just general info...rooms were very clean and a bit on the bigger size for Europe..would recommend highly.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got to the hotel room and there was lots of rubbish under the bed, the sheets on the bed were covered in hairs and the shower was disgusting. we met an american couple and they found dirty underwear in their room. cleaners broke into my case and stole 60 euro, told the staff and they didnt want to know. After this happened we put the sign on the door handle telling them not to come in the room yet they still did so if you do stay make sure you carry all your money/passport etc do not leave it in room. Breakfast selection was poor. I never pick faults with hotels but avenue hotel was shocking. This is the first review I've left.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Close enough to everything,but just a two minute walk away from red light district. This hotel is clean, friendly and comfy,the service from the staff is very good too, i would definitely stay here again and recommend to others !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having paid a single room supplement, I was shown to a TINY room - more like room on an overnight train - one step from the bed you were into the shower, no where to put your clothes - no hanging space or drawers and no where to sit. Right by the main road with trams so very noisey. When I complained I was moved to a room at least 3 times as big and away from the main road and the trams. It was much better but still basic. Insulation very poor so could hear noise from other rooms and corridors. The breakfast was adequate but not inspiring or particularly tasty. Staff were very unhelpful and it was a dismal place to stay. I would avoid it - there must many more hotels in Amsterdam in nice locations with friendly staff and a tasty breakfast. Keep looking is my advice and definitely done book a single room!

Room Tip: Don't book single room it is TINY and woefully inadequate. Ask for room on side alley at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tortie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 375 in Amsterdam
965 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#54 of 375 in Amsterdam
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $109 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing