We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appropriate comfort for such price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #168 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liepaja, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“appropriate comfort for such price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Close to the city center and station. everything in reachable distance.
room was small, but if you are there just or a nap, it's absolutely ok.
breakfast wasn't subtle, but for 3 stars hotel really enough.
I was lucky to have room on the 6th floor - looking over the roof of buildings on the sunrise background.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santa191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    654
    330
    136
    77
See reviews for
182
560
140
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ideal location walk able distance from Amsterdam Central station, rooms are very small, provides morning breakfast in the hotel package. A stones throw away from the main by lanes of Dam Square. All rooms are no smoking rooms. No room service but have lot of eating options nearby including some Indian restaurants. Tram stops nearby hence easy access to other attractions around the city. It is a value for money hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: choose the rooms in the main wing where you enter the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjalrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdańsk, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel is not so excellent but I would recommend it for a short staying to visit city center of Amsterdam. The room was clean, and comfortable, very nice shower. The only thing I don't like was very old and not so stylish design. The hotel is very good located - just a couple of minutes walking to the Central Station, Rad Light District, Sex Musem or main roads with a lot of shops and pubs. Just a few tram stations to the Heineken Museum. You can find also a lot of good reastaurants very close to the hotel. Beakfast is just average standard. Comparing the price to the hospitality it was a really good choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Avenue hotel for 3 nights 17/18/19th Jan. It is a very nice hotel. Its location is great as it is within easy reach of all bars and restaurants Amsterdam has to offer being a short walk across from the train station. Our room on the second floor was quite small but had everything that you need for a short stay. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was nice and it had a flat screen TV Only thing missing perhaps was tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of things to eat. Overall very good and would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

+ offered free upgrade to room upon check in without asking
+ large spacious rooms
+ in room safe
+ powerful/warm shower
+ complimentary breakfast, english and cont.
+ 24h entrance
+ good location, near railway station

- no extra facilities, eg spa etc, but to be expected
- no room service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuclearwasteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

great location for exploring amsterdam. stayed for 3 nights in january 2013 foyer more impressive than the actual rooms, but for the price i was very impressed. had everything you could want, brilliant shower, clean beds, hairdryer and was quiet. only downside and it wasnt really a problem was tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice. Overall it was a good stay, would stay here again if in amsterdam. Oh and also breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is in a good spot for exploring Amsterdam and is a short walk from the train station. The staff all seemed nice enough. We did find it quite noisy at night. On the first night we seemed to have a group staying near us and they were just noisy all night (banging doors and generally being a bit rowdy). The hotel is on a busy road but our room was above an alleyway on the side of the hotel. There seemed to be a lot of noise from the alleyway all night. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't have one decent night of sleep. We even had the fire alarm go off one night (which was a false alarm). I suppose if you want a city centre location then you have to expect some noise! We did actually request a quiet room so not sure if our room was one of the quieter ones.

It was supposed to be non-smoking but our floor of the hotel did usually smell quite strongly of smoke in the corridors. The breakfast was alright, nothing amazing. Our room was quite clean, no tea/coffee facilities. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom. Overall a pretty average city centre hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dts31999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing